We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FAMILY OWNED BUSINESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
1 review
“GREAT FAMILY OWNED BUSINESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Thanks to an exceptional staff. My daughter and I had to meet in San Diego for appointments and needed affordable motel for five nights. This family owned motel exceeded my expectations. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. Coffee and pastry provided on the patio was exacltly what we needed to get our day started.
When in San Diego again this hotel will be my first choice. We felt safe and protected.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    289
    63
    12
    8
See reviews for
169
436
95
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This motel is great if all that you really need is somewhere to stay at night before heading out to the sights in San Diego. Rooms are tad on the small side but very very clean. Muffins, tea, coffee and OJ are outside for a quick breakfast in the morning. Free wireless internet is a plus

There's a view of Fisherman's Landing, and we were able to see the July 4th fireworks from our balcony too!

Staff at the motel are really helpful, and we were able to use one of their lockers for our things on the day we checked out as we were going to Seaworld and didnt want to bring everything in the car.

Rates were great too- about $100/night and it had everything that we needed (clean room and comfy bed) and was also very close to the Zoo and Seaworld.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapooh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

After researching on several places, we have decided to stay at dolphin motel because we read about its excellent service and it's very near the places of interest that we wanted to visit.

True enough, the staff were reallyyy friendly and helped us with our heavy luggage. They kept telling us that we could switch to a room with a better view on the next day if we wish to, but we declined it because we have to take the stairs and it would be a hassle to do so with all our heavy luggage. And they said it's fine and that they would help us with it. (:

We were lucky to arrive on 4th July, so we asked the owner where is the best place to view the fireworks. He told us where it was and drew a map to show us the exact location. Indeed it turned out to be a really great view and we watched 3 to 4 simultaneous fireworks! On top of that, we spoke to 2 ladies and they said they drove all the way there just to watch the fireworks. For us, we just have to walk a distance from where Dolphin Motel is.

The next day, the owner recommended where to have breakfast and even drove us there because we weren't sure of how to make our way there. The breakfast was indeed a gd one. He also drove us to the National Cabrillo Monument and that saved us alot of trouble and time on navigating our way around. The view is so AWESOME anyone who goes to San Diego has to go there!

The staff were extremely helpful and provided us with alot of tips on how to get around and which places we can go to with the limited time left in our stay. On our final day before checking out, the owner once again drove us to Shelter Island because we were pressed for time but wanted to visit a place before leaving beautiful San Diego. The owner and staff of Dolphin Motel have indeed gone the extra mile to make our stay an extremely pleasant, comfortable and fuss-free one.

A place as beautiful as San Diego deserves a second trip there. I will not hesitate to stay in Dolphin Motel again and will recommend this place to anyone who wants an affordable, comfortable place to stay with excellent staff to boot!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed at this motel during a recent visit to San Diego because of the reviews on this site. While I wouldn't rate my stay as highly as most for this motel, I would recommend it as a clean, inexpensive, centrally located place to stay in San Diego. As others have said, the rooms are small, but tidy and everything was in working order. Also as stated, the owners were nice and very helpful with suggestions of activities (one even provided me a coupon for the San Diego zoo). A couple of pesky inconveniences---as our room was situated in the corner, there were no chairs placed outside of our rooms if we wanted to sit outside to enjoy the marina. We would have had to sit in front of other guests' rooms. This seemed to just be true of the corner rooms. Also, as the rooms were small, the air conditioner was directly at the head of the bed. Rooms could get stuffy at night (I happen to prefer air conditioning to the windows open at night). Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at this motel and although the rooms were very basic they were extremely clean so had no complaints there. This is an older style motel and the rooms were a little tired. The main complaint was extremely noisy air conditioning units and as we were on the end of the block on the first floor we could hear the air conditioning unit in the room beneath us vibrating on the wall all night! We asked to be moved, but was told that all rooms were similar and it would not be worth moving. Having said that the owners were extremely friendly, particularly the older gentleman who couldn't have been more helpful with local information regarding restaurants etc. If you are only staying a couple of nights and can put up with the air conditioning noise, would recommend this motel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Sorry about the a/c vibration. This is truly our first complaint-we will investigate and fix it !-- In motels/hotels with wall/window mounted A/C units there will be the natural working sounds of the units. We hope this good guest would return--we will make it right--ask for alan -the owner--And we do appreciate the critique. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

The Dolphin is very clean & friendly...Family owned! The rooms are small but adequate.
At first my wife was a bit hesitant, however after the first nite she exclaimed we gatta stay at more of these family owned hotels. Staff superb. Free coffee, OJ, pastries in the a.m.
Overlooking the Marina with nice restaurants & Deep sea fishing charters. Public trasnportation was only one block to take us to Sea World. Little things like calling a cab to take us to the airport was a nice touch. Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice view of the Marina.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Dolphin has very clean, well appointed rooms, and a nice sized bathroom. Great location near to the marina with a choice of restaurants, and the bus into the centre stops about 10 yards away. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, which always makes a great difference to any stay. Good continental breakfast. Free use of a laptop with WiFi connection was also an added unexpected bonus. Doubt you'll find better value for money in the area.

One word of warning - if you're not coming by car, its better to get public transport to the motel, which is regular and good if you're arriving from the centre - we got thoroughly ripped off by a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.