We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary/Birthday trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #64 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rogers, United States
1 review
“Anniversary/Birthday trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed here using Hilton Honors points for our 10 year anniversary and my wife's birthday. We received a complimentary bottle of merlot for our anniversary, received a free room upgrade and we were treated like royalty by the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    224
    80
    22
    26
See reviews for
214
148
46
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent hotel in a good location. Nice rooms, great buffet breakfast, excellent staff! The pool area and patio are very nice, and has comfortable outdoor seating, as well as access to the bar and restaurant. Is close to local businesses, easy access to I-5, and was in a quiet, safe location. Usually only took 20 minutes to get to MCRD if you are visitng a recruit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent staff, very nice rooms, easy parking, and close to freeways. I really enjoyed my dinner at the hotel restaurant. This hotel is close to Del Mar Racetrack and many good local restaurants. Hotel is also a short, easy drive (about 20 minutes) to downtown San Diego or the San Diego airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a conference in San Diego and stayed at this hotel. I arrived early and the hotel was happy to allow me to have an early check-in. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast buffet had very quality food. When I arrived at my room, there was a note from housekeeping introducing herself. I thought that was a really nice touch. The cookies are amazing there!!!! The stay was wonderful! I look forward to returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel gave very prompt and proper service; everything I would expect of a Hilton. However, our room had a shared door with another group (whom we did not know). The children were beyond loud. Imagine an annoying, loud, abrupt noise continuously occurring for hours and you have our dwelling arrangement. Every noise was accented in our room. It's embarrassing and a sham that our vacation was ruined by the porous hosing conditions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
David,

We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a more comforting experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy guests and thin walls. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.

Sincerely,
Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We returned from 10 days in HAwaii and made a weekend stop in San Diego before heading home. This is a nice hotel. The front desk was very accommodating and pleasant to deal with in our late arrival. Overall - this was a good choice for us as a family. The breakfast was good. The pool area was very nice and the location worked for us as well since we were all over the place in SAn Diego. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and appreciate the value, location, and amenities. One note: the outside patio, while lovely, was the scene for several party gatherings so the service was slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#82 Family Hotel in San Diego
#92 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.