We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money, residential-type atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parc Suites

Save Saved
You added Parc Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parc Suites
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2245 K Street, 506 22nd Street, San Diego, CA 92102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Lakeside, MT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for the money, residential-type atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. It's basically an apartment, with a kitchen, appliances (including a garbage disposal) and all the cookware, dishes, etc. Kind of a Victorian home (I think it's on the National Register or something like that) that has been remodeled into multiple apartments.

Some have made negative comments about the neighborhood. I just didn't see it as a big deal. It's across the street from a school so how bad can it be? The school is newer but outwardly resembles a minimum-security prison--a testament to the age in which we live. I was there eleven days and I never saw any homeless people, etc. It's a working-class neighborhood and, true, you only have to go two or three blocks to be in kind of a rough-looking industrial-type neighborhood but it is really just not a problem.

The main thing that I find lacking in hotels in which I stay, including some pricey ones now and then, is quiet. This place was basically quiet. One day there was some moron a couple of houses down washing his car and had his hip hop turned all the way up. The only words in the music seemed to begin with F or N. I have heard music down the street occasionally but never really after going to bed. The manager, Kelly, is very nice and sweet and takes quiet very seriously. While I was there, other guests were never a problem, and if there had been a problem I don't think Kelly would have let it go on.

I look at the parking situation as a definite positive. There is usually parking on the street during the day and evening. At night you can park in enclosed locked parking. Yes, you have to drag your butt out of the car, unlock and open a gate, park, then go back and close and lock it. (Just remember to take your key out of the lock. I lost mine this way and Kelly was very nice about it. Interestingly, two days later someone else did the same thing and I turned that key in). Anyway, all this is a small price to pay, IMHO, for the peace of mind of knowing your car's not going to be messed with...a reassurance that I didn't even feel at the Hilton Resort in San Diego.

There is a laundramat on the premises. Dollar to wash, dollar to dry. The only downside is that this is where the employees do the laundry for the establishment and they will leave it in the machines for hours or even overnight. Don't be bashful about taking it out. They don't sell soap. There is liquid soap there which the employees use. I don't know if it is supposed to be for general consumption or not.

They do not make up your room while you are there but were happy to provide new towels when I asked. If you want bar soap you'll need to bring or buy it. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner. There was no air conditioning, which was not a problem in March. I had the heat on. May be a different story in August. They have three fans with remote controls. There was a very nice flat screen TV with high-def feed. They should provide some type of laminated sheet to tell you what the active channels are. It took me awhile to figure out that the regular network news was on, I think, channel 1007 (it starts at channel 2). No DVR player.

Watch that curb step painted with red and white hash marks in front of the porch. I didn't and fell and split my lip open. Kelly happened to be there and was very concerned and sympathetic.

I definitely plan to return, especially for an extended stay when I come to volunteer in Tijuana. I would think there still may be a role for a more traditional setting (like on the water, etc.) if I were coming with my wife for a shorter period for a vacation. Previously on this these trips I have stayed at the Motel 6 downtown, Motel 6 on Clairemont Mesa Blvd, and Days Inn on Rosecrans. This was far and away much better for the same or less cost.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms, and I think that they are all different. I stayed in #7. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had great service, and a fantastic time. Granite counter-tops, cable, comfy bed, nice staff, and an overall Gem. People also complained about the "sketchy" location. This is not in the ghetto, and it is not in La Jolla (Mitt Romney Richville). It's across the street from an elementary school for goodness sake. Overall a great stay, great value, will try to return.

Room Tip: No swimming pool...couldn't unselect it. Go grocery shopping and take advantage of the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found this gem on Vacation Rentals By Owner. The apartment was above and beyond what we had expected. This was an old Victorian Home was the renovated into several apartments. The unit was spacious with updated appliances, coziness of home and close to the gas lamp district. We had a kitchen big enough to make meals. The home is gated with parking in the back. Public transportation such as the trolley was a great find for all you can ride $5.00.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, comfortable and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I found this little gem on line and the unit was just as described. I frequently walked down to the gaslamp district or the cab ride was a cheap 6.00. This place is very quiet and the bed is incredibly comfortable. Laundry facilities on site which added to the convenience. A nicely appointed kitchen made dinner prep (when I didn't go out) very easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I continue to travel to San Diego regularly. I have stayed here before, and continue to stay at Parc Suites every time I come to San Diego. I work remotely, usually for a week at a time, and it is great to be just outside of downtown, but a 10 minute walk in various directions to everything in the downtown area (ok, except maybe Little Italy, but I LOVE to walk so it's no problem).

Of course, you can also easily access public transportation, or rent a bike.

What I especially love about my trip just last month was the fact that they upgraded me to a larger 1 bedroom when one happened to open up at the last minute—at no additional charge.

It was appreciated, especially since the upstairs rooms tend to be a little quieter.

I continue to feel like this place is a second home. While it's true it's in a transitioning neighborhood, I have never had any problems (I think another reviewer called it "sketchy," and while I would definitely say this is not one of the more affluent neighborhoods, people in this relatively quiet area are always friendly.

I'm actually already booking my next stay... I think that would be my fifth trip there, if I remember correctly.

While I think you sometimes need to be flexible to something a little different at Parc Suites, I highly recommend them for more seasoned travelers that want to be somewhere that feels a little more like home—not a traditional hotel in the middle of it all.

:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was shocked that this b&b is in a fairly sketchy part of town. Lots of nearby houses had bars on the windows. Yikes. Never have I stayed in such a sketchy area.

They showed me where you can park in back in a lot...but you need to get out of your car to open the lock on the gate and manually slide it open. What, is this 1950?

To boot, I was awoken 3 of my 4 nights there by a jackhammer that was literally right outside my window. I know this isn't their fault but come on!

To top it off, I got a $100 parking ticket for not curbing my wheels to the curb. Ugh.

The inside of the unit I stayed in was minimalist and everything felt cheap. You couldn't even stand in front of the sink to brush your teeth because the sink was mounted sideways in the bathroom. I know it is an old building but come on! As the shower had a shelf so high for soap and items you couldn't even see the top of it let alone see what you put in there.

The kitchen was well stocked and it was nice to have a full size fridge and stove, etc, but overall the inside just felt more like a cheap motel than a nice, comfy b&b.

I'm sorry, I hate to write bad reviews but I never would have booked this place if I had read even one honest review like mine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had an extended stay in San Diego for eight weeks for a Navy school; the military billeting was full and needed a comfortable place to stay for a long time at a reasonable rate. I've stayed for a couple months in a Comfort Inn, and that gets old after a while. Parc Suites fit the bill perfectly: it is clean, comfortable and convenient to Naval Station San Diego. There was a full kitchen in both rooms I stayed in (I had to move once due to the length of my stay), giant flat screen TV's, and decent WiFi. Basically everything I needed.

I did have some minor issues with WiFi, for some reason my iPad and Iphone would not connect, but my laptop had no issues. There is off street parking, but even though I didn't think is would be, it was less convenient than parking on the street and I rarely used it, since you have to drive around the back alley, get out of the car, open the gate, drive in, close the gate - not good if you are in a hurry, which I usually was. You are asked to do your own cleaning during your stay - not a problem for me, but may not be in some people's plans. The owner, Kelly, and her staff are friendly and sociable and very helpful. I left some things behind by mistake after my stay and when I was back in San Diego a month later, I was able to go back and pick them up.

This is not a good place for a family stay, but excellent for a couple or individual that are not looking for luxury resort accomodations, but somewhere to be comfortable after doing whatever it is they are in San Diego to do. There is coin-operated laundry and the owner provided complimentary beach towels on a first come first served basis. A couple of blocks away is the trolley station, and if you don't mind a brisk hike through a sketchy neighborhood, 20-30 minute walk to the Gaslamp. It's very remniscent of hostel living, but less sharing. Loved it, will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parc Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Suites

Address: 2245 K Street, 506 22nd Street, San Diego, CA 92102
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parc Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish you could take the comforts of home with you on your next vacation to San Diego without breaking the bank? Now you can with Parc Suites, your home away from home! Parc Suites Luxury Boutique Hotel is a Victorian Villa, lovingly and painstakingly converted into one of the most unique and comfortable lodging facilities within a minute of downtown San Diego. You will be a 5 minute drive from Coronado Island’s white sand beaches, world famous Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, Sea World, world class golf courses, San Diego Airport and much more. Parc Suites is in the ideal location to experience all of San Diego’s many wonders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Orbitz so you can book your Parc Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.