We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean & Great Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Clean & Great Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Dolphin Motel is such a fantastic stay for the budget minded traveler. The staff is very kind and helpful. The location is perfect and close to public transportation. The breakfast on the patio every morning was just great and very relaxing. The motel is in a
nice area with several good restaurants. The Dolphin is also near a marina and we enjoyed seeing the huge fish that the charter boats brought in every morning. Although the rooms weren't huge or glamorous, we liked having the small refrigerator to store snacks and sodas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you Catalina48 for this recent review!
You took the time to describe our motel and help future guests decide if we are the right fit for their vacation.
The owner was very pleased so to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite us being a budget motel with small rooms.
He is always pleased to know such wonderful guests like yourselves found our breakfast satisfying, and our cleanliness & courtesy up to his highest expectations!
I do hope you visit us again on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    274
    58
    12
    8
See reviews for
159
416
91
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Dolphin during the week of Thanksgiving. We had such a wonderful stay; the rooms were small but so clean and fresh. The breakfast included juice, sweet muffins, bananas and yogurt. We think it would be a nice addition to have some type of bread that's not so sweet as the muffins! And also herbal tea, for the non-caffeine visitors. The staff was very helpful for all of our needs at all hours of the day and night! The Dolfin is right across from the pier and it is such a fun place to venture. The neighborhood is safe and the bus stop (for those public transportation types) is right on the corner. The owners are also very kind and concerned that their guest have a great stay. You just don't find that these days. We have stayed at more expensive places in San Diego, but you can't beat the Dolphin's prices and service! If you enjoy simple and clean, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the marina. If they are full, that's okay...........stay anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello scooterpair
Those are some pictures you took of our motel & the harbor area!
All of us here at the Dolphin appreciate nice folks like you guys

A little bit of research before vacation will pay off in saving time and money!
It is true we don't have much in terms of luxury or fancy, we hope all our future guests will take that into consideration
We sincerely hope you come visit San Diego in the future, the weather here is always nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I should have written this weeks ago. I but have been quite busy and very lazy, but better late than never!
I’m a Brit, my wife is a Californian from LA and we were visiting her Mom, in LA, throughout Sep/Oct 2012.
We decided to spend a couple of days and one night in San Diego, but liked the area so much that we stayed for three nights and four days. Could easily have stayed longer but were running out of time.
We arrived late morning, 1st October, without reservations, and were assigned a room immediately.

I can’t add anything new to the good reviews, simply reiterate that our smallish room was very clean and comfortable with a decent TV and all essentials. It isn’t the Ritz, of course it isn’t, but we were absolutely satisfied with what we received for the money we paid.

The office staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful, even down to handing out a discount coupon for the excellent Miguel’s Restaurant a couple of hundred yards along the quayside (highly recommended).

The motel price is very reasonable for San Diego, made even better by a free simple breakfast – help yourself on the patio. Good coffee and a selection of lovely muffins, which did me nicely. My wife chose from a selection of fruit, juices and yoghurts and there was always plenty of everything. Free off the road parking is another simple, invaluable bonus.

The best part, though was meeting the owner, Horace, who was absolutely charming each morning at breakfast time. ‘Holly’ gave us photocopy maps and clear directions to many local attractions plus well-founded recommendations as to where to go, what to see and how much time to allow for it. Even gave me advice on how to stay off cigarettes, which I was struggling with! He is an absolute gentleman, who I would love to meet again, if we ever make it back there. I do hope so and intend to make it happen.

Horace, if you read this, thank you for your warmth and kindness – I’m still off the cigs and hope to stay that way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Much appreciated John,
Thank you kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were searching for budget accomondation in SD for our last 4 night 16 days california trip. Well we were glad to choose this motel. LCD TVs,fridge and view in front of room #36 is fantastic. Suprised to see that room service is done daily. Housekeeping folks did a good job. Every morning we will see the boss walking around checking the place. Plus point is they provide free gps to use.. the chinese guy on night shift even show us the way to coin laundry.

Room Tip: Choose top floor room above the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you haizam for staying at our motel
We frequently get many travels from Europe, Canada, Australia and Singapore
I thank you very much for stopping by in the evening and chatting with me!
The owner always appreciates every input our nice guests put in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Actually, I don`t have any negative view about this lovely place. We spent a couple of days in July 2012, and it was very nice to stay here. Close to marina & not far from Cabrillo National Monument. The staff was kind and the room was clean. But the main point is, that cakes were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you Ali for writing about our little motel
Our modest breakfast is not too heavy on the stomach
After 36 years in business, the owner balances a light breakfast which is moderate & healthy
(yogurt, bananas, orange juice, tea)
Once again, all our staff thank you for this generous review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Love the Dolphin. Friendly and very clean. There is a small refrigerator, lots of clean towels and a comfortable bed. Great value and the view was beautiful from room # 36. The location is perfect with access to Starbucks and other restaurants and shopping right down the street. Ocean Beach is right over the hill. The only thing I would add would be a small microwave in the room or the option to rent one during my stay. Our new home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a 15 days Southwestern USA trip on October 2012. I did do some research before my trip. Some places I pre-book my accommodation but I didn't book my accommodation for my 3D2N stay in San Diego.
When we reached San Diego, we spent about 3 hours sitting in a park at Harbour Island and totally forgot about getting ourselves a place to sleep. By the time we realized, it was quite late in the evening so the first place that I went to check is Dolphin Motel since it has very good reputation in a few websites.
The owner gave us very good rate and very understanding. He knew we were on tight budget so he even guided us to a few other motels/hostels nearby so that we can check the price before making the decision. Well, of course, we ended up with this lovely motel because of their service, and also because the rooms are very clean and comfortable (we changed to another room on 2nd night because we didn't make the booking in advance). The room come with free Wifi too.
The people working there are very friendly and helpful. They gave us a lot of tips to explore San Diego. The free breakfast was great. They keep on refilling the food and drinks.
The location of this motel is great too. It's just a very short walk to the Marina, and you can easily access to all the major attractions in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate your review UnderBigHill
All of us here at the motel are down to earth folks
We don't pride ourselves in being fancy
Just straight honest people who treat our customers like family!
Mr. Murdock and his son Alan come to work everyday and keep the place in tip-top shape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.