We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try something new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muzita Abyssinian Bistro

Muzita Abyssinian Bistro
4651 Park Blvd, San Diego, CA 92116-2630
619-546-7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muzita Abyssinian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #219 of 4,043 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Adams
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, great service! We had lunch and it was quiet but for dinner you need reservations. Food is served family style and you eat it with a sponge bread with your hands. A great date place but as I would say not a first date! We had a mixed vegetarian dish with lentils and stewed vegetables that were great, my toddler loved them. Along with that we had a chicken special that had a juicy tender very flavorful chicken. I am not a fan of hot spicy food but this is not a burn your mouth spice and you can ask for it to be cooked more mild but it was perfect the way it was prepared. Lunch prices are around $10 a dish, very reasonable for the amount of food. Don't be scared to try something new, there wasn't anything weird on our plate just lots of delicious food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    38
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“For something really different, try this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great place not to be missed. Flavor packed meats, chicken, fish and vegetarian dishes are served family style. Injera, the Ethopian/Eritrean flat bread with a unique, spongy texture made out of teff flour is served up with everything. It acts as the delivery mechanism from plate to mouth - in lieu of a fork. Just like in Ethiopia. The place is "cottagy" small with a small outdoor area. Great service too. Will certainly be back.
We started off with the calamari and mushroom dish. Both great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!!! Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent service and very chilled out atmosphere. We have now been to this place multiple times and it has managed to always meet our expectations. I am vegetarian and there are many options to try out.
Food is overpriced but i would say its worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved our food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had very friendly service. We asked for suggestions as to what to order. Our waitress was helpful and explained everything well. I loved the spice level. The food was spiced great, not too hot but just right. We enjoyed the atmosphere and neighborhood. Parking was easy to find on the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ordered 6 main meals and were given 7 and charged for 7. We wanted a small bowl of rice for the kids and they charged us $2.50 for it! The food was very good but they seated us between the door and the bar and it was extremely hard to get in and out of the chairs. The door was left open behind us and the cold air was blowing on the children. they ended up having to change seats in the middle of dinner.
The wine was way over priced and the food portions were small for the price.
In the end it cost us $21.00 per meal (I still can;t figure that out as there was only one on the menu for 21.00) plus $8 each for dessert, and $16.00 for coffee for the 5 adults who ordered it.

I would go back but not with a group as it is too hard to watch what they are charging you! And they add 18% tip on top of the tax , not just the meal fee. I think this is wrong, why would you pay tip on tax?

so food was great, price was high and they charged us and served us for items we did not order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muzita Abyssinian Bistro also viewed

Been to Muzita Abyssinian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muzita Abyssinian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.