We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #50 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is walking distance from the Petro Park Stadium and the Gaslamp District. We stayed here are 2 night and we loved it very much. The room was great and pleasant with modern furnishing and comfy beds. The service from the staff was also great and they were very welcoming and polite. The parking was expensive but there are various other parking lots which offer reasonable parking prices surrounding the hotel. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel for the quality of service and ideal location. I would stay here again if I were to return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Room with two double beds was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Anthony D,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such an amazing review about out Hotel Indigo! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in San Diego and that the location met your standarts. Being so close to the park and to Gaslamp does have its advantages!

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    372
    88
    27
    27
See reviews for
141
487
93
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our party of three recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for two nights while visiting San Diego as tourists. The hotel is nicely placed on the edge of the gas lamp quarter. It's an easy two block stroll to Petco Field and we took in a Padres baseball game one evening. All of the hundreds of restaurants and bars on 4th and 5 avenue are just three blocks away and we found scores of nice places to have breakfast and for dinner. it's a 10 minute walk to the cruise ship pier where the ferry to Coronado and the harbor cruise ships depart. Balboa Park with the museums and the zoo is only a short drive away as well.

Our room was very comfy and decorated in a hip, contemporary style. The room wasnt huge but was spacious enough for three with two queen beds. Good mattress and great pillows ensured a good nights sleep. Nicely appointed bathroom with high quality toiletries and a great shower were appreciated. In room coffee maker, flat screen tv, and free wi fi complete the picture. Valet parking was included in our package and they valet park cars for Padres games for $15. The negatives: I would avoid the hotel restaurant as our one breakfast experience there was not good: cold food and very slow service. The roof top outdoor bar was closed for private functions both nights we were in the hotel which was annoying. What's the use of having such a facility if the paying guests can't use it!

Room Tip: Not much street noise but get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
David D,

Thank you for stopping by and writing such a detailed and wonderful review! It is amazing to hear you enjoyed your time in San Diego and were able to take advantage of what the location brings! I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at Table 509 and the fact that you were not able to experience our Level 9 Terrace due to a private event. I thank you though for the feedback because we learn best from our guests in what we can improve on.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel indigo for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The location is awesome- easy walking distance to gaslamp and (cheap) mass transportation (with no car we did everything we wanted to without cabs)! Rooms were great (just with they had a refridgerator). At the rooftop bar, Chris and Pat were great, both really friendly and nice to talk to while hanging out; excellent service! Ellen at the front desk was awesome as well! Overall perfect place to stay, right near all night life and good restaurants and really great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
BZ8,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review about out Hotel Indigo! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in San Diego and that the locationg suited your needs. We will ensure all staff hears about your kind words.

We will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over the weekend with a bunch of friends. First of all, they advertise their double beds as queen beds so its a total mis-advertising! The reason we chose this hotel over other closer hotels to the core downtown was due to the fact we booked 2 queen beds, wrong. Service overall was pretty good as Niki was great with directions and helping my group with a van taxi. But, Jose at the front desk was rude! When asked for a late checkout of 1-2pm, he flat out told me that we were already staying in the room past the the checkout time of 11am (it was around 1130 when I called). Told them about the platinum member where it states we get a late checkout of 2pm but the biggest thing for me was the rude tone of his voice!! I didn't mind checkout out at noon but again its the way he expressed not granting us the late checkout, he needs a better understanding of customer service for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
WillyYakima,

Thank you for taking the time and mentioning your concerns about our service at our Hotel Indigo. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience at our property. I will ensure that I speak with my staff to ensure this level of service is not repeated in the future. Once again, I thank you for addressing these issues because that is how we learn to grow as a hotel--the feedback from our guests.


I hope you give us the opportunity in the future and choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

BEWARE: Nice hotel, but they dropped the ball by giving our reserved room to another party, for the first night. Nothing like taking a long flight to your destination, finally arriving at your hotel, and then being told that your room has been sold out from under your feet. They taxiied us to the Hilton, which was an ok hotel, but really very surprised the Indigo hotel would royally shaft us like this. Only received a one-night parking validation for our trouble. Staff and Room were very nice, despite this major gaffe.
Gym was out of order the entire stay- we were offered a day pass at the FIT gym for $20 each- another hiccup from this supposedly great hotel.

Parking is expensive, at $40 per night, but there are a couple of multi-story municipal lots within walking distance where you only pay $1/hr! (Don't park at the street level lots, btw! )

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
SiamKat,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel Indigo. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our property. We strive for guest satisfaction and it is extremely unfortunate that this was not the case for the one night during your stay. We rely on you, the guests, to commentate on our hotel to ensure we satisfy our guest's needs as best as possible.

I hope you give us the opportunity in the future and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Got to the hotel around 430pm to check in on a Thursday but our room wasn't ready til around 530pm. Totally rediculous! Never in my years of traveling did I have to wait til 530pm to check in to my room! House keeping needs to get their acts together for sure... Besides that, evrything was fine but left a bad taste from the beginning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Stevop,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your check in process and for the inconvenience it had caused you. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we can improve at our property to better meet your needs. We hope you give us the opportunity and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Hotel is within walking distance of the baseball park (which can be seen from the most of the rooms). It is also a one -two block walk from the Gaslamp bars and restaurants. The rooftop bar is a great place to start the night with a drink, they have fire pits and a pretty nice bar. Rooms are furnished with comfy beds and modern décor. You also don't need to pay for parking as its pretty easy to find parking in the surrounding neighborhood, unless there is a baseball game!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Featheredserpent,

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and write a wonderful review about our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our lovely Level 9 Terrace. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the decor of our Hotel Indigo.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.