We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Korean BBQ restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeong Won Korean BBQ

Jeong Won Korean BBQ
4690 Convoy St, San Diego, CA 92111-2317
858-292-4670
Improve this listing
Ranked #546 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hip Korean BBQ restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food and service was excellent. Every table in the place was filled. Reasonable price for what you get. I definitely will come back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Walking into an experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

On the outside it looks completely different then the inside in a good way. If you are looking for authentic Korean food and with the cultural experience this is a must go! A downfall is that it looks expensive looking at the menu but anything above $20 can be shared with two people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chula Vista, California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Try a little something different....good different!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This place is a unique experience. This is my second time there and there will be more visits. You pick your food and you grill on your own personal hibachi type grill. Conservative choices include beef short ribs, beef brisket, spicy chicken, pork, shrimp, and fish. If you want to experiment you can choose to grill frog legs, chicken hearts, and other good stuff. All you can eat on the weekends is about $20. The place is kind of small and parking can be limited due to being shared with other restaurants off of Convoy Street. I made a reservation for Sunday @ 1pm and there was a line. They called to ask me to move my reservation, which I declined to do so because I was hungry. Good stuff!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“BOMB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

You start by having miso soup and rice with your drink. You go to the buffet bar and pick out your meat and slap it on your table grill. Spicy sauces, ginger sesame oils, amazing stuff. Fresh veggies, good quality meat. The place was DEEEEELISH. I would most definitely go back…you walk out smelling of Korean BBQ but so worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

My family and I came here after searching for all-you-can-eat Korean BBQ. They had gone to one in Hawaii and were determined to find one locally. The service was great; very friendly and prompt. The variety and quality of food was great as were the sauces they offered. The signs on the walls were cute and artwork on the ceiling gave it a casual, friendly atmosphere. We'll definately be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeong Won Korean BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Jeong Won Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeong Won Korean BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.