We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alexandria, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location in downtown San Diego. It is a great location for baseball fans, only two blocks from PetCo field. Request an upper floor room - I was on the 8th floor. The front desk and valet staff were helpful. The rooms are nice and bathroom/shower is spacious.

There was a slight "clean dog" smell in my room (the smell your dog has after coming from the groomers), but it wasn't overwhelming and was to be expected in a pet friendly hotel.

Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room. Be aware of cost of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Bqa,


Thank you for stopping by and writing a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in San Diego! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and that both our Front Office team and Valet team were able to assist you while here.

Again, thank you for writing a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    331
    80
    23
    27
See reviews for
126
445
87
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were on the 10th floor and had a gorgeous city view. Loved the huge window to look out over the city. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows. Room was very clean. Loved the modern look to the room and the big shower stall in the bathroom and Aveda bath products. Staff was very friendly and helpful when asked about places to eat. Location was awesome as we were going to see a ballgame. Roof top bar with it's gas fire pits was a great way to relax after the game. We were surprised that last call was called at 12:30am. We were 4 blocks away from the main street in the Gaslamp (5th ave.) so it was an easy walk to the restaurants and entertainment. Our coffee maker did not work in the morning, and when we called the front desk they said someone from maintenance would come up, but nobody came. That was the only irritation we had with our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
MarciaMarciaMarcia2,


I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in San Diego. Thank you for taking the time and writing such a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and you loved the views from your room. I apologize that you experienced problems with the coffee maker and we were not able to remedy the situation.

I hope to see you again in the future the next time you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The Indigo is the newer, trendy offering from the larger IHG chain (InterContinental) and the only Leed Certified hotel in this area. Charlotte and Vanessa on the front desk opened our stay here to an incredible level of customer service.
The hotel itself is perfect. It's location on the inner edge of the trendy restaurants/bars/ shops/galleries zone of the Gaslight District is ideal with the buzz right at hand but not enough to disturb.
The materials used in its construction are not only eco-conscious but beautiful. Guest rooms are spacious with natural hard flooring and area rugs around the beds, large windows that actually open to terrific views, great shower with above average water pressure and temp control, several wall hooks in bath, Aveda bath products, soft towels, large closet and plenty of drawer space, intelligent room thermostats, excellent television and channels selection, Keurig coffee maker, etc etc etc. There are impressive outdoor spaces on high floors including a great rooftop bar with ample separate seating areas and a fire pit, a lovely grassy spot to relieve your dog, and a meditation lounge.
It does not have a pool but that is the only thing resembling a complaint from me regarding this amazing property in downtown San Diego. (If the management could make a deal for pool use with one of the condo associations in the many buildings with pools next door and all around the block, we'd probably move in.)
The fact that the Indigo is pet-friendly is the icing on the cake. We are so impressed and comfortable with every aspect of this hotel that we will make a point of coming thru San Diego in future travels just to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Verymary,

Thank you for dropping by and leaving such a detailed and wonderful review about our Hotel Indigo! I will ensure that Charlotte and Vanessa hear about the great comments you left for them. It is fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and we cannot wait to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We came to SD for the 4th of July with our dog. We loved that it was pet friendly and in a great location. We were able to find delicious food and snacks within blocks! You can also see the stadium which was beautiful at night.

With that being said, I am not impressed with the hotel. The service was subpar. Compared to other hotels I've visited, even overseas I've never received such mediocre service. The woman who checked us in was monotone, and lacked emotion. I literally had to ask her to speak up and repeat herself while she was checking us in. Now the valet personnel were really friendly and warm, we did pay $49 to park, but the perk is that its in and out parking!

The actual room and hotel is nicely furnished, clean and spacious, we had more than enough room in our King room. The main off-putting event at this hotel was that my fiance left his charger in the wall and when we called they located it. However, he called a few days later to make sure they shipped it, and no one had a clue about what he was talking about, even the person he originally spoke with!

Also, for those of you taking pets, be aware that they do not have a designated place for dogs to take care of business like most pet friendly hotels, and being picky they didn't even give us a complimentary dog treat.

Overall I would say that this hotel is just Ok, I would recommend it for a quick trip but not more than a day or two, and that is only because of the location. If you are big on service and amenities like us, I would say look else where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ctinaluca,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a detailed review. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience with our Hotel Indigo and I hope it did not cause you too much dissatisfaction. We strive for guest satisfaction and it is extremely unfortunate this was not the case for you.

I see you were not able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace because we do have an area for the pets and if you chose to stay with us again, feel free to take your furry friend there. It is a wonderful location with a bar set up and a fantastic view of the Petco Park statdium. We also offer complimentary dog treats at the Front Desk but were waiting for an order to come through the beginning of the month and I am sorry we did not have them here for your little one.

Again, I apologize for the troubles you experience here and I hope you give us the opportunity again when in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Found a nice deal on this hotel on Priceline. Parking at the hotel is very expensive but there are free parking spots near by during the day and about $6 a night overnight parking in lots 1-2 blocks away. We traveled with a child. It doesn't look to be a super child friendly hotel but the room was spacious, modern and clean. There are some nice breakfast choices walking distance from the hotel and many major attractions are near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
AlikK,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. I am happy to hear you were able to find a wonderful deal on Priceline and that you enjoyed you time in San Diego. It is also great to hear you were able to take advantage of this location and find both parking options along with breakfast choices nearby.

Thank you again for staying and we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am so amazed by this hotel and its staff!! Chris, our Level 9 bartender was so much fun!!! And Jose was our amazing "go to" guy. Whenever we were looking for food or fun, he had recommendations that were spot on. It is nice to have help in an unknown city that always ends up being the perfect fit for what we were searching for... If you stay at this hotel, ask for Jose!!! He just knows what you need.

Room Tip: We were on the 4 th floor. Never heard a peep. Very quiet, calm and soooo friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Terri M,

I thank you for writing such an amazing review about our hotel and the wonderful service we experienced here. We strive for guest satisfaction and I am thrilled to hear we were able to demonstrate that for you. I will ensure both Jose and Chris here about your terrific feedback.

Again, thank you for stopping by and we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location-close to Petco Park, Gaslamp, and Coronado Island. We stayed for five nights in late June and were very pleased with our choice. The lobby is bright and aesthetically pleasing, and check in was a breeze. Our two queen room on the 3rd floor was large with a good view of the stadium. Very modern decor, nice spa shower with Aveda products, and Keurig coffee maker (so bring your k-cups). My partner found his bed perfect, but I thought mine was overly firm. A request for a mattress topper was granted with no issue and that solved the problem. BTW- the maid service was excellent. The room itself was beginning to exhibit some signs of wear: chipped laminate wood flooring, scuffed walls. But overall, we found it quite comfortable. The valet is $38/night, expensive yes, but the service is 5 star. You text for your vehicle as you head down, and it's waiting for you when you arrive. The guys were super friendly and professional.

Our only negative experience occurred at the 9th floor rooftop bar. We were in SD for a family reunion and took our nieces and nephews up for a cocktail and a look at the view. We attempted to order drinks and were confronted with an extremely rude and disrespectful bartender named ISHMAEL. He treated us terribly and even made disparaging remarks about our group to a patron at the bar. It was rather shocking, so we went back to the lobby and explained the situation to the desk clerk. She was, of course, apologetic, and it was handed with aplomb by the hotel manager. No hard feelings. It was a great visit to SD, and I would recommend this hotel and the wonderful staff whole heartedly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Inktvlr,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a detailed review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel Indigo and that we were able to demonstrate great customer service. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the Level 9 Terrace. I will ensure the necessary steps are taken so this does not happen again.


Again I thank you for taking the time into writing a wonderful review and we cannot wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.