We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt stay at this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glendale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wouldnt stay at this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here because it was close to the convention center and we didnt want to stay at the Marriot where all my husbands customers were staying. When we arrived valet parking was $40.00 a day, so we self parked 2 blocks away since we would be walking or taking cabs for $15.00 a day. My husband unloaded the car and put our luggage on the cart while the bellman was talking to a co-worker. Im thinking to myself whats wrong with this picture. When the bellman unloads the cart just kind of throws all the stuff in one spot, ok. Then my husband gives him a $10 tip. For what? I was shocked that they didnt have movies you can purchase on demand. I have been sick, major health issues and planning on staying in and watching movies. So I stayed in the room and watched Doner( the cop killer) and the storms back east on CNN. The dates of this trip were Feb7th, 8th and 9th. My husbands trade show ending Sat the 9th so he packed up his show and we decided not stay Sat the 9th over and drive home. At 4pm I tried to order 2 grilled cheese sandwiches from room service for the ride home, Oh sorry the kitchens closed. Great, I dont eat meat or fast food. Also, they advertise a paper delivered to your door, never saw that. Kerig coffee maker with only 1 cup of regular coffee 1 decaf and 2 teas. Cost me 5 bucks to have them bring extra coffee to the room for tip. We had to pay for the last night because it was prepaid. Complaining on the way out they didnt seem to care very much. Never going to stay in a hotel Indigo again!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you Hanson6260 for taking your time to review our hotel. I regret that you had issues with so many facets of our property. All of the information provided will be used to continually improve our hotel. If you would like to further discuss your stay, and any other measures you would like to communicate, please contact me at darren.queen@ihg.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    340
    81
    25
    27
See reviews for
127
457
89
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was my pleasure to stay at the hotel for five nights during a convention. It is clear that from the architect, designers and managers have a clear and unifying theme. I am guessing that before any decision is made they ask “is it cool, is it tasteful, is it of high quality and will it appeal to millennials.”

Every detail of this hotel fits this mantra. The front desk is three ovals, the computers in the lobby are Apples, the designs of the lobby are hip, dogs are welcome; even the menu presentations are cool. The music in the lobby fits the scene and I enjoyed being welcomed back to the hotel every night-I don’t even get that at home every night!

The rooms are not some cookie-cutter variety. Trust me, every details from the bathroom sink, décor, lamps, towel holders and furniture (I didn’t list them all) are well chosen and fits the theme I mentioned above.

I noticed lots of young, hip people gathered in the lobby with a sprinkling of baby boomers. If you are in San Diego and have to stay close to the baseball stadium, Fifth Street or the Convention Center-book this hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the ball park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo the first week of February, 2013 for a conference. I was very satisfied with the big comfortable rooms and the king size bed. Best sleep I ever had. Best in-room coffee ever! Everyone from the front desk to the lounge are extremely polite and greet you with a smile.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Petco Stadium offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend getaway. The location is pretty good. It is technically listed as being "downtown" as opposed to the Gaslamp area, but it is very near the Gaslamp area. If you want to be close to that area, but are concerned about noise, this would be an excellent choice, as it is within easy walking distance. The ballpark is very nearby as well. If you want to spend lots of time at the Seaport Villeage area, then you will have a longer walk. We made the walk once, but when you combing walking there, walking around, and then walking back, it would make for a very long day of walking.

If I am not mistaken, the only option is valet parking, which I think is expensive. My memory is that we ended up somehow getting a very favorable room rate, so were ok with paying the extra, or we got some kind of room+valet rate, as otherwise I almost never pay for valet parking...but I think it is "required" at this hotel. The valet worked out just fine. They were always able to get the car within reasonable time of asking and given the way the hotel is set up, it is easy to sit indoors and wait if need be.

The hotel is very modern, new looking, and clean. The main lobby downstairs is actually rather small, but I don't necessarily mean that as a negative comment...just an observation. Check in desk is within 20 feet or so of front door, there is a decent cafe area off to the right, and then elevators are direclty beside check in. So you won't be getting lost or dragging bags very far.

The room was very nice. Looked brand new. Had hard wood floors, which was a nice touch that is rare in hotels. Grant it, I suspect if might not have been "real" hardwood but certainly had the look and feel. Room was not overly large or small....comfortable. Bathroom was surprisingly spacious with a very nice walk in shower....that two can easily fit in. Bed was very comfortable and I recall the room being very quite.

We ended up using the cafe down stairs for breakfast most mornings. I'd go down and order the food and bring it back up to the room (I am sure they'd bring it up if you wanted to pay for that). They always put everything together very professionally for us, with everything we needed. I recall the food being fine. Nothing great but no bad either. There aren't any food options "very" near by. If you wanted to get up and walk 10 mintues for breakfast you easily could but you'd definitely have to walk the 10 minutes...not just down the corner.

And then of course you have the eco cred of the hotel...which is really what the place is all about. If you are not interested in that, what I'd say is you won't notice it and you'll have a great say. If you do care, then you'll get to stay a great hotel and feel good too.

We did not really get a chance to spend time on the rooftop bar. We visited in the morning when it wasn't open and it looked very nice/cool but otherwise we didn't use it. Same with the gym, so no comments on either.

For a relaxing, quite, and comfortable stay, very near the Gaslamp Quarter, with some eco cred, this is a great choice...but make sure you factor in the cost of valet parking into your bill/cost comparison (although most hotels in this area will likely be valet only as well, except for the Marriott Marquis, which you can self park for about $25.00/day).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel as a downtown option. I usually stay at the Solamar or Hilton Lofts. I would say if the price is right this is a very nice alternative boutique hotel.

The hotel itself was very very clean and had a 4 star feel. The room I got had a wonderful view into Petco which was nice as I had just booked the cheapest room available.The room itself was top notch with wood flooring and high end amenities.

The rooftop bar a nice place to catch a sunset and just hangout. The bartender was friendly and the view was good.

Only two issues were troubling: 1. There ice machines/soda are on every other floor which means you gotta travel to get ice which kinda blows. Also the machines below and above me were out of 75% of their stuff, no diet anything. 2. I called for food at 10:30PM on a Saturday night and was told there was nothing left except maybe a premade turkey wrap. A hotel of this quality should have rooms service later than 10 and especially on a Saturday.

Overall if you get a good rate try it out. I have already re-booked a night in April and look forward to the return.

Room Tip: Views of petco appear to be rooms ending in 8-16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Moxsd for your review of our property! I am greatly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have already booked a future stay. Please email me your confirmation number to darren.queen@ihg.com so we may ensure your stay will be even more pleasant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Indigos in Europe and I loved them for their uniqueness and extraordinary customer service, which is why I was extremely excited to stay at the Hotel Indigo in San Diego. They did not disappoint. The hotel and its room are aesthetically pleasing and modern, and the customer service was AMAZING.

The location is also great. It offers some great city views and views of Petco Park. The rooftop bar is great with fireplaces and a stunning view of Petco Park and the city. It’s only a few blocks from Gaslamp: a short walk to great restaurants and a short stumble back from San Diego’s best bars.

I understand the concerns about the hotel being extremely dog friendly, but we hardly noticed. My mother is extremely allergic to dogs, and she had no problem. The floors of the rooms are hardwood, which helps, and we saw no indication that a dog had stayed in our room. I wouldn’t hold the hotel accountable for the irresponsibility of certain dog owners.

Finally, the prices of the rooms are very reasonable. I am looking forward to staying here again (and at other Hotel Indigos) and I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family, dog owners or not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here for two days for a meeting, and found the hotel to be an excellent stay. About 2 blocks from the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, so it was very easy to reach all of that, including the large mall downtown (aobut 7-9 minute walk.) The rooms were well appointed, and the staff was nice. The restaurant had a limited menu, but it was a good place for lunch when they open up the side of the hotel and it is open air.
I know there is nothing the hotel can do about this, but when checking out early on Sunday (4:45 am), I was surprised to see my elevator open on 10th floor and see a guy just finishing urinating all over the elevator. At least he did say "excuse me" before he hustled off and went on his way. I dont think he really knew what floor he was on anyway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.