We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, good position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, good position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Indigo for 3 nights as a family of three (8 year old daughter). Check-in was easy enough, electronic room entry keys are a little temperamental.

Rooms are very clean and make good use of space, color and decor. Quite funky and friendly feeling. Beds are pillows are comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and well set out.

There's a bar a couple of floors from the actual rooftop with a nice atmosphere for a drink to finish the day.

The room we had didn't include a refrigerator, but there's a small ice bucket with free ice dispensers on each floor. There's a food market just around the corner that sells liquor, etc. Around 15 minutes walk (near Horton Plaza) there's a large grocery store (supermarket) called Ralph's which has an excellent range of salads, sushi, etc, etc.

Hotel is only a few minutes walk from the hop-on hop-off sightseeing bus, which we didn't consider was great value, although we used it to get to the zoo via Coronado (we'd previously included it in the GoSelect Pass). It's also around 10-15 minutes walk from the waterfront where the USS Midway is parked.

Suited our needs and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    379
    90
    28
    27
See reviews for
146
493
94
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very comfy hotel, nice rooms, big beds, incredible location a few blocks away from restaurants, bars and shops. Is also very close to the convention center.
The room that we got was quite big, with an extra king bed. Very clean also.
But this is a pet friendly hotel, you will find dogs in the lobby, at the restaurants, elevators, etc. we didn't hear barks or other noise, but I don't like the idea of being sleeping in the same bed that the previous guest was with a dog.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for the last couple nights of our vacation. The location can't be beat, and the rooftop bar has a great view of the city. We enjoyed our drink under the heat lamps (yes, we needed them in April). The service was terrific. We had breakfast in the bar, and it was good, not great, but it filled us up and tasted ok. I love the free wi-fi, the decor and of course the awesome Aveda products! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Hip décor in the lobby. Front desk was nice, but not over friendly as other places. Our room was on the second floor, wished it was higher up. We did get a corner room, very spacious, clean with a nice bathroom. Shower was wonderful. Wished the rom had a mini fridge in it, you can rent one. I was there on a combination of business and pleasure. Hotel is located in the gaslamp area and an easy work to 5th ave where most of the restaurants and night life is. Also a short work to the Seaside Village. The only down side is valet parking at $39 a night. There really is no other choice, street parking if you can find it and it’s all metered. The other downfall to this hotel is it’s restaurant food, not so good. They do have a nice outdoor rooftop bar, too bad it closed early on Sunday, did not get a chance to enjoy it. It was a good rate to stay in that area.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I loved the hotel. Comfy bed, nice interior design, hardwood floors - one of a kind. All good except my credit card info was stolen after ordering room service. Not secure. They said it was because someone hacked their phone system. The police thought it was 'an inside job'. Either way, I'm super angry they let it happen. Would have been 5 stars if not for this experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear kibblenbitzy,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Mentioned it was anniversary and was upgraded to corner room w/ view. Also had a nice bottle of Champagne waiting on us in the room. Awesome job and great stay. Clean-comfortable rooms with great location!!! We loved it and will be back!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, loved the location as it is close to all the bars and restaurants you could possibly ask for. The staff are awesome even sending us champagne on our anniversary evening whilst we were getting ready. The outdoor bar on the 9th floor is a great view of petco park and the Bay Area. We didn't like the cooling system as is only goes down to 69 and it gets warm at night, also the shower had zero pressure so they are the only things we can say bad, overall a great stay thanks to Megan for everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.