We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a great location just on the edge of the Gaslamp district which is extemely lively with plenty of bars and restuarants to choose from. The rooms were really nicely decorated, spacious and well appointed. The rooftop bar was a really nice spot for a drink after a day sightseeing and the coacktails made with their home-marinated vodkas were amazing.

We didnt want to pay the USD40.00 per day at the hotel for vallet parking so we parked at the 'park it' on market street which is about 2 blocks away. This was around USD20.00 a day. Please note on most Saturdays and Sundays you can park for free on a metre but it might be worth checking with the hotel prior to arrival that there's not a ball game on as i think the rules change then.

We visited the USS Midway, which my Husband found more intrested than myself, however, the top deck has great views of the area and coronado island. I would also reccomend a visit to the zoo, we caught the bus which was easy enough to do.

Another must is a vist to Hodads, they have three locations in San Diego and have been featured on the food networks DDD, we had the biggest and tastiest burger and fries we have ever eaten!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    682
    306
    74
    23
    25
See reviews for
114
424
83
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a mediocre hotel with a pretty face.

I have been staying with my significant other at this hotel for the last month and the longer I stay, the more frustrated I become. How is it that over a month has passed and they still do not know my name? There is only one entrance and exit so it is not that hard?

I also have had big issues with the Valet staff (Ace Parking). I dropped my car off and they took it... the next morning they pulled it out and one of the tires was flat and they were driving nearly on the rim. They said they would handle it but to make a long story did not. Needed to call my own towing to have it brought to the dealership to get it fixed.

The food is average at best, but the location provides you with many opportunities to get out and go to many other great restaurants right around the area.

If you love baseball or are in SD for a Padres game this is a great option!

Overall, I think that this deserves 3 stars. Not bad, not great, just OK. I wouldn't recommend it to my friends with so many other options downtown.

Room Tip: Book here if you are going to a Padres game and can't get in at the Omni.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed here on a business trip. room was excellent and the staff were really helpful and nice. rooftop bar is cool with an awesome view. located in walking distance to all the restaurants, cafes etc in the gaslamp area. close to seafront, making morning runs very enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We utilized the Level 9 Rooftop Bar & Lounge for our company launch party. The staff at Hotel Indigo was extremely accommodating, responsive, and flexible throughout the entire planning process. Our 50 guests were more than pleased with the food and drink services provided. We partnered with the hotel staff to offer the "509 Package", the Premium Sushi Station with a live sushi chef, and the top shelf beverage service. The sushi service received better reviews than we could have imagined; the sushi was fresh, exciting, and delicious! The rooftop has an unobstructed view into Petco Park and our guests thoroughly enjoyed watching the Padres game from such a unique vantage point. We also reserved the luxurious Terrace Suite to accommodate our guests following the conclusion of our event. Additionally, we partnered with the hotel to provide valet service for our guests, which was greatly appreciated.

Specifically, the professionalism and attention to detail of Executive Chef Curtis Crawford and Restaurant Supervisor Michael Bulger contributed significantly to our positive experience. We will certainly be using this venue for future company events, as the level and quality of service was unparalleled.

Room Tip: The Terrace Suite has a fantastic view of the ballpark, harbor, and downtown landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an updated hotel with generous sized rooms with tasteful décor. Located convenient to all downtown attractions it made for easy walking. In addition the restaurant served good food and was reasonably priced. The staff was well presented and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Indigo was comfortable and close to much of what San Diego has to offer with Petco Park, the Gaslamp and the convention center close at hand. The decor of the hotel was pleasant, the rooms well designed and restaurant staff friendly. However there were glitches, the room key had to be re-initiated three times on check in and this seemed to create annoyance at the front desk on visit number three. One of the two replacement keys also never worked in one of the lifts but other guests were happy to help to gain entry to the floor via their keys. Noise proofing particularly between the bathroom and the one next door was not good and not great with the room either but this was better than the bathroom. Breakfast service was slow if you took a table as it is self seating and the restaurant was typically understaffed and focused on those sitting at the bar. Sitting at the bar if you could made this better and the staff were helpful once you were there. Food was OK. Questions re the room service menu re a dietary requirement could not be answered as I was told some items were ordered from Sysco (food suppliers) and the ingredients were not known. I needed sleep and an early start as I was here on business and thus can't really recommend this as a business hotel and if the Padres are playing expect a party crowd. That is probably true of all the hotels in the area although some may be better sound proofed. I am a regular IHG guest and I was looking forward to my first Indigo stay on the basis of feedback re their Glasgow hotel, San Diego was OK but not great but if on holiday I would given it another chance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel Indigo is located in the middle of everything. Walking distance from PetCo park and hundreds of great resturants and bars. The hotel staff were fantastic and very helpfull, especially dealing with our obnoxious wedding party. Rooms are decorated very modern and well. And don't forget the rooftop bar over looking PetCo park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.