We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I go home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Haven Inn to your Saves list
Beach Haven Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“When I go home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am from Pacific Beach and moved away (sadly) 5 years ago. On a trip back to see family, I chose to stay at the Beach Haven Inn. I've walked past this place a million times since it is across the street from what is arguably the best Taco Shop in all of SoCal (Taco Surf). This place reminds me of one of my first apartments in PB, no fancy cards to get into your room, they have keys...and deadbolts. You can clearly see that this place was not intended to be a hotel but was converted to one. That is it's charm. Rent a room, grab your board and go hit the beach. You will get a feel for what it is like to be a local. This place is a few blocks from anything you will need in PB. If you need to be pampered and have valet parking and 5star dining room...go elsewhere. If you want a nice semi quiet place to shack up while you hit the surf, sand and bars, this is the spot!

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 2nd floor. The floors are creaky so if you are downstairs, you might hear it, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome you back to Pacific Beach and appreciate your kind review of the Beach Haven Inn. We have done some upgrades to the property and will continue to do so, but the staff and myself believe the property will continue to maintain its cozy atmosphere and charm. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again the next time you visit family and friends in your hometown of Pacific Beach. Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you soon!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    13
    14
    22
See reviews for
51
29
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is really an amazing place. The rooms are terrific because they're all studios, which gives you a separate place to eat, sleep, watch tv or visit with guests. In addition, their prices are the lowest in the area--and their location is unbeatable: on the beach block at the most beautiful, scenic, and convenient area in Pacific Beach. Finally, the staff is exceedingly pleasant, helpful, courteous, and personable. I have stayed there for the last four years (always from Xmas through the first week of the new year) and have been consistently delighted by the location, rooms, and the way I've been treated. The only problem is that sometimes other guests are drunk, noisy, loud, and obnoxious--and their presence can certainly impair, if not altogether ruin your time there. All the rooms are in a courtyard with the pool in the middle, so if guests in the pool are loud, it's as if they're right in your own room with you. Otherwise, though, this place is an outstanding value in a great location with wonderfully hospitablel staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We really appreciate you compiling such a compelling argument for staying at the Beach Haven when visiting San Diego, more specifically Pacific Beach. A majority of the rooms do have a separate bedroom and the location is quite good! There is a terrific view at the end of the block on the boardwalk. Being elevated (on a cliff) makes for a great view to watch sunsets. The staff is interested in the guests and takes pride in making sure each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for the generous review.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Beach Haven is a nice place but the name shouldn't have beach in it - no beach view though it WAS quite close to the beach. Very clean and well appointed, the only issue we had was the lack of Wifi in room 106 which was a minor thing.

A kettle would also be good!

Didn't spoil the stay at San Diego - its a beautiful city to visit!

Room Tip: If you want wifi. don't get Room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

our stay at the Beach Haven Inn was very pleasant - located one block from a great beach -restaurants and bars- even if you didn't have a car you could ride a rental bike. The rooms have been updated and the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was old but clean and it functioned. would recommend it

Room Tip: if you want good location and value - STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Beach Haven Inn. We’re pleased you had a pleasant stay in the renovated room or suite you occupied and the beds were comfortable. As you allude to in your comments the location of the property is outstanding. The staff and myself hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sister and I recently spent 5 nights at Beach Haven Inn. The hotel has a great location and a friendly staff but the rooms are a little sketchy. The first room they put us in had a toilet that didn't work and a "vanity" that consisted of a sink with plywood around the bottom of it. We moved to another room with a working toilet and a real vanity but the bathroom left something to be desired. There were gouges in the walls, the wallpaper was hung haphazardly, the sink faucet was very corroded, the toilet lid and seat old and the molding around the floor was dirty. The bedroom, except for the carpet, was nice and the beds were comfortable. There was a round convex mirror hung above each bed but we couldn't figure out their purpose. They were too high to use as mirrors and their shape distorted your image. There was a kitchen, which we would use for $10.00 per night. We elected not to use it but they gave it to use free of charge after we mentioned that our room hadn't been cleaned one day. The kitchen had nice tile floors, new cabinets and new appliances; however it appeared that the walls hadn't been painted when it was remodeled. Our main impression was that they tried to remodel but didn't complete the job. It's a shame because the people were nice and the location great, but we'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for the taking the time to provide valuable feedback for us. The staff and myself are disappointed you weren’t satisfied with your room. The bathrooms in the rooms you occupied are scheduled for renovation. Thank you for the feedback and if you would provide us with the opportunity to accommodate you in the future it would be our pleasure to have you back.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Beach Haven Inn to round up our roadtrip and we both enjoyed our stay a great day. Granted, the inn is not a 5-star uber-fancy, and thus 'generic' place, but it's got its unique charm. Apart from its convenient location and fair rates, it is very clean. All of our towels were changed every day even though we hadn't put them on the floor. Our suite was spacious and our kitchenette was also fully stocked. Once again, everything was clean. Moreover, the staff was competent, helpful and even jovial. Since we were unfamiliar with the immediate neighborhood, we asked the staff for recommendations regarding breakfast, dinner, etc. ALL of their suggestions panned out (e.g. Kono's down at the Crystal Pier, or Cafe 976 on Felspar St.)
All in all, we were very satisfied and should we ever be in the San Diego area again, we'll make sure to secure a room at the Beach Haven Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the property. The staff and myself are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the property clean, a good value for your money, and a desirable location. The rooms with kitchens include silverware, limited pots and pans, a microwave, stove top (some rooms have ovens as well), a refrigerator, and a dining table and chairs.
There are many quality restaurants in the area that the staff recommends and we’re pleased the staff referrals met your expectations and more.
Thank you again for your kind comments!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived around 7pm to one of the least friendly front desk people of all time. He tried to tell me that since my reservation said 2 people but I put 3 people on the list I had to pay 10 dollars extra a night. That isn't what I was told on the phone and he said "who did you talk to??" I had no idea. But he acted like a total jerk and said "oh I know who YOU talked to, FINE" Thanks...jerk. Get into the room... the a/c is a window unit with a gap...so yes there were bugs. The outlet in the room ( I had room 108) closest to the couch was not on correctly and we couldn't plug anything into the outlets without things falling out of them. The rooms themselves were ok. There were stains on the comforter, hairs on the pillow cases and the floor felt dirty everywhere. We should have taken pictures of how dirty our feet got just from walking around but we didn't. The fridge was a mini fridge. The water in the shower was very particular, either very hot or very cold. The view faced a building next door. The parking was ABSURD!!!! Not enough spaces so they REALLY shouldn't even advertise parking. The fold out bed in the living room was beyond awful, it was LOUD and uncomfortable, bars in all the wrong places, lumpy just terrible. The place was NOISY. Don't get a downstairs room if you plan to sleep, my room was just outside of the hot tub (it's a square so they all are) As soon as anyone was outside in that area talking you couldn't help but hear it. The walls were paper thin so you literally hear EVERYTHING going on. This place has a 72 hour cancellation policy otherwise I wouldn't have stayed there after I read the reviews. When I went to check out the girl didn't ask "how was your stay" I can only imagine she knows she works in a dump and that isn't a question she should really ask. Also they had actual keys, what a pain, if you lose them they charge you, if you are not out at EXACTLY 11 they charge you. We over paid for sure. I wish I would have made a fuss and left and got my money back because it was an awful experience. The ONLY good thing about this place is the location. It's close to the beach but loud loud and nasty. Also the housekeeper...banged on the door, which was locked from the inside for no less than 10 minutes yelling "HOUSEKEEPING" hey crazy, it's locked...from the inside...we don't check out for another day...leave us alone. Evidently our do not disturb sign fell off. At most decent places once they realize it's locked from the inside they leave you alone, this lady was a psycho about yelling it and trying the key and moving the door handle just rude and pathetic customer service. http://youtu.be/yX1WPLSrtaA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Inn

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.