We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mudville Flats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mudville Flats
Save
You added Mudville Flats to your Saves list
747 Tenth Ave., C, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at Mudville Flats. Picked it for its close proximity to Petco Field and the Gas Lamp District. Didn't realize the East Village would have so much to offer, too.

We so enjoyed our time there. Comfy bed, great seating area, loved the original claw-foot tub. Nice little touches like games, books, and menus from the area restaurants. Didn't use the kitchen since there were so many restaurants so close, but was nice to have the option. The secure, free parking was a huge plus!

Loved meeting Mike. He took really good care of us, showing us all the details of the property and tips about the area. Even called mid-stay to make sure we were having a good time and to see if he could do anything for us. Were sorry we missed meeting Linda as she had to be away.
Next time we're in San Diego, we'll be back to Mudville Flats!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
97
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Mudville Flats is small (three-room) hotel that presents a viable alternative for those who prefer not to stay in standard, box-like accommodations. Location is good -- in a regentrifying part of town, close to a number of good restaurants and bars. It is about a five minute walk to the ballpark, and a 15 minute walk to the convention center (this distance was good, since the local restaurants were not full of conventioneers). The owners are very pleasant, and are committed to the comfort of their guests. Our room was done in craftsman style, and was spacious (almost a suite). The king-size bed was extremely comfortable, we had a full kitchen (a bit of overkill, since we had no intentions of cooking), and there was free wireless and a flat screen TV. The room also had a great deck off the back, although the small courtyard it faced was very noisy when the neighbors were eating outside. On the negative side, the room was quite dark, the bathroom was below par, and the entire place smelled a little funky (leaving the windows open helped a lot). Overall, a good stay in an interesting part of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the Mudville Flats, staying in Unit D, which is on the second floor in the back. The best things about this room were (a) an absolutely, perfectly comfortable King-size bed with good quality linens, (b) the arts & craft décor, which made this feel more like a home than a hotel room; and (c) far more space than the average hotel room. Linda and Mike were very welcoming and helpful (although we are pretty low maintenance).

As is common in vintage B&Bs, the bathroom could use updating. There is a small, claw foot tub with a curtain all around, equipped with a shower head about 6' off the ground; water temperature and pressure are good but it's tight quarters (and I am a small person). Towels are good size and thick (with extras in a linen closet in the bathroom). The rest of the bathroom is also small & cramped.

This is a "B," not a "B&B." No breakfast is provided. There are filter packs of coffee, as well as 1/2 & 1/2, sweetener, and tea bags in the kitchen. And Linda provided us with a few beers, which were appreciated. If you don't have a car (we did not), the closest grocery store is only 1 block away but it is a bargain store with spotty choices -- there were no English muffins or raisin bread available, for example. There is a Brooklyn Bagels another block away, where you can get good quality bagels and cream cheese.

Although the neighborhood seemed absolutely safe, petty crime is evidently an issue. There are deadbolt locks on the front door to the building and bars over the few windows in the room that open. In showing us around, Linda stressed the importance of remembering to relock the deadbolts every time we came & went. We are from Chicago and this did not freak us out but I mention it.

There is a wooden deck off the back of Unit D, accessible from the hallway, with a table where you can sit. When we were there, there was a large family group staying in a unit in another building who spent a lot of time in the late afternoon/ early evening on their patio backing onto the same space. They were very loud. Fortunately, their gatherings broke up around 7 pm. Otherwise, sleeping would have been a problem (although we could have closed the windows & run the air conditioning.)

Bottom line: we very much enjoyed our stay. Linda and Mike were very welcoming hosts. If you are open to lodging that is outside the cookie-cutter hotel room, give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently stayed at Mudville Flats for five nights while in San Diego for a convention. The California Craftsman style inn was just wonderful; immaculate, beautifully decorated with a big and comfy bed to rest on after many hours of walking.; a home away from home. The innkeepers, Linda and Mike, were gracious and always helpful. Linda met my cab as I arrived at Mudville Flats, carried my luggage to my room for me and later offered me a ride to the airport on the morning of my departure. I'm hoping to return to beautiful San Diego in the not too distant future and take my husband along for another stay at Mudville Flats! A true gem, as are Linda and Mike!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mudvillemike, Manager at Mudville Flats, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My sister & I stayed at Mudville Flats and we absolutely LOVED it! The room is beautiful, charming, inviting, cozy and serene. It feels like you're at home but it's so much nicer than your own! The bed is HUGE and so cozy, we slept so peacefully. We also felt very safe staying here!

We were amazed because everything we needed was in this room. You have a kitchen with pots & pans, stove, microwave, a fridge, utensils and more! We loved having this kitchen because it saved us so much money on food! We loved the closet space and it had a beautiful mirror so you can see your outfit. They had extra blankets, plenty of towels and a makeup mirror. There was not one thing missing from this room!

We picked up dinner from this yummy place called Kebabs. We brought it back to our room and ate it at the dining room table. It was so fun!!!

They have an outside area that is charming! We loved having our wine out there! You can eat out there anytime you want and there's a grill there too.

We LOVED the location because you are so close to everything and you can walk everywhere. There was a grocery store a couple blocks down along with coffee shops, restaurants and shopping!

It was such a pleasure meeting Mike & Linda! They are so warm and inviting that you feel you have known them forever! You feel loved and taken care of by them! Whatever you need they are there for you. They are truly genuine and happy to help you!

Mudville Flats is fabulous and we highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been to many B&Bs and Villas around the world, but this one in the Gaslamp is outstanding.
Mike and Linda preempted our every need and wish.
They also recommended the perfect places for us to visit.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Each of the four rooms in this small hotel is a fully functioning apartment. The apartments are nicely restored, not modern, but comfortable and quiet. Reliable internet and coffee in the room. There's no maid or room service but having a kitchen and nearby shops more than makes up for it.

There is a pretty patio and bikes to borrow.

The hotel is located a mile from the waterfront hotels and convention center but an easy walk, particularly given San Diego's perfect weather.

The owners live in the building and are welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Linda gave me a ride to the airport - what could be nicer.

The only downside for some would be that it lacks the amazing water views that the big hotels have.

Other than that - perfection. A nice break from sterile hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mudville Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudville Flats

Address: 747 Tenth Ave., C, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action Mudville Flats features century old charm built in the Classic California Craftsman style in 1905. Each Flat is its own large luxury apartment complete with a full size kitchen,heavenly California King size bed and full living rooms with comfortable high end furnishings. Mudville Flats provides free wi-fi,secure underground parking, 42"Hi-def lcd flat screen TV. Walking distance to all major city attractions, the Convention Center,Petco Park,Gaslamp Quarter,Harbor, Balboa Park,Little Italy.24 on-site concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mudville Flats Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudville Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.