We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location amazing value super stay ...:-))))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 269 hotels in San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location amazing value super stay ...:-))))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel we are touring the west coast and picked this hotel after reading the reviews .... What a great choice situated right in the marina 5 min walk from loads of shops and restaurants and only a 10 min drive into town. We had a car so not sure about other transport. On the first morning the owner introduced himself and gave us a map of things that you must do in San Deigo.... The staff are super helpful and friendly and can't do enought to help.
The rooms by American size maybe small but being from England they are perfect clean a/c fridge .... Fantastic ... And breakfast is included it's great to get a coffee in the morning as most US hotels don't have tea and coffee in the room like we do back home .... A great value for money hotel in a great location ...:-)))) very happy thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Samantha, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us
Our hard working owners Alan & Holly are so enthusiastic to hear your kind words of praise
It is what makes their day
Quite frankly we specialize as a budget motel, and we hope all our future guests can see us for our true value
And it is nice guests like yourself that are a perfect fit for us
Hope to see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    268
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
152
394
86
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights and it was enjoyable. The location is good just few min drive to all important attractions, the price tag is good too.

The first impression you get when you enter the room is white white and white from linens, furniture etc so you know the scope of hiding is almost negligible. The motel is pretty clean and nice with decent breakfast(not best though and can be improved)

The icing on the cake would have to be the people who are nice enough to walk to you during breakfast and greet with smile and help us decide what to do in San Diego. The owner suggested us few great locations and even gave us a map and thanks god we did those and it was nice.

Rooms are a bit smaller, just good enough for two or maybe a small kid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Divtadav, Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about our little motel. You pretty much described in so many words the formula we use to be succesful. A clean-inexpensive room with a great location and even better service. With one caveat the rooms are no frills -small--but very clean. Hope to see you again where we will try to earn a "5" rating from you good folks.--------Best regards to you Alan Murdock -and my dad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here as a result of Trip Advisor reviews.

The good points were the cost, location, exceptionally helpful staff and cleanliness of the room.

The only negatives were that the room and bathroom were on the smaller side (the queen and single bed were a bit of a squeeze but manageable) and we had to sit outside to get reliable wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Adele for your recent stay at our motel
We provide modest accommodations for our guests and always appreciate input
We are glad to have been rated favorably by good guests like yourself who are looking for budget accommodations
It is true our rooms are small, and in this case a Queen and a Single size bed for 3 guests in your party.
For larger groups it might be better to have separate rooms, although we frequently get large families who want to stay in 1 room all together; not really sure if we can accommodate those cases
Please contact our 24-hour staff for these inquiries and see if we have the right accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for a five days after reading the trip advisor reviews. It's affordable, quiet enough, good location, decent breakfast. The staff are friendly. Parking is free but limited spaces. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your contribution Cynthia,
We are glad to hear you chose our motel
We hope all our future guests take us into consideration when budgeting their next vacation
Our hard working owner always says "we don't get rich customers, but we get alot of smart customers"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love love love this motel, stayed here when landed in San Diego as not to far from airport and loved it and also stayed on the last night of my holiday! Literally a second walk from the harbour and close to downtown. The staff are excellent, best staff I've ever come across! The rooms are clean. I would actually live here I love it that much!!!! Definitely worth a stay !! Thank you dolphin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you kind guest for this generous review,
We are so glad you got to know about tripadvisor as it provides travelers with input for future destinations
It is written by the public and (in our opinion) is the best thing that's happened to the consumer
With so much competition these days, it is hard to find out the best balance of price and amenities
Here at the Dolphin Motel, our hard working owners Alan & Holly have established a system that has stood for 38 years!
By putting our customers first, we have strong support from our repeat customers, as well as new visitors from all over the world
Whether it is business, or vacation please don't hesitant to ask us how we can better serve your needs during your stay
Most of us have lived in San Diego all our lives, and will give our guests the best advice from a local standpoint
But what is most important is always our good guests, whom have kept us standing all these years
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Clean, very small room. Opened window for fresh, cool breeze (a plus). The other guests are right about the noisy air conditioner. Room only as quiet as the people on the "patio". Heard chatty, loud male fishermen at 6 a.m. one day on the patio, but otherwise, quiet for sleeping. Convenient to boats and fishing and near airport. Staff very helpful. They provide soap only so bring all other toiletries. Walked around the area- not much besides other hotels and a few fast food and restaurants. Luckily the bright neon did not filter too much into the room at night. Got wifi easily. I liked having a breakfast, free parking at the location, and an acceptable price. Just bare bones, but I'd stay again. I'm giving a 3 rating for location and value only because I think the entire area is outrageously over-priced and the hotel was not near where I needed to go. Compared to other hotels in the area, this would have a 4 to 5 star for value.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably less foot and voice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Paladin 11 Thanks for the kind words about our motel. Sorry about the chatty fishermen. I'll warn my desk clerks about this. I regret you did not take advantage of the beautiful area you were in. Right across the street from beautiful San Diego Bay!!!? Minutes from gorgeous Shelter Island and Spanish Landing ?!!! Nice of you to say "but I'd stay again". We can do better, love to have you back.

Best regards,
Alan Murdock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at te Dolphin Motel over Memorial Day weekend and it was a great experience! The room was sparkling clean and the staff was not only friendly, they were so very accomodating too! We'll DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you DeAnna for staying with us along with the rest of your family this summer
san Diego sure is busy during the summer!
Our hard working owners do appreciate you guys giving our motel a chance during your recent visit
Alan & Holly have built this place from the ground up and, for 38 years, have provided travelers around the world with an alternative to what others may provide
It is safe to say the vast majority of us will put budget into consideration when planning our vacation
Therefore, to save money on "lodging" will come back as extra money to spend on "fun"
And yet, a major concern is compromising price for cleanliness, or amenities
The point is that our motel is unique in that it provides a finely tuned balance of "what you pay vs what you get"
Our owners Alan & Holly have always put our staff & our guests above themselves,
simply speak to them and you will hear honesty & daily hardworking dilligence
Please don't hesitate to address all your concerns to us, we are here for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Economy Motel since 1977. Basic very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
;