We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Will definitely come back when in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Loma Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Point Loma Inn to your Saves list
Point Loma Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2933 Fenelon Street, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it! Will definitely come back when in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I made a reservation online through the property's website by going to "discounts". I put in my information and the staff called me directly. The nice thing about this was I was able to negotiate a good price. We got a room with a kitchen. The kitchen comes with a pot, plates, utensils, a microwave, and a sink. Although we had intentions to cook, we ended up eating out for the short time we were there. The bed was pretty comfortable, and there was a pull-out couch (we didn't use it). We slept very well. The only complaint was that the couch was difficult to sit in because the springs were shot, so it sank down really low. But really, it was no big deal. Nice bathroom with all the necessities. Decorations and colors make it feel more expensive than it really is. TV with movie channels. Very friendly staff.
It's in a great location just a block from a harbor. We took a nice walk around the harbor. Starbucks is nearby, as well as some bars and restaurants. Short drive from beaches.
Free parking is a huge plus, as well as free wi-fi internet!
Overall, we were more than pleased with our stay here. I'd highly recommend this location as a budget-friendly option in a very good location for your stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 114. No views (but I don't think any rooms have views). Quiet, has window in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff always strives to give outstanding customer service. We aim to have reasonable and affordable prices while still maintaining great quality. Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
20
42
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Good price. Wish we had more access to towels and other ammenities, our hours didn't match the sleep schedule of the staff. They were very friendly and commonly available but not whenever we needed towels it seemed. Rooms are small but clean, you'll have everything you need. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel. We strive to maintain an outstanding cleanness in our rooms, great customer service, being helpful and accommodating. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Rode our harleys from Green Valley Arizona to San Diego got in late and was greeted well. The motel is very clean and centrally located good parking and safe for te bikes. I can't say enough good things to say I will be back and will encourage all my friends to stay

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We’re very happy to hear about your pleasant experience at out hotel. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, very convenient and safe. It’s great to know you were also pleased with the great quality you received for such an affordable price. Thanks for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We have stayed here 2 times . The manager Ray was very helpful for us because we booked on Expedia and it was the wrong room that we desired, but Ray gave us the correct room at the same price. Very nice! The 2 room suite was very adequate and had all the amenities that you find in the high end hotels that can get very expensive in San Diego.
It has a great location on the main street and within walking distance to stores, restaurants and the beautiful marina. It is freeway close to all of San Diego's main attractions.
I have just booked two more nights for next week.
A budget traveler's delight. Here's a tip. Don't book Point Loma Inn and Suites through a booking agent but call direct for the best price. They are very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We’re delighted to hear about your pleasant experience with us. We strive to be better each day and continue providing exceptional customer service and clean and fresh rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyanet, illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

im not a super hotel snob or anything, but its not up to my standards for a few reasons. firstly, let me say that the staff was honestly GREAT. we had some changes last minute so we changed our dates last moment literally a day before. they accomadated the changes without hesitation. on their website they have a name your price type deal, and the owner bargained with me and gave me a fair price around 48 a night so it was very very cheap. we stayed one night. we were supposed to stay two but i couldnt deal with it here. when we got there checkin was fast and i asked for lower floor because we have a toddler and we got one. first, the area is really divey looking but alot of san diego is like that. i have been to san diego SEVERALLL times throughout my life and i know that it aint all bright and shiny everywhere. but this was really not a nice area. the hotels exterior is nothing pleasant. it was really bad looking but they did work hard to keep it clean, its just old. when you see the pics online, it seems pretty decent and looked like nice furnishings, however when you go in, they arent. they are VERY cheap, and lots of it was falling apart, wobbly tables, and there is a mirror headboard that we were worried about falling over. it was a kitchen suite, however it was so cramped and tiny in the room. the bed was very uncomfortable. and the oven had a bad smell when we used it. the bathroom was not very nice, decent but not great. there was a window in there too right infront of the shower. most of the room was cleaned well, however the carpet was FILTHY but i find this a problem even in really nice hotels there werent enough towels though :/ this place was probably worth the price for the AREA, but i really wouldnt stay again. at night, it was extremely noisy outside, not just cars, but people talking and doors shutting, the doors and walls are like paper. we also had no place to set up my sons pack and play thats how crowded it was so he got in bed with us. the beds wasnt comfortable, and that combined with the noise, we BARELY slept that night so we checked out early the next day i said i couldnt take a moment more of it. id rather pay the 40 more and go to a holiday inn. we tried the budget route, and it just was not for us. its very old and dingy and though the staff is great and DO work hard to keep it best as it can be, IMO it just needs to be torn down and redone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is a cute little hotel that has a wonderful staff and it located in the middle of everything...only a 5-10 minute drive to anywhere you would want to go in San Diego. The down side of that is it is off of a busy road and the rooms are not the most quiet. Nothing ear plugs can't solve though. The rooms are small, but they were clean. Folks this isn't a Hyatt or a Hilton, but if your looking for a cheap place to stay so you can spend your money elsewhere this is a great place. Ray the manager was always accomodating and there are microwaves and fridges in the rooms which is nice if your staying for a long period of time. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We’re very happy to hear about your pleasant experience at out hotel. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, very convenient. It’s great to know you were also pleased with the great quality you received for such an affordable price. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had a fantastic experience at the Point Loma Inn. We needed a place to work on line and where we could cook a meal or two. The family here accommodated all of our needs- way beyond what we would expect for the reasonable price. We would definitely come back and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Point Loma Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments! We’re very happy to hear about your amazing experience at our hotel. As you mentioned, we offer clean, fresh rooms. Lovely view and exceptional customer service at a very reasonable price! What else can you ask for? We’re glad you had an enjoyable stay! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Loma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Loma Inn

Address: 2933 Fenelon Street, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Point Loma Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Point Loma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Loma Hotel San Diego
Point Loma Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Loma Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.