We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Western Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Western Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #147 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A fine place to stay if you are watching your budget. You get what you pay for. Friendly and helpful staff. And it is a great location close to Old Town Transit Center if you are using public transportation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
48
56
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Scruffy, shabby and not very clean.
We had to eat breakfast standing up in the cramped lobby. The breakfast was a couple of types of cereal plus buns, coffee and orange juice.
Dark rooms with grubby carpets and cracked vanity units.
The only plus side was the location which is a short walk from the old town where we went for breakfast on day two.
Thank goodness we only stayed two nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Yes we do have a small lobby but we do inform our guest that we do a patio that you could take you breakfast too. We try to keep all our guest happy and we try to take care of all our problem right away if you just told us during your stay we could have taken care of the problem, because our carpet is only 2 1/2 years old and we do shampoo our carpet every 3 month or if needed sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were visiting from Israel during the holidays and we stayed at this hotel based on recommendations from some close friends. We made a great choice. I like the location and the ease of being able to go anywhere around the city from this starting point. The rooms were well appointed and the service was warm and hospitable. The receptionist even went out of his way to arrange to have Kosher meals delivered to us when my elderly mother did not want to go out due to some pain on her knees. We will return on our next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for only one night but found it to be a great value for the price as my associates were staying only one block away and paying twice the price. It was very clean and breakfast although minimal was served.
A good place for business men watching their budget or families trying to stretch their vacation dollars. And....great location near all the restaurants and shops in Old Town San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed San Diego and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Always stay here when in SD. Close to everything and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. We always find the best rates for the area too! It is just a short drive to Sea World, where the kids love to go. Easy freeway access no matter what direction you are heading. Easy 5 min walk to Old Town restaurants and attractions. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing terribly wrong with this place. Nothing to rave about either. Bathroom was servicable, but a little unkempt. The beds were way too hard for me. Didn't get a decent night's sleep in the three nights I was there. No Pool. They charge $8 per day to park in the parking garage. Didn't see that mentioned in Expedia. They represent the hotel as being the closest to MCRD and infer that this is where Marine Corps families would want to stay. There are two other Hotels right next to it. I would choose either one next time. Their "Continental Breakfast" is rolls and coffee. There are much better deals in the area and, if I am in San Diego again, I will seek them out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were greeted immediately and check inn fast. We were informed of the breakfast times as well as good places to get a nice meal. One thing not informed to us when the reservation was made thru hotels.com was the 6 dollar parking charge. We were told that we could park in street. Not a guarantee that its 100% safe but nothing has happened before so we took our chances. The room was booked same day and we got a discount. The room is large and bed comfortable. The room was clean. The TV didn't work at first but the sent up a maintwnce man and he pleasantly fixed the connection. My only problem with room is the lighting or lack of it. And they don't have enough outlets in the room either.breakfast is coffee fresh muffins and child cereal . I would def come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Dear Guest

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to see you when you visit San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Address: 3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.