We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Hurst, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to my one night stay at this hotel, since it was beautiful and had a great pool area. Unfortunately, I was stuck in traffic and didn't get to the hotel until right before my night program. So, no relaxing for me. It sure was beautiful...and comfortable...for the few waking hours that I got to spend there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Namaste 859,

I am sorry that you didn’t have a chance to enjoy our hotel amenities. Although, it sounds like you made the most of your stay for the little time you were able to spend here.

Thank you for your very kind comments and business!

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    200
    72
    20
    22
See reviews for
194
128
41
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located very close to all amenities. We wanted to stay close to Del mar and enjoy the beach. although it is not on the beach but is only 5 min drive to it. They have great service. Some rooms are facing the freeway, although far away, but ask for a room facing the pool. It is very quiet. Free and plenty of parking is also attractive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Shawnt19,

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on offering the best value for a full service hotel close to all the North County and La Jolla beaches.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stay at the Doubletree Del Mar mostly for business, but a few times a year I bring folks with me. The staff is always welcoming, and the rooms and grounds are very comfortable. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but the staff is always willing to take you places in the van. They have taken me shopping, into Del Mar of Dinner, or even to the beach. They drop you off and you call when you want to come back.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a large group of family in town for a wedding and we all stayed here! The hotel staff were so gracious and nice to everyone. Great stay for all - rooms, pool, bar, restaurant, and strong coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is off to the side of the Del Mar town, and in a office/mall complex. We only stayed here one night, and the stay was fine and efficient. If you are in Del Mar for business, or only need a place to "sleep", then this is a good choice. However, if you are interested in exploring the area, and soaking in some of the local charm, there are better choices. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Doubletree located anywhere else in the USA, nothing more and nothing less. A bit sterile. The cookies at check in are always a nice touch, but the broken coffee maker was annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarDoubleTree, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear JNelson,

We appreciate your business. Although the DoubleTree Del Mar is located in a business park, we are located less than a mile from the Torrey Pines beach and Del Mar beaches. The good news is that we offer a complimentary shuttle within a 6 mile radius of the our hotel and our parking and WiFi are free! This is a great value compared to the two properties directly located in the town of Del Mar.

I hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Del Mar.

At Your Service,

Ian Heffron
General Manager
DoubleTree San Diego Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall the hotel is exquisite. Upon arrival there were a couple of minor issues with the bathroom which are a big turn off for me.. beard trimmings in the sink, no bath floor matt, otherwise ok. Also I paid for room with view of pool but received room overlooking the dining room instead. I COULD see a sliver of a corner of the pool so I didnt press it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree on El Camino Real in San Diego for one night on a business trip and it was very nice. I had a room overlooking the pool area. The Wi-Fi was included in the room price and I had no problem signing up. The room was nicely appointed and very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.