We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

this is a great hotel. The rooms are huge and they have wooden floors making it a contemporary feel. Beds huge and very comfortable. The roof top bar is gorgeous with great service, There are heaters and fire pits are great and make a long evening with friends a great experience.
Make sure you like dogs. this is a great dog friendly hotel and the roof top bar has dogs everywhere, nice to see a lovely hotel which allows dogs but they do take over a little.I would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone. It is in a great area near shops and bars and also overlooks the ball park

Room Tip: there are some rooms directly above the bar these may be noisy. The bar is on 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello fiona604! We are very appreciative of your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Indigo Gaslamp Quarter, and excited to see such a positive reaction to our service and amenities, especially Level 9. We hope the next time you travel, you choose the Hotel Indigo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    390
    92
    28
    27
See reviews for
153
507
96
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I always book my hotels in the Gaslamp through Hotwire and get a great rate on a 4-star in the area. This hotel was neat because it's dog-friendly and they don't charge extra to bring your pet. Valet parking is $38/night, but if you can find a spot in a lot nearby (and don't mind walking a little) you can save some money.

I don't believe they have a pool or jacuzzi and some of the other 4-stars that I've stayed in do. We could also hear a dog barking durning the day in a room near ours, but it didn't bother us and we were out and about most of the day/evening anyways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time writing a review here, but after our trip I had to:

Was so pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's in an amazing location, walking distance to everything in Gaslamp. The hotel is clean and the staff goes above and beyond to be accommodating and friendly. For example, my fiance and I had some leftovers that we wanted to keep for the next day, but there was no mini fridge in the room. We called the front desk, they said it is usually $15/day to have a mini fridge in the room but they would be happy to waive the fee and bring one up. Awesome.

If you want to park and don't want to pay the crazy daily amount for valet, just park at one of the parking garages, there is one on 6th and K and there's another on Market street a couple blocks from the hotel. Both are around $15ish/day which is very reasonable for the area.

Great staff, great location, comfortable rooms. Top notch hotel bottomline. DEFINITELY stay here.

Room Tip: Request a high floor. We were on the 9th floor where the rooftop bar is, if you want something more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello mhogan525! Thanks for reviewing our hotel, and we appreciate your comments regarding how wonderful our rooms are. We take great pride in creating a comfortable environment for our guests, and greatly appreciate seeing our team so accommodating towards our guests. We hope to see you the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can say that this hotel is in a good position, not in a very busy street, close to streetcar station and very close to a groceries outlet (very small prices, fresh food, all sort of drinks). Staff is friendly and helpful . MANY THANKS to all staff and specially to Mike (from restaurant ) .
Rooms are soundproof , so you can sleep very well.
I spend 9 days here and I have no complains !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here with my sister in early April, 2013. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. We stayed on the 11th floor, right at the end of the hall. It was a quiet room with a gorgeous view. One night at about 8 pm, the women in the room adjacent to ours were having a loud sing-along as they got ready to go out. I'm old enough to know this meant they would return late at night and continue the party. I called down to the desk and explained what was going on and what I didn't want to have happen upon their return. They took care of it, and we did not hear any more noise from that room. I am very grateful to them for taking care of that. On the last day, the allowed me a late check-out. I ordered room service for lunch and it arrived very quickly--well before the 20 minutes they told me it would take. Our housekeeping services were excellent also, and gave us double coffee rations as we requested. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks lcrandall30 for taking the time to provide a review of the Hotel Indigo! I am excited to see our staff react so promptly and efficiently to your needs, from security, to room service, to housekeeping. Thank you again for letting us know you had such an excellent stay, and we cannot wait to see you the next time your travels take you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My son and I wanted to go somewhere for his spring vacation, and we had many choices of good hotels which we decided to stay at the hotel INDIGO San Diego-GASLAMP Quarter, California, USA. The hotel INDIGO San Diego-GASLAMP Quarter is located in heart of San Diego’s business district, and 10 blocks to water front. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Darren Queen front office manager. He has trained his staff well they are very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was very clean and in a good condition with good view. The hotel does not have a swimming pool, and gym is being renovated which did not matter to us. We parked the car and start our adventure by walking 10 blocks to the water front and visited the USS Midway aircraft carrier museum which is part of our great nation’s history. I highly recommend when you are the area take time and visit this wonderful museum. When we returned to the hotel for the evening we were welcome with big smile by Courtney the front office supervisor. The next day we rode our bikes to the water front and took the ferry to Coronado Island. It was very lovely ride. We visited the beautiful 125 years old Hotel Del Coronado which is designated a national historical landmark in 1977. We had lunch at one of the best burgers, salad and shake at Burger Lounge off of Orange Ave, at Coronado Island. This was great relaxing father and son trip which started with a great hotel INDIGO San Diego-GASLAMP Quarter and their friendly staff. My family and I will be back in this hotel for another adventure very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had never been to San Diego before, so when the opportunity presented itself, away we went! We chose Hotel Indigo based on the good reviews and the superb dog-friendly pet policy of "no restrictions." The staff was very attentive -- and check-in / valet was a breeze. We were given a handicap-accessible room (which isn't necessary) on the third floor. As we were going to be there for a few days and wanted to enjoy the view that a higher floor would offer, we asked to switch rooms. While the hotel was sold out for that night, the manager said that he could switch us the following day without any problem. Great service!

The rooftop bar and bartenders were fabulous -- you can bring your dog and enjoy some food and drinks while overlooking Petco Park. You have to ask for pet bowls, but the hotel has plenty and so that was not a problem.

Our rooms were spacious, the higher floors have great views, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. I loved how you could open your window in the room for a little bit of fresh air. It's nice as a pet owner to be able to enjoy a drink and food with your dog, rather than leave him in the room (or have to find another place to go). That being said, if you're not a super dog lover, this place may not be for you. Not that there were dogs running around freely, but you are allowed to bring your dog in the bar areas, and some people might not like that. We, however, loved it!!

While I give the hotel 5 stars because of the superb staff, the great service, the comfortable rooms, the views, their pet policy and the location, it wasn't the absolute BEST hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms were definitely not soundproof and we heard quite a bit from the rooms next door (things I didn't need to hear), the rooftop bar (gets cold, so sit near the firepits or under the heaters) was supposed to be open one night according to the posted hours (but was not), and there is no pool, in-room movies or room service.

Would I stay there again? Yes, if I was traveling with our dog. No, if we were not traveling with our dog. Not that the hotel did anything wrong, it's just that there are so many choices in San Diego (including the Gaslamp Quarter) that if I wasn't traveling with our lab, I would probably try another hotel for comparison purposes. But I definitely highly recommend Hotel Indigo and most likely will be back in the future!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you AnyoneUpforACK for your review of our hotel. We at the Hotel Indigo are glad to see that the experience at our hotel was enjoyable for your entire family, including the four-legged. We will utilize your impression to continue to improve our hotel in the future. We hope to see you and your lab in near the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#6 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#43 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,188 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#33 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.