We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Downtown Lodge to your Saves list
San Diego Downtown Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1345 10th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

First room reeked of cigs, when we complained the staff said they would freshen it up... Instead we got an another room. It was nicer, but we did not get the microwave and fridge we paid for. So eventually we got another room with bums outside of it and with ants swarming everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    4
    7
    20
See reviews for
5
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our car was in a parking lot downtown and closed overnight, so we had to walk/ taxi around finding a cheap hotel at 4 am. When we got there, we paid up front and was walked to our room to find there was only a door handle and the key lock above the handle was GONE and you can completely see inside! I said this was unacceptable and the guy acted like it was no big deal, he said he would bring tape to cover it up, never brought the tape back.
There was a dead cockroach in the bathroom. When we got into bed, I couldn't sleep and 2 hours later we just got our stuff and left. Total for a room there was $99 and they expect you to have a door with a hole in it so people can peep in!? Unbelievable. I will be calling the manager today to get money back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

renovated with new furniture but dirty and stains all over the bed. you can hear foot steps upstairs not to mention the next door. you may be trouble sleeping if you have wrong neighbors like i did.
They said to pay in advance at check in and no refund. i wondered why.

Room Tip: stay away from any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The manager of the hotel was one of the reasons that made my stay worth while. Andrew Helsper was very accommodating. I ask for a microwave. He made it happen. I asked for an iron and ironing board. He made it happen. A very helpful, friendly man.

I came to SD and did not want to rent a car and just rely on the Trolly. The SD Downtown Lodge is only two blocks from a trolly stop. The hotel location made that totally possible.

The maid service was great. Every time I came back to my room, everything was tidy and in order.

It looked like the hotel was a recently renovated. That gave the room a clean and fresh feel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

What a horrible place.
Here are a list of reasons why you should not stay at downtown San diego lodge:
1) On check in I had to pay more money than expected because the hotel added on extra tax plus I had already paid for the first night as a deposit which they apparently said I hadn't (even tho it had come out of my bank and I had it on my reservation papers). So i had to pay again.
2) our first room had a faulty lock and they only way we could get in was to ask reception to let us in. we slept with our cases and a bedside table against the door as we backed onto a road and didn't feel safe with a faulty lock.
3) we switched rooms because of the lock and because a group of lads next door were up all night fighting and banging on doors. Both rooms were dirty, the bathrooms especially. They were in the middle of a revamp and there was dust everywhere, wires hanging out the walls, no curtains in our second room and the air conditioning unit had half the front missing
4) there was no hot water.
5) the cleaner stole my shampoo and conditioner then admitted it to the manager when I confronted them (altho the manager was lovely and gave me some money to buy more)
6)one member of staff (receptionist) was rude and wasn't very helpful altho I couldn't fault the manager.
7) it's not good value for money.

If your a group of lads looking for a place to kip after a night out then this is the place for you, altho a premier inn is just as cheap and a damn sight nicer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was under what looked to be some construction, we were told we were getting an upgraded room, but there were dirty raisers in the bathroom, bottle caps in the ac, roaches in the sink and on the floor.... and when we brought all this to thehotel mgr he said, what's the problem? We had to fight to get a full refund....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We decided last minute to stay here based on the reviews below, and it was fourth of july weekend so we didnt have much choice. We arrived to a major dissapointment, we were totally shafted when it cost $150 to stay in this hotel and its completely run down. Our room looked like it was in the middle of renovations, all our furniture was disheveled. There was absolutely no facilities or real accommodations at all. It looked like a bomb hit it, literally. Unfinished construction, in which case the room should have costed no more than fifty bux for the night, if even that!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Downtown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Downtown Lodge

Address: 1345 10th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Diego Downtown Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near the San Diego Convention Center, Balboa Park, Naval Training Center, Qualcomm Stadium, Point Loma Nazarene University, Miramar Naval Air Station and Old Town San Diego. The San Diego Downtown Lodge offers guests free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, wakeup service, free parking and small pets are accepted with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Downtown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Downtown Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.