We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose was WONDERFUL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Loma Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Point Loma Inn to your Saves list
Point Loma Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2933 Fenelon Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Rose was WONDERFUL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were just looking for a place to keep our belongings, take a shower and sleep while we were visiting San Diego for our nephew's graduation from Marine Boot Camp. Rose was fantastic! Very polite, friendly -- she made me start believing in good customer service again. The room was a perfect size for two adults, had an in-room safe for personal belongings, a good size mini-frig w/freezer, a microwave, coffee pot and flat-screen TV with plenty of channels. The marina was a very short walk away with restaurants and fishing charters. If you're looking for a fancy place to stay, this is not it. But, if you're looking for great customer service, convenience to the airport and local attractions, it's perfect!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
20
39
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place for a nice weekend at the beach with your dog or dogs. It is located on a huge off leash dog beach. The hotel is a bit used. Rooms are sparse. But it is cued into having your dogs with you.
Private gate to the beach, fenced run outside of rooms. A complete dog wash station, with soap, towels etc to clean all the sand off the dogs... a huge plus. Restaurants close by that are all dog friendly.
Great for the price!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small and on a corner of busy street. Everything is a walkable distance and safe.
I was surprised at how clean it was.
It's also updated! It seems like they remodeled everything. They are pet friendly only $20 bucks extra a night.
Will be staying here from now on.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

room was nice and clean, but the fan in the bathroom wasn't working ! So the room stayed stuffy, so we had to keep the fan on the AC unit =/ but the location was great, we walked everywhere ,markets, restaurants, harbor where the fishing boats go out! The front desk staff was super nice and helpful .We would probably go back again, but would make sure we got a room with a working fan ! That was the only thing that was not good about this place :-)

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I have been in San Diego for a week now working and looking for an apartment. I have tried a few different hotels and Point Loma Inn and Suites has been the best by far. So much so, that I am here for the 3rd time.

Need a room with a kitchen? They have them. I stayed in one my first night and it was so nice to be able to make a little dinner and feel more at home after traveling from Chicago for a few days. I also stayed in a regular room and was just as pleased. Everything is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. You get a coffee maker, microwave and a fridge. I use a hotspot so I can't review the wifi, but they do have it.

The best part is the friendly staff (a shout out to Rose). When I arrived in San Diego it was early afternoon and they let me check in early in the day because my room was ready. Isn't that the way it should be? Plus you can leave your deposit in cash so you don't have to wait for your bank to return it. Very thoughtful.

If my apartment search keeps going the way it has, I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This motel has a great at price especially for the area. There is everything you need in the vicinity. Plus, everyone is very nice. There was a blackout one night; which sucked because I was not tired amd had to before myself to go to sleep amd I didn't have a do not disturb sign so the next morning the maid was pounding on my door to ask if I wanted service and I had just gotten to sleep after the sudden shock of light when the electricity came back on. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Point Loma Inn & Suites and I have to say that this is an outstanding to place to stay. I got to know one of the mgrs. on site her name is Rose. She was one of the persons that I saw in the morning and had the biggest SMILES ever. She always took good care of use, made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you Rose and your staff for all that you do for your guess...
Mercedes Ross

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Loma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Loma Inn

Address: 2933 Fenelon Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Point Loma Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Point Loma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Loma Hotel San Diego
Point Loma Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Loma Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.