We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs/Cockroaches” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Friendship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friendship Hotel
Save
You added Friendship Hotel to your Saves list
3942 Eighth Ave., San Diego, CA 92103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bedbugs/Cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

so, I have now been here almost two weeks. Here is EXACTLY what I have gone through. The first night I was here, I was sleeping and my bed fell through the floor. I wrote a review, the next day they came and moved me to an "upgraded room" which actually had a bathroom but the mold was so bad on the shower curtain I could not breathe, so I went and got some bleach and cleaned it off. I stayed in that room until the next week, then they moved me back to the room after they fixed the floor. The smell that comes from this room is only what I can describe as a "dog dying of cancer". The carpet is most likely the ORIGINAL carpeting and has water damage on the sides (probably because the bathroom is directly on the other side of the wall). I have woken up to cockroaches crawling on my bed as well as bedbugs (which I have pictures of) and now I have to find a way to spray all my clothes and luggage when I move out. I have been here two weeks and am HIGHLY glad I am leaving on tuesday. I do however feel sorry for people that have nowhere else to go and have to stay here because in the two weeks I have been here, I have developed pnemonia. My fridge has gone out and spoiled the little amount of food that I am able to keep in my fridge and I fear everyday I have left waking up to bedbug bites or cockroaches crawling in my ears and laying eggs in me while I sleep. I wish i had a review telling it all before moving here because I would have moved straight into a homeless shelter before wasting 175/week to live here. I also think the staff should have been straight forward in letting me know of possible bedbug contamination and cockroach problems. It is obvious they are aware because there are roach baits in both of the rooms that I have been in. Shame on you for not bieng honest with me from the get go. I also looked the place up on the BBB, got the registered owners name and facebooked him on the problems I am going through and have not had a response. This is what I have gone through

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

You have to have an earring and look all casual and sloppy to get in. don't show up all dressed up and looking proffesional and being courteous, because they will acccomidate someone who inquired after you first. it seems you have to look like a bum to get in there. It looks llike a dump from outside and it has bed bugs. I met up with the owner in the parking lot and he is a real peice of work.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

If you're idea of a temporary place to stay is the Westin or Oakwood Corporate Suites, do not go here.
This is $29 bucks a week walk in - no reservations, no cheery staff ( would you be at these prices?) and bare bones sleep & shower place (shared bathrooms).
They used to allow people with dogs i don't know if that's changed. Not a lot of pet places available at this price in such a nice 'hood.

Never had a bed bug problem but if you are the least bit cognizant of this is do the customary check over before handing over the cash. IF it's busy you might lose out but remain FIRM on this point.

It beats the HOSTEL alternative.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

I was greeted quickly and professionally. Invited to inspect my room first. Beautiful tile at the entry way. Requires a deposit. Very inexpensive. No private bathrooms, may have to wait. No parking available-street parking only. Can't beat the price, nice t.v., free HBO, fridge and microwave, dresser. All the bare essentials. quiet and private. nothing fancy. Drugstore right around the corner. Secure. Nobody can enter without a key to the building and washers available! This is the place to rondevou without wasting time, gas and money!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the room doors are a little raggedy
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

Centrally located in Hillcrest, very affordable, professional and friendly staff, secured access for safety, clean, and friendly. My stay was a wonderful and enriching experience. Small rooms but they provide the essentials.

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2003

FRIENDSHIP HOTEL ON 8TH AVE IN SAN DIEGO. a truly frightening combination of poor service, obnoxios personel, and all around horror.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel

Address: 3942 Eighth Ave., San Diego, CA 92103
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.