We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to Petco and everything else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Petco and everything else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Indigo for two nights. I booked this hotel because I felt the rate was reasonable given the convenient location. What I didnt realize was that by the time the hotel adds the taxes and parking fees, the price of our room soared beyond what I probably could have paid for a hotel right on the beach. We also purchased the doggy special which is a daily meal and treat for your dog. This was a nice touch but it added another 75 dollars to the tab. Aside from these things, our room was very comfortable. The bed was perfect. The shower was large. Our room also had a nice view. We were able to walk to the Padres baseball game. The hotel is literally a half block from the Petco Park stadium. And we walked to some of the local restaurants and bars. I liked the rooftop bar at Indigo however when we visited it on our first night, there was some kind of birthday or retirement party going on and it was very crowded so we had one drink and left. We only had breakfast at this hotel and it was good but a little pricey. All things considered this is a nice hotel that is kept very clean. I really like the modern design. The staff is also pleasant and make you feel very comfortable. I would recommend taking a train to San Diego in order to avoid the high valet parking fees. If you are a baseball fan you cannot beat the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    328
    79
    23
    27
See reviews for
125
443
87
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Booked this hotel after much research on TA on the basis of a quiet area and location for first time visitors to SD without a car. This turned out great, firstly it was only a few dollars taxi ride from the train station. We liked the location being on Ninth in a slightly more residential area(quieter) and with some more neighbourhood type bars and eating choices. However the promoted central established outlets are only a few blocks away if you like that full on crowded streets/bars/restaurants evening. We found the proximity to Market Street for a couple of buses or the trolley bus station a short walk away gave us easy access everywhere across SD. Arm yourself with a Transit Day/Compass card (3 day was good value) and you can jump from bus to bus all day or go miles across the county. We recommend day trips to Mission and Pacific Beach or La Jolla.
Would agree with all the other positive comments about the hotel and room facilities and services. Our first night was interrupted by a noisy rattle from the A/C but we told reception the next day and by our return the maintenance man had repaired it. They also offered to move us if it couldn’t be fixed. We didn't go for an included breakfeast rate as it appeared to only give you a small credit towards the ala carte menu.
Would definitely recommend you consider this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dezzer,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo! I am extremely happy to hear you agree with other positive comments you have read and that the location of our hotel suited your needs. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noises that woke you but we appreciate you providing us with that feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Pros: Friendly staff; clean,vibrant atmosphere; comfy bed, proximity to downtown sites and trolleys

Cons: Valet parking only (ouch!)

Whenever I'm in town, I tend to stay at Hotel Indigo. It's just so convenient while still having a modern, energetic feel. Having said that, please note that this property is Gaslamp District adjacent, not in the heart of it. Personally, I like that it's on a quiet, safe street within blocks of so many sightseeing, dining and shopping options.

Be careful of the valet parking. While not uncommonly high for San Diego, you might get a little sticker shock. Otherwise, you can usually get a great value at this hotel, so if you are staying for business or even with family and you don't need a car, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Shoeluv,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo. It is a joy to hear you stay here often and its location and energetic feel suits your needs. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was in town for a week long convention and recommend the Hotel Indigo to my company, as I had two great visits here a few years ago. Overall, the hotel is great. For business it is just a few short blocks away from the convention center. It is on the fringe of the Gaslamp District with many restaurants nearby. The rooftop bar is excellent and it overlooks Petco Field where you can watch the Padres play. My company hosted a party on the roof and the staff did an outstanding job, especially Chris the bartender. The rooms are immaculate with a spacious shower that even on a high floor the water pressure is strong and the water is always hot. The beds are ultra comfortable, too.
The only two negatives I have is the cost of parking at $41 a day and the dining. Breakfast is on the pricey side and the meals were inconsistent. One day it was tasty, the next the eggs were overcooked and rubbery. I only had dinner there one night and had fish tacos that were so dry I couldn't even eat them. However, when pointed out they were more than happy to fix things. I found it was better to go to one of the many nearby restaurants.
Overall, when you want to stay downtown the Indigo is a solid choice. The staff is very professional and accommodating and if the restaurant was better I would have given my review a 5.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
NOSNED,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo. It is wonderful to hear that you have visited our property in the past and we are extremely thankful you brought your company as well. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the dining and I will ensure my food and beverage team is aware so they may remedy this in the future. Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights before the San Diego Marathon. Overall a very good experience. Arrived early, storing luggage was no problem, likewise arranging a post-race late checkout was easy. The staff members were friendly and helpful, although occasionally the reception desk seemed overwhelmed. Room was clean and well appointed, though it looked a little worn - dings in paint and slightly creaky (loose) flooring. Nothing too glaring. Only complaints: 1) ventilation was barely adequate, very small vents and a narrow range of controls and 2) good sound insulation except for the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Petco Park - better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
WalktoRun,
Thank you for leaving such excellent feedback about our property. I am pleased to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful for you. In order for our hotel to grow, we need to know our areas of growth and I thank you for providing us with your thoughts. I will ensure my team is aware of these suggestions and we hope to see you again next Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great boutique hotel in a quiet and somewhat tug-away location - almost right in front (or behind) the Petco Park on 9th Avenue at Island Street, just a few short blocks to the heart of Gaslamp district. Wonderful decoration of this hotel... modern and chic. Spacious room and contemporary furnishings. Pet-friendly as well! Everything is well appointed. The only drawback is it doesn't have a club floor for premier members which would have been nice.

Overall no problems or complaints about the stay, the only minor thing is my colleague got a upgrade to SUITE for not being a premium member and as an "ambassador" member, I was not even told there was an upgrade option!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor so you can have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
SanFranExplorer,
Thank you for writing a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo! I am pleased to hear that the location was convenient and that you fancied the décor. I am so sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate a complimentary upgrade for you. We strive to ensure our IHG Reward Members, especially our Ambassadors, have an exceptional stay with us.
Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed with my wife for 3 nights in early May this year. The facilities are very good the room was spacious and has a lot of natural light. The hotel is a few steps from the Padres stadium. The Hotel staff is remarkably kind and helpful. We had a good time at this hotel and we recommend it.

Green Features: The hotel made enviromentally friendly practices its landmark and has received awards of environemtal excellence.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.