We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to check this out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had to check this out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I normally stay on Shelter Island, but I was trying to save money this visit & Dolphin is top rated on Trip Advisor. It is exactly what it says it is...a clean, simple, friendly budget motel. It had everything I needed & was within walking distance to many local places. The only downside was thin walls & it is next to a well-traveled road.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you good guest for sharing our motel on tripadvisor.
You are very generous to us!
Your review is balanced & straight forward. All future readers will get an idea of what to expect from our motel.
This busy summer month is starting to get busier, as Comic Convention is approaching.
With the festivities comes large groups attending Comic Con, and we do our best to keep the noise down after 9:00pm.
We are an older motel, so our 24-hr staff regularly patrol the property to ensure no loud noise & T.V. late at night. We do what we can about noise.
Once again, thank you proctor992 for sharing our motel on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    272
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
158
408
88
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I would like to keep this little gem a secret, but judging from their high occupancy all the time, looks like the secret is out. I can only echo previous reviews. The location, value and cleanliness all first rate. Add helpful, friendly owners, and a really nice continental breakfast, and you have all you need for a really terrific stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing about us: Right you are!
Tripadvisor has provided guests with insider tips on travel destinations.
It is also the most transparent mechanism that levels the playing field in the hotel business. All locations are subject to guest's evaluation: be it good or bad.
We hope all our future guests are as generous as you guys.
From reading about our motel on tripadvisor, any 1st-time travelers or return guests, already know which rooms are preferred & what to expect. That has brought many good things to our motel (as expectations won't be blown out of proportions) and our guests won't be surprised about what accommodations/features we "don't offer".
As always, please call us way in advance for the best availabilities, especially during the busy summer season.
Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had a great stay at the dolphin motel everything is close by. great location for your buck . Also great customer service i had a great 3 night stay everything in the room is white so u can tell what u are sleeping on u cant beat that. .. thats all that matters to me is cleanliness and the buck the owners are very helpful. ... also they have have a great continental breakfest

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you Norma for considering our motel during our recent weekend.
We appreciate you guys giving our motel a shot & I did recall you spoke with the owners and learning about tripadvisor.com
For all your future travels anywhere, tripadvisor offers customer-centered reviews & recommendations.
It is (in our opinion) the #1 choice for traveler tips as it is written by travelers: for travelers.
Please call us way in advance for best availability, Comic Convention is around the corner this July & prices are at their highest; 150,000 extra visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were celebrating my husbands and I birthdays.. We had booked this hotel stay a month in advance and when we got there they remembered us. that was a nice treat. they were soo nice. that5 day we had realized that we didn't bring our keys to unlock our bikes. when we ask them if they had anything to help they radioed it to another worker and he was there by our truck to help us out. he was so nice and helpful. the room was great we didn't need much because we were not going to be staying there except to sleep . Everything was nice the little fridge was a pleasant to see and it worked great.. the shower was great.. The next morning when we went to get our breakfast it was yummy. and friendly people and the staff came out to see if we needed anything.. We will be back for sure.. And as for the price.. it was great and they don't jack up there prices just because it was the 4th of July weekend.. it was the same. price the whole weekend..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you Sebastian & Michelle for choosing our motel to be a part of your celebration. The 4th of July fireworks went well & all our guests were satisfied they could see from our motel, or walk down Shelter Island for an up-close view.
We are one of the few truly family-owned, family-operated places near Downtown San Diego.
Our hard working owners Alan & Holly have kept a steady hard-working schedule every day: diligently coming down to the motel & making sure things run smoothly. They have a very hands-on approach, as well as a superior dedication that reflects positively on all our staff here. We hope our efforts will ensure such good guests like yourself (and future guests) consider our motel as a budget alternative. It is you guys that keep our business alive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is well located in a nice area near the marina and not far by car from the old town and sea world. The staff and the owners are very friendly and welcoming.

The property itself is dated from the outside and little bit in the inside. we were couple with 2 kids and the room was bit small for as but the balcony of our room is nice and great spot to have the small breakfast.

In terms of value for money this place is definitely a great place to stay

Room Tip: Room 28 have balcony facing the marina - nice spot to sit and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate you sharing our motel to fellow tripadvisor readers, many of whom will be looking for a budget-friendly location in San Diego for their upcoming vacation/business stay.
We get very busy during the summer season & urge all our guests to book way in advance (2+ months in advance for best availability).
You have chosen wisely to make use of our Room #28, the upstairs with 2 Beds & a little balcony that overlooks the harbor across the street. We apologize if it is a bit small, it is our biggest room that can accommodate 2 adults & 2 kids.
Once again, thank you guys for considering our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Visiting USA from Australia in May- June we chose The Dolphin for the last 4 nights of our trip June 21st to June 25th and had a great stay.

Rooms were small but clean and TV is locked at low volume which would be essential for late night noise issues.

This motel is what it is and depicted well in the sites photos, if you are looking for any type of luxuries then you will need to stay elsewhere and pay more, It is a clean room comfortable bed with small but adequate breakfast included and friendly owners and staff who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

There are plenty of places to eat within a short walking distance ranging from cheap to medium priced,easy drive anywhere from this location with plenty of onsite parking,a very short walk to the main st Rosecrance (sp) for public transport into town with Old Town San Diego being quite close.

This Motel is in a very nice location next to fisherman's landing jetty and it can be almost "Sleepy" at times when you drive around the streets and is very quiet during the night and day even weekends but still busy with people quietly going about their business.

It has no in room coffee maker and coffee/tea was only really available at breakfast but reception will provide you with bottle water each day free of charge.

Power points were not that many in the room so you will need a power board if you want to charge all your hi tech stuff at once.

We would not hesitate to stay again as its great value for the price but readers of the reviews must realise this is an older style motel and not a modern Hotel with all the amenities.

This motel suited both us and our needs and given we were travelling in USA for over a month the price was great too.

The only one small criticism I have is that on the first day something was dropped on the clean white bed sheet that left a red stain in a few places,i think it may have been some candy that fell from a bag or pocket on arrival. These stains remained on the sheets until we left?
I am quite happy to use the same sheets in any motel or even hotel for the duration of my stay but I thought the cleaning staff should have perhaps changed the sheets in this instance as the stains were visible even after the bed was made up for 4 nights!

All in all we had a very pleasant enjoyable stay at Dolphin and San Diego and would not hesitate to stay again or recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms facing the Jetty and marina are well worth the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Your review is detailed & to the point. Future readers of tripadvisor would take this review seriously when considering our motel. Sorry about the red stain, We really really try our best for cleanliness & our housekeepers may not thoroughly inspect the sheets. Do not hesitate to inform our 24-hr staff or housekeeper if you would like the sheets changed anytime; at any hotel/motel, it is customer satisfaction! Thanks again for setting straight the point we are located in a quiet street area as noise & quiet a concern for many many noise sensitive guests. One time I remember we had some young college guests who wanted "a quiet room to sleep", then used it to party, thus causing noise for others! Very funny situation.
You are correct, our T.V's do have volume limiter, which is good for the peace & quiet, yet we do occasionally get complaints from guests who are hard of hearing, and want it to be very loud. Hope you guys will visit San Diego in the future & consider our motel as an affordable budget alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My daughter and I came to San Diego to attend a retirement ceremony,We don't know our way around SD but we knew we needed a room close to Rosecrans and Roosevelt streets. I had a list of hotels in the area and discovered the Dolphin while I was reading hotel reviews. I liked what I read and booked a room for possibly 2 nights. I was informed that I could cancel within 48 hours with no charge. As it turned out I did need to cancel the Friday booking.No problem. The staff could not be nicer, There was a feeling that each person we had contact with was an owner, they were all that cordial. The room was small,very white and very clean. Be aware the beds are quite firm.
Breakfast on the patio was just right. The price was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you kind guest for giving our motel a try.
You are very generous to offer information about us on tripadvisor.
As a budget motel, we hope our future guests will take that into consideration, as luxury is not our forte.
Yes, we recommend Point Loma Seafoods across the street to all our guests, they would order a Fish Sandwich (which in my opinion needs some hot sauce! It does taste rather bland).
The locals also order some filet from the "Fish Market" to cook dinner, caught off the oceans here.
Once again, we thank you for writing about us & hope you will consider our motel next time in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Economy Motel since 1977. Basic very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.