We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in San diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in San diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed for three nights in January. San Diego is a great place to visit when you live in New England at this time of year. The hotel is quite nice with the room comfortable and nicely furnished. The hotel staff is excellent. The best feature of the hotel is its location. Many good restaurants are within a short walk as well as good coffee locations. I had lunch sitting outside at Cafe Chloe which I highly recommend. Overall, a very good hotel which I will re-visit in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    340
    81
    25
    27
See reviews for
127
457
89
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary and to also get away we planned another trip to San Diego. Travelling from Los Angeles it was easy we took Amtrak which if it wasn't for bad trolley volunteer advice we would have taken the trolley to the stop only two blocks away. Oh well. We got a great rate on Hotwire after narrowing down what type of hotel it would be we got lukcy, it was the Indigo for $127 a night. Yeah, no kidding. (Rack rates on the doors were considerably higher.)

We checked in and our room was on the 6th floor. We encountered a problem with the heating system or lack there of and were switched to the 12th floor. We were issued the same room, more or less, no opening window and a littel smaller bath room but there were only 12 rooms on the floor so it was quiet.

The rooms were great, the shower is amazing, the bed was comfortable, but will have to say that the pillows were pretty bad. Overall, I would recommend staying here. The location and proximatey to Petco Stadium, restaraunts, gaslamp district, trolley stops it was excellent. It is a very nice hotel and it made our trip enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a north or south facing room or you have to deal with sunrise/sunset. Higher floors have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stay often in the Gaslamp Quarter and have been in many different hotels. My review is based on the hotel rating itself as 4 star, so that's my comparison. I got this room for 2 nights through Priceline, for $150...not bad considering it was New Year's Eve. It's an OK hotel. Not equivalent to Hyatt Grand or Westgate or even the Hilton. It's on the outskirts of the Gaslamp quarter, but still easily walkable. The only outstanding element was Courtney, one of the managers, she was wonderful and very helpful. The beds were too hard for us, both had backaches after the second night. Can't think of anything horrible about the hotel, but all in all....there's better, prettier, more fun hotels in the same price range...my advise is keep looking.

Room Tip: ask for city view otherwise you're just looking into the windows of condos next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear tina v,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments on Courtney. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed a few nights here while attending a conference at the San Diego Convention Centre. It is within a comfortable walking distance of the convention centre, and within a stone's throw of the Padres baseball stadium. It is also on the periphery of the Gaslamp Quarter, which is where most of the fun happens in San Diego. The hotel is modern and contemporary, but does not come with complimentary parking (there is free parking on certain parts of the street outside the hotel after certain hours). The room was spacious and modern, and more than adequate for a business stay. The bathroom was huge and clean. Overall, a great business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
CY_JL_traveltheworld,

Thank you for your contribution to Hotel Indigo's TripAdvisor reviews! We encourage feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our property to be the perfect fit as a business hotel. The hotel has many unique qualities that whether you are traveling on business or leisure that there is something for everyone to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We where happy with the hotel. Good beds and good bathrooms - check. Internet that works - check. Gym - small but ok. Clean - check.

Altogether this hotel seems to have all that I would require and there is nothing to complain about. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Said A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp. We are pleased that the hotel's amenities met your needs as a traveler! We certainly look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is a dog friendly. I don't have a dog and have allergies and as a result was nervous when I learned that it was dog friendly after reading TripAdvisor reviews. But, it was not a problem. The staff respond quickly and efficiently to noise complaints -- there was a dog barking on my floor and within 10 minutes the problem was resolved. Additionally, upon request, the hotel will do a "deep clean" of the room prior to arrival. Overall, the hotel was spotless.

The hotel is in a great location. Close enough to the core to be able to walk pretty well anywhere yet far enough away that the noise from the bars emptying out is almost non-existent -- I heard one or two hollers during our two night stay.

Parking at the hotel is expensive. $38 US. However, there are quite a few lots w/in a block or two that charge significantly less EXCEPT it seems on Friday and Saturday nights when 24-hour parking is no longer available AND the lots jack up their prices to $24 US for 12 hours (opposed to $24 US for 24-hours). There is street parking but I never looked so can't comment. That being said, the parking charge at the hotel seems to be in-line with the other hotels in the area. Exhorbitant but it seems that is the "price" one pays for the convenience.

The hotel has a limited number of in-room fridges. Ask for one at booking if it's important.

The roof top deck is fabulous definitely worth checking out.

I would stay at the Hotel Indigo again. No hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Cdn_Wmn,

Thank you, the staff at Hotel Indigo appreciates the time you took to write a review. As a pet-friendly hotel we try to accommodate all guests traveling with or without pets. We understand the many diverse requests that are made in regards to our pet policy. The staff absolutely ensures that all guests are satisfied and comfortable with their accommodations. We are glad that you have selected Hotel Indigo as a brand of choice for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The interior is really fine, the beds are comfy and if you get a room with a view it's great. The staff is helpful and friendly. The surroundings really pretty with lots of stuff to do and places to see. Many good restaurants and breakfast places. Which brings me to their breakfast idea that is a disaster. If one adds breakfast with your stay you expect to get breakfast without paying. But you get a voucher worth $20 that for a family of 3 covered half the cost. What is that? Really annoying when everything on the menue is expensive, yet good. Change this stupid thing now!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.