We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Doubletree Del Mar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #63 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ojai, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Doubletree Del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Great deal in December. I have never stayed at a Doubletree before, and frankly, I was a bit afraid! (Fairmont and Ritz, yes, but what is a Doubletree?)
It was great. Free Parking. Great cookie w/ check in. Great location. Beds were decent. Not 5 star, but really comfortable. Rooms were clean. Maid service wonderful.
No, we didn't have the beds turned down in the late afternoon, nor were bathrobes provided, but it was a delightful cheap and cheerful vacation, and I would do it again in a heartbeat!
I actually liked the fact you could "do your thing" at the hotel without having to interface w/ alot of employees~
A great stay and I will not hesitate to book there again.

  • Liked — Location and comfort w/ ease of use.
  • Disliked — I had to leave?
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    230
    83
    22
    28
See reviews for
225
153
46
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

Great location just off the I-5, near to Del Mar and near to restaurants/supermarkets if you want to stay local.
Buffet breakfast was good, attentive staff, bar ok, room was clean, spacious and the bed was super comfy.

Don't stay here if you are on vacation as it is away from the Del Mar/San Diego attractions but for a business traveller, I would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — The bed !
  • Disliked — Bar was lacking atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

This whole hotel is a facade. The lobby is nice, but that is where it ends. When I entered the room, the paint on the door was peeling off(why there was paint on the door was beyond me). The floor was hard and felt like I was walking on concrete. The bathroom door is not like a normal door. It slides into the wall, like a closet door. That is fine and good, except ours was stuck in the wall and you could not close it. The beds were lumpy and hard, and the wallpaper was peeling. The glasses for the water were not clean. Most importantly, the window was broken, and we were on the 3rd floor. I checked out immediately, and demanded a full refund. The girls at the front desk were accommodating, and said my credit card would not be charged. A couple of days later, I still saw a hold on my account from this hotel for more than my actual stay would have been. When I contacted the hotel manager to help me with this matter, he was rude and yelling at me, saying MY bank was scum. I wound up staying at the Marriott across the street and they are 100 times better, and for the same price the Doubletree charges!
I plead to anyone who reads this, do not stay at any Doubletree or Hilton brand hotel. The price of this particular hotel is the same as others in the area, and you will get much much more for your money at any other hotel. I hate to have anyone spend their hard earned money and be treated with such terrible customer service.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Well, first off , there’s the cookie! But the room.. desk with comfy desk chair, couch, dressers, end tables, chairs, 2 phones, 5 lamps! (but without CFL bulbs-shame) NO RECYCLE BIN. Curtains that close! Lotions and soaps nice, great towels, sheets, really clean bath, good workout room (finally!), beautiful pool and Jacuzzi, close to freeways but not too noisy. Good quality coffee and tea in room, lots of cable tv channels, ottoman at end of bed, staff helpful, very good market (organic) and restaurants up the street

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela HI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We've just returned from our third stay at this hotel. Our room was on the top floor where there is some construction but it didn't interfere at all with the stay. The bed was super comfortable and the room and bath clean and pretty.

There is a 4-6pm happy hour with $2 drinks and inexpensive snacks by the pool, and a Starbucks a short walk away. It is also near a shopping center with food store, small restaurants, etc.

We stay here because it is usually available through Priceline (Del Mar area) for $65-$75 plus taxes--thus a great value.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel is the right place to be when you go to San Diego. 20 minutes from downtown, 4 or 5 minutes from the beach!
The staff was very nice and they gave us cookies when we check in. The garden is beautiful and the swimming pool are nice and they are open until 11pm.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room could be bigger
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We were on our way to San Diego from Palm Springs and were planning to go to the San Diego Wild Animal Park the following morning. We stumbled upon this hotel after finding out that all the hotels in La Jolla were booked on a Wed. night. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Although they did have a nice looking pool area, we didn't have time to use it. We did partake in the 1/2 price drinks during happy hour at the lounge and used their complimentary business center to get caught up on a few things. Also, we ended up going to a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse down the street later that night and the shuttle bus driver gave us a ride there and back, no charge... The hotel looks like it was currently being updated as the hallways had brand new carpeting and wallpaper, it had the new smell. The room itself was very clean and bright. This would seem to be a perfect hotel to stay at if in town for business, very convenient to I-5 and other highways. We would definately stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — Bright, Clean Rooms & Free Business Center
  • Disliked — In A Business Park, Nothing In Walking Distance...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#82 Family Hotel in San Diego
#93 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.