We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Animal House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Let me first say this appears to be a nice hotel, friendly staff and great location. Now let me say this hotel has gone to the dogs. Sitting in the lobby bar within a 10 minute period I saw 14 dogs check in. The first few I was willing to write off as service animals. The next dozen, no.

When I inquired at the desk they happily told me the Indigo chain is pet friendly and animals could go "anywhere, anytime, any room". I left.

I am deathly allergic. I've been on planes many times when they declare a peanut free zone due to an allergy of a passenger yet the Indigo let's animals run. I get the business model. A little warning would have been nice. I spend about 100 nights a year in hotels for business. None will be at an Indigo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Dpaulson1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am sorry for your overall dissatisfaction during your stay. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    309
    75
    23
    25
See reviews for
116
425
83
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a beautiful place in a great San Diego location. We secured a phenomenal rate through hotels.com ($100). We checked in. Rooms are spacious. Lobby is elegant. Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Parking is obscene ($38/day). Unfortunately, we didn't realize the place is a veritable pet hotel. In one hour sitting in the lounge, we saw at least a dozen dogs of all shapes and sizes. My husband is deathly allergic, so we couldn't stay there after all. The front desk was very kind and helpful and said to call Hotels.com and they could cancel the prepaid charge. Done. (Thanks Vanessa at Hotels.com)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great venue with great food, accomodating staff, and overall an awesome good time. I have to say that Curtis worked with us to have an amazing event. He even threw in a free night's stay to raffle off to one of our employees. Truly a great hotel! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location is the best thing about the hotel.

Our room was not cleaned well between nights. The bathroom trash was not taken out and the surfaces in the bathroom or room were not wiped down. My husband even noticed that they didn't even change the sheets one day (a small black mark on one corner clued him in).

Every night until around 1am there were people in the hallways talking loudly, especially the first night. The walls are thin and you can hear everything on all sides, couples in the next room, bathroom noises, and luggage being wheeled above you. If the noise inside the hotel isn't loud enough you get a constant stream of sirens from the streets below. We were on the 10th floor and we heard at least 6 sirens a night with the window shut.

The "gym" is lacking in room and equipment and you are much better off enjoying a morning run on the harbor as long as you don't mind weaving between sleeping homeless folks.

There valet is slow, only 1 person working most of the time. Their text system to notify them when you wanted your car was down while we were there. For $38/night I expected more.

During our stay the restaurant and 9th floor bar were closed 2 out of the 3 nights. We were not told this is advance and the day of a note was slid under our door to inform us of the closures.

We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mary J,

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We certainly pride ourselves in providing the best service possible and regret to hear that you did not find our services to meet yours or even our expectations. We will take your feedback into consideration for future training purposes. As the Front Office Manager, I would like to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact me directly via email at darren.queen@ihg.com. Thank you again for your comments and hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I managed to secure a great deal on this hotel by booking it early. We stayed for two nights having driven down from my house in LA.

We were able to valet the car at a fairly reasonable cost.

When walking into this hotel you realise straight away that it is something a little special. Everything looks modern but as with the brands motto, is environmentally friendly.

This hotel had a couple hidden gems, the rooftop bar but also a rooftop garden with views of the City and Petco park. The hotel had a small gym with cardio equipment which was of course complimentary.

We had a standard room which was extremely large and well kept, the bathroom was also a good size. Our room looked directly into Petco Park, but unfortunately no baseball to watch for free!

The hotel is within walking distance from Gaslamp Quarter so great if you want to have a crazy night out and stay at a nearby hotel.

We also sampled the food at the hotel which was of a good standard and at a fairly reasonable cost.

I will definitely return and would strongly recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: Try and go as high as possible and where possible go for a view of Petco park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you Tom C for your review! We are pleased that you found our environmentally friendly hotel the perfect place for your visit to San Diego. The hotel prides itself as a LEED Certified property in which we promote sustainability and support our local vendors. We certainly do our best to maintain our modern decor of our facilities for our guests’ enjoyment! We hope to have you come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I decided on Hotel Indigo after much planning and preparation for our one year anniversary. I have absolutely zero complaints. We got a corner room with the best view of PETCO Baseball Park! They have the coolest thing with the valet parking where you can text them and your car will be waiting for you when you get outside. My favorite thing about this hotel is the roof top bar!! The drinks are strong!! And the fire pits are awesome.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lanishia,

We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay for your one year anniversary! We hope that you come back to celebrate again with us and enjoy our great views of Petco Stadium or watch a game from our Level 9 Roof Top bar next to the warmth of our fire pits! Wishing you many, many more happy anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Indigo Hotel three nights during our trip along the coast of California where we choose to stay mainly the Holiday Inn Express.
It was the first time we stayed at a Indigo Hotel and there are a big difference between this Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and the HIE.
The rooms have enough space, the bathroom was fine the internet was ok and the service fine also.
However the big difference is the decoration much more young and agreable than the HIE and we were already fed up of the HIE.
The unique problem was the noise during the first night because our room was close with the vending machines, but they changed us to another room and the problem disappear.
For us this Indigo is a very pleasant hotel and we recomend it..

Room Tip: Ask a room far from the vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Elicia49,

We are pleased that you chose Hotel Indigo for your stay! Hotel Indigo is part of the IHG family which includes the Holiday Inn brand. The Hotel Indigo brand offers a boutique style that is modern and chic. We hope that you are a loyal member of our Priority Club frequent stay program in which you can earn redeemable points by staying at one of our many brands. To review membership information please visit www.priorityclub.com

Thank you and hope to see you visit us again in sunny San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.