We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personnel made it great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #32 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clinton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Personnel made it great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff at the hotel turned an otherwise ordinary, almost mundane hotel stay into an excellent one. Every single person I dealt with was on-the-ball and jumped at the opportunity to help me out. I was an unusual customer: I rented a bike instead of a car, I wanted a gym pass, I preferred no housekeeping, and I had a problem with my restaurant bill. Everything was taken care of perfectly, professionally, and with ample courtesy. And that is why I would return to this hotel and/or recommend it to family/friends in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th and 10th floors since there's a bar on the 9th, if you're a light sleeper. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    286
    68
    23
    25
See reviews for
109
411
83
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed here for 5 nights and it was the best experience I've had in san diego! I flew in from Asia for graduation and Brian checked me and helped me get situated. He was so friendly and understanding. Although the reason I wanted to stay there was for the rooftop bar I ended up going to the restaurant downstairs which not only had awesome service (thank you Mike, i think the name was) but really great food and mimosas. The rooms are surprisingly pretty spacious and had an awesome view of petco park and downtown san diego. It's not crazy loud on the weekends so if you're traveling with a family it's really nice as well. Thank you Jose and Darren as well for being so incredible nice and friendly! I will definitely be staying here again and have told countless friends to send their families there. Thank you Hotel Indigo for contributing to the best graduation weekend I could have asked for!

Room Tip: try and book a room facing Petco Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My stay with Hotel Indigo was outstanding. Along with clean, comfortable accommodations, the staff was exceptional in every way. The individuals working the bar were kind, amicable, and professional. We were helped by Matt, Mike, Chris, and Curtis. Can't put a price on great customer service;) Thank you for making me feel welcome and at home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while attending a function at the SD concourse. It's a nice walk or taxi ride to either the convention center or the concourse. The hotel is close enough you can walk to the various clubs and pubs in the gaslamp, but just far enough that you can't hear the music. The rooftop bar on the 9th floor looks out over part of the baseball stadium, and has nice view of downtown... great way to enjoy the warm evenings.

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but nice and simple... nothing crazy exotic, just easy to use. The free wifi is quite reliable, and the business center printers are quick and easy.

Overall, a reliable, professional, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm very happy with my choice of the Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, and you will be too. It's a very good location; the staff is very accommodating, extremely service oriented, and hospitable without being overbearing.

Room Tip: Realize that this is a dog-friendly hotel . . . man's best friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have never been at this hotel or the Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, and within walking distance of Petco Park, home of the Padres. My room was nicely furnished in modern decor, great bar area in the lobby, nice meeting rooms, right in the middle of the downtown nightlife and restaurants. No shuttle to the airport, you have to take a cab. A very pleasant stay and will be here again this August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while on vacation in San Diego. When we booked our stay we noticed that the hotel was the number 1 rated pet friendly hotel in that area. So, we decided to bring our dogs with us, which ended up being a wonderful experience.

The room was perfect for us, the dogs enjoyed it as well. The Hotel has a roof top bar that is dog friendly and has a grassy area for the dogs which was pretty neat. The Hotel is also a block away from Petco park which has a park area for people to walk their dogs which was pretty cool. The hotel was able to point out some of the restaurants in the area that are pet friendly which was really nice to have. The people at the front desk were always very nice and welcoming. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

The only downside to this hotel is that per their website their parking fee is $38 a day and when we arrived, the parking attendant tells us that its $39 a day. I tell him that their website listed $38 a day and he said that they just changed it. I did also mention it to the person who checked us in and he gave us the same response. I know it's just a $1 but it would be nice if their website would be correctly updated. As of today (a month after our stay) their website still states that their parking fee is $38.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.