We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad at all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not too bad at all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Smaller rooms. Must be quiet after hours, as you can hear quite a bit. Great staff, super assertive about helping you plan your visit and maximize your San Diego experience in a very friendly way, offering tips and advice at the free breakfast in the morning that consists of muffins bananas coffee yogurt and juice. Still giving this super clean and quaint place two thumbs up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you Daniel for sharing your recent stay at the Dolphin with all future tripadvisor readers.
Our owners Alan + Holly send their regards and appreciate the personal courtesy you have extended to us
Being a budget friendly motel, we cater to many of our guests who visit San Diego for brief business trip, or a few days extended vacation
As the weather is almost always sunny, our biggest compliment comes from giving our good guests the 411 on local sights & attractions
Do not hesitate to shoot us an e-mail in the future if your planning to visit our corner of America,
we would still be around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    285
    61
    12
    8
See reviews for
168
432
93
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We needed a place to stay with a budget in mind so we checked on our phones reading reviews and the Dolphin Motel popped up with soaring reviews with good pricing most motels now these days cost over $150 and since being here for one day its an awesome place quiet and serene placed in the best spot so most things you need are close including the attractions. The staff here are real nice guys amazing people willing to go out of their way to help you and they provide 24 hour security they also provide a free breakfast in the morning outside that's nice and calming to enjoy cable is provided and free wifi the rooms are clean. This is a respectable establishment with honest working people running it. I will tell my family and friends about this place whenever they want to see San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We're so glad you found our motel based on tripadvisor!
Thank you for sharing your recent stay to all our future guests
Hope all goes well with your new deployment in Pendleton, please drop us a line some time when your in the area for the weekend
Once again, thank you very much for giving our motel a try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you do not need 5 Star facilities or services, the Dolphin Hotel is perfect for business or pleasure. My wife and I spent a full week here while we checked out the beaches and many San Diego sights. CLEAN throughout; convenient; very comfortable bed; TV with cable that worked; great shower; breakfast in the courtyard as the sun came up. The rooms are not large, but how many luxury hotels provide 3 luggage stands and a serious closet? Don't waste your time and money elsewhere! Oh, the owner and staff are all full of tips to make your visit to San Diego more efficient and successful than imagined.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room, #33, which was wonderful to wake up with the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It's good to hear from you guys again Mr. & Mrs. K!
We do appreciate the review you wrote about our motel
Our hard working owners have been in business for the last 38 years & know San Diego inside and out.
Every morning they diligently greet all our good guests and give tips on what to see & how to maximize their time here in San Diego
Most of our guests spend a limited time, naturally they would like to make the most of it while seeing what San Diego has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

地方有些小但很干净,整洁。员工很热情,THOMAS看到我们是中国人很开心帮了我们很多忙,很感谢他,小旅馆在码头边上,日出很美。
The motel is not too big but very clean and tidy. All staff are friendly. esp THOMAS helped us a lot. Many thanks to him. The motel is located by the port. Sunrise is really beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many thanks to you guys for staying at our motel
San Diego is quiet place to visit for the weekends
Wishing you & your parents good health and a pleasant trip back home.
And please return to visit U.S. in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband, son, and I just returned from a six night stay at the Dolphin Motel, and we all agree we are going back! The room was tidy, smelled clean, and breakfast was very pleasant. Parking is monitored, and the staff was professional, friendly, and very helpful. There's also a good place just across the street behind Point Loma Sportfishing,to eat locally caught seafood ,at reasonable prices; Mitch's Seafood. The Dolphin Motel is located within 15 minutes of driving distance from many of San Diego's top attractions. The icing on the cake was free wifi! Since we didn't go on vacation to spend it in our room, the Dolphin Motel was perfect. Clean, comfortable, friendly, and an excellent location. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Our owners & staff can't thank you enough to supporting our location on tripadvisor
This review will give future guests an idea of what we have to offer
Yes, we recommend Mitch's or Point Loma Seafoods, they are right across the street and offer the local catch of the day which is caught right off the ocean here.
Only catch is they close at 7:00pm
Being family-owned & operated, we treat all our guests like family
There's no formalities here, we have guests walking around barefooted!
Once again, thank you for your kindness in taking the time to write about us
We would love to have you come back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Girlfriend & I wanted to spend the New Years in downtown San Diego
Found this place online and the price was good ($60 something), didn't want to wait last minute & drive around looking for a hotel
Arrived in the afternoon 2 days before to enjoy the sights, was greeted by a very friendly young man who showed us some webcams & directions to his "popular attractions"
The fireworks were great, made so more visible by the illuminated harbor fog that evening
We arrived back to the motel and their was a quiet sign in the courtyard
Which was good cause all we wanted was peace & quiet
Overall a great find. Will be back year

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We're so glad you chose our motel for a quick New Years stay-over
Tripadvisor is great in that it acts as a matchmaker for customers needs & hotel/motel qualification.
We are a small-time operation, so nothing fancy or grandiose about our location
Our hard working owners keep a tight running camp
They pay close attention to every detail for the sake of our guests' satisfaction
Once again, we would love to have you come back to San Diego in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

After first arriving in San Diego and having the worst experience with our hotel,we check out and then checked into the dolphin motel. They were more than helpful when we walked up into reception to see if they had any rooms available. It was late at night and we just wanted to go to bed! He had a room available for the night but we would have to change rooms the following morning. That was fine by us! He took us up to our room and told us to come to breakfast the following morning in the courtyard.
We walked down to breakfast and were greeted by the owner of the motel, he was lovely and offered so many different hints and ideas of things to do whilst there.
Overall they were all very professional and friendly. I would stay there without a doubt if I visited San Diego again! Thank you all for turning a bad experience around to a positive one :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
And you definitely made our day Ms. J.!
Our hard-working owners & staff thank you for telling future tripadvisor readers about our place.
In terms of room size & price we can't compare with the other establishments because we occupy a more humble niche.
I'm so glad you saw our sign & gave us a chance that evening!
Please contact us as far ahead as possible during the summer busy season.
We will always welcome your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.