We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat Yourself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mudville Flats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mudville Flats
Save
You added Mudville Flats to your Saves list
747 Tenth Ave., C, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Treat Yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My sister & I stayed at Mudville Flats and we absolutely LOVED it! The room is beautiful, charming, inviting, cozy and serene. It feels like you're at home but it's so much nicer than your own! The bed is HUGE and so cozy, we slept so peacefully. We also felt very safe staying here!

We were amazed because everything we needed was in this room. You have a kitchen with pots & pans, stove, microwave, a fridge, utensils and more! We loved having this kitchen because it saved us so much money on food! We loved the closet space and it had a beautiful mirror so you can see your outfit. They had extra blankets, plenty of towels and a makeup mirror. There was not one thing missing from this room!

We picked up dinner from this yummy place called Kebabs. We brought it back to our room and ate it at the dining room table. It was so fun!!!

They have an outside area that is charming! We loved having our wine out there! You can eat out there anytime you want and there's a grill there too.

We LOVED the location because you are so close to everything and you can walk everywhere. There was a grocery store a couple blocks down along with coffee shops, restaurants and shopping!

It was such a pleasure meeting Mike & Linda! They are so warm and inviting that you feel you have known them forever! You feel loved and taken care of by them! Whatever you need they are there for you. They are truly genuine and happy to help you!

Mudville Flats is fabulous and we highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
97
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been to many B&Bs and Villas around the world, but this one in the Gaslamp is outstanding.
Mike and Linda preempted our every need and wish.
They also recommended the perfect places for us to visit.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Each of the four rooms in this small hotel is a fully functioning apartment. The apartments are nicely restored, not modern, but comfortable and quiet. Reliable internet and coffee in the room. There's no maid or room service but having a kitchen and nearby shops more than makes up for it.

There is a pretty patio and bikes to borrow.

The hotel is located a mile from the waterfront hotels and convention center but an easy walk, particularly given San Diego's perfect weather.

The owners live in the building and are welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Linda gave me a ride to the airport - what could be nicer.

The only downside for some would be that it lacks the amazing water views that the big hotels have.

Other than that - perfection. A nice break from sterile hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent a week at Mudville flats. Everything was just perfect; the comfortable bed, the garden, the decorations. The location was close to public transportation and to the gas lamp district with its wonderful restaurants. The best thing about our stay was our hosts. We arrived late and Linda brought us some yogurt for our breakfast. We left on a 6am train and Linda insisted on driving us to the Amtrak station..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Mudville Flats for our honeymoon and it was a home-run of a choice. The rooms are beautiful, and each one has recently installed easy to use temperature controls so that you're not subject to the whims of the management. Mike and Linda were friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. Although not in a beautiful area of town, this is a terrific location for getting around to all of the attractions of the downtown area and beyond; it's easy access to I-5 and other major highways without being right on top of them. Although on Trip Advisor Mudville Flats falls in the "Bed & Breakfast" category, there is actually no breakfast. What there is instead is a full kitchen in each flat with 3 grocery stores in a 10 minute walk and lots of restaurants. This is actually a great set-up because it allows you maximum breakfast flexibility - you can have what you want, when you want it, where you want it, wearing whatever you want. There are parking spots in a garage across the street which come with the room - you should get a compact car if you can because one of the spots is meant for a compact car. If you can't, then tell Mike and Linda as soon as you can, so you can get the larger parking spot if possible. The building itself is a historic building, meaning that the original bathtubs are there - not large enough for an adult to take a bath, but easy to control the temperature for a shower using the two knobs. Mudville Flats provides easy access to the Gaslamp District without being right on top of it, so you don't have to deal with the noise. The same is true of Petco Park (baseball stadium), which has a nice park you can walk through even when it's the off season. The back has a gorgeous patio which attracts hummingbirds; there are also bikes there which you can ride for free down to the ferry to Coronado Island. Mudville Flats does not have an impersonal check-in desk, but rather Linda or Mike will go with you to your room to show you how everything works and where everything is in the building. Maps are in the room, and Mike and Linda are available by phone at any time for anything that comes up. When asked, they also provide great advice about any type of food you might want to find and the best way to get there. The rooms are very spacious, with a bedroom, kitchenette, and large living room. The beds themselves are also very large and comfortable. Mike and Linda are also quick to respond to e-mailed inquiries in advance of arrival. If you bring DVDs (though they have some upstairs), they can hook a DVD player up to the large TV in each room - much better than watching on a computer screen. There are not a huge number of outlets around, but how many things do you need to plug in at once? Finally, though it may seem like a small thing, not only do they provide you with beach towels, but the bath towels are very comfortable. Is Mudville Flats perfect? No. No place is. But it's about as close as you can hope to get.

Room Tip: Any room is good; if you tell Mike and Linda what you specifically want, they can put you in the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I stayed at Mudville Flats for 8 days over Christmas. I don't want to just repeat things that have already been said in other reviews but some things are worth repeating....!! Linda and Mike are truly awesome. They are the kind of people that you hang with and think, "Wow, I wish they were part of our family!" They are so chill and so accommodating....they are the heart and soul of Mudville Flats.....all of the rest is just icing on the cake. But,if you are like me, icing is important so, let's get to it. The bed was divine. Huge, comfy, warm and complete with a huge array of fabulous pillows in all proportions and weights so that even the pickiest of our group had several to cozy up against through the night. The fireplace story....my mother flew in for three days and she stayed in a flat as well. Hers came with a little rolling, portable fireplace. Oh, how we wanted one for our room too! Abracadabra....upon our return to our room...Linda had rolled her own fireplace into our room! This isn't just any fireplace...you can adjust the heat by degrees. Fabulous!! Ambiance and warmth all rolled into one little package. :) Now I will get to the downtown part....location, location, location!! The three must haves in real estate!! We have friends and family in all parts of San Diego and Mudville Flats is the perfect location for accessibility to everything San Diego has to offer. My husband's morning routine included a short walk to Starbucks so that he could bring us all back breakfast which we ate out on our private terrace overlooking Mudville's cute little backyard sanctuary. My daughter took her Nook out there to read and had to be pried away! Most nights we strolled downtown from our room to eat in the Gaslamp district. Oddly enough, we often ended the night at Seaport Village where we watched fire eaters, sword swallowers and finished the night with some decadent fudge from the fudge shop! Seriously, driving to iconic attractions or walking to "feel the heartbeat of San Diego," Mudville Flats is the location. I could obviously go on and on but let me finish with parking! Many hotels in the area charge $30.00 per night to park. ( I know because we checked into it!) Parking at Mudville Flats is FREE!!! Free parking downtown is a rare treat that we savored. Thank you Mudville for a fabulous Christmas!! The Lawrence Family

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and I can't wait to go back.
Mike and Linda are the perfect hosts, Linda took at least 30 minutes when we arrived to point out and how the cable, lights everything etc within the flat was operated.She also pointed out the best restaurants, attractions and highlights of the neighbourhood, you could tell she loved the area and wanted to make us feel at home too.

It really is the attention to details that made our stay special. The kitchen was well stocked with coffee, tea, milk etc. Maps, take-out menus, quality toiletries and even ear plugs were provided.

I really liked having the kitchen area available, it was well stocked enough you could prepare a mulit-course meal , although we only used it for making breakfast and preparing lunch to take to the zoo.
The location is wonderful, a short walk to everything but not touristy, there is a grocery store right down the street, parking is very safe and secure across the street.

I am incredibly happy we chose Mudville flats, the parking was included rather than $40 a day at some of the other hotels, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the area was quiet at night unlike around most of the hotels we looked at in the Gaslamp area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mudville Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudville Flats

Address: 747 Tenth Ave., C, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action Mudville Flats features century old charm built in the Classic California Craftsman style in 1905. Each Flat is its own large luxury apartment complete with a full size kitchen,heavenly California King size bed and full living rooms with comfortable high end furnishings. Mudville Flats provides free wi-fi,secure underground parking, 42"Hi-def lcd flat screen TV. Walking distance to all major city attractions, the Convention Center,Petco Park,Gaslamp Quarter,Harbor, Balboa Park,Little Italy.24 on-site concierge service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mudville Flats Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudville Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.