We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Haven Inn to your Saves list
Beach Haven Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Wilder, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Prior to my trip to check-out, this hotel and staff provided a wonderful experience. I called prior to my stay to inquire on a few things and the general manager answered all of my questions and was not hurried in doing so - even asked me questions to ensure I had all the answers I needed. When we arrived, the staff was just as friendly and accommodating. The room was clean with plenty of towels. It is a short walk to the beach and to many fine establishments for food and drink. You probably do not need a car, but there is free parking at the hotel. Would definitely (and most likely will) stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to exceed our guest expectations and we are very glad to find out we did. All of the employees of the hotel work very hard to make our guests stay comfortable and we look forward to seeing you on your return trip.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    13
    14
    22
See reviews for
48
27
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My three children and I stayed here for five nights and we didn't want to leave. The inn is a small quaint place that is clean and well maintained. We loved the pool and the proximity to the beach. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, so once our car was parked (free parking is a bonus) we didn't need to use it again. What a perfectly relaxing vacation this was.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the awesome review! I am so happy that we were able to make your family trip a success. I am very proud of the staff at the Beach haven Inn. They work very hard to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of all of our guests. We look forward to your return visit next month.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room was newly painted, the furniture not worn or ragged. My family of 4 enjoyed 3 nights and had no issues w/ the property and Mgmt was there to help anyway they could. Parking is limited, and there's a lot of foot traffic alongside the dedicated spaces. We dodged vomit on the ground (not ours) next to my vehicle one morning, and found a bong in the front yard of a house nearby the next. Overall, it was a pleasant stay for the money, and was recommended to us by a co-worker who swears by it. He also does bongs and vomits in driveways.. We've been back to the San Diego area several times since that trip and stayed elsewhere, more to just get a feel for what else is available, but the Beach Haven is worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our family of 4 was looking for an affordable place near the beach in November 2013. I spent many hours researching possibilities and finally found the Beach Haven Inn. We booked a suite for 4 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations. It was clean, spacious, had enough kitchen supplies for our needs (including stove, small fridge, toaster, microwave, utensils), was a block from the beach, had a comfortable bed, and had free parking. We did run into a problem with the bathtub, but management quickly got it fixed. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking to go back this summer!

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in April 2014. The staff were beyond helpful, very friendly and just lovely to speak too! The location is perfect as it's just a step back from the beach and walking distance to everything you need while staying in PB. If I come back to PB I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it as it's definitely value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for five-star review of our hotel. The staff appreciates the guest recognition. We seek to provide great value to our guests and are pleased to see that your family had such a great time during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was not sure where to stay upon planning my trip to SD as we had never been there before. I just knew I didn't want to stay among a million chain hotels with no personality near the freeway just to be a few minutes closer to SeaWorld ect. We had arrived after the front desk had closed (10 pm) but they left the key exactly where they said they would. They also left the lights on for us. It was a fine room. The kitchen was well equipped for what we needed. We just really needed a fridge, sink and coffee maker, but there was lots more. We had a one bedroom suite and that bed was very comfy. The bathroom was large and well equipped as well. My kids slept on the living room couch/bed. The place was overall quite clean, I would say that perhaps they should have purchased couches that were easier to clean. Ours was a little dirty, like just some food stuck on, nothing major. You have to remember that this is an older motel that has been nicely renovated, so there is a lot of layers of paint on the walls and the odd chip showed it. The staff was great. If you needed anything from housekeeping, they would give it to you. If housekeeping was gone, then the front desk would give you anything you needed. The motel is located in a fantastic area! Lots of great restaurants, the beach was a block down. Grocery stores, coffee shops ect all within walking distance. Really a great place all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your fantastic review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Haven Inn.
We value the feedback from our guests and are happy to hear guests enjoying the hotel.
We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here last year and after searching for days for a hotel we found this. I even cancelled my reservation at the Catamaran for it. Only because the costs were much cheaper here and the rooms were bigger! And I didn't regret it at all. The room was well maintained, I'm a very clean person and for a hotel it was very clean. The bathrooms were nice, lots of towels, the bed was nice and comfy to sleep on. And so was the pull out sofa, it was nice to have a kitchen and extra space. It was right off the beach. Lots of places within walking distance fun things to do. I will be staying here again for sure, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the five-star review and we are so proud to have provided you with an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The staff works very hard so our guests have a memorable stay and it is a joy for them when our guests post heartfelt experience.
We all look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Inn

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.