We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't Stay Here Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Western Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Western Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 (USD)
Ranked #135 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Stay Here Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing terribly wrong with this place. Nothing to rave about either. Bathroom was servicable, but a little unkempt. The beds were way too hard for me. Didn't get a decent night's sleep in the three nights I was there. No Pool. They charge $8 per day to park in the parking garage. Didn't see that mentioned in Expedia. They represent the hotel as being the closest to MCRD and infer that this is where Marine Corps families would want to stay. There are two other Hotels right next to it. I would choose either one next time. Their "Continental Breakfast" is rolls and coffee. There are much better deals in the area and, if I am in San Diego again, I will seek them out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    32
    12
    19
See reviews for
56
60
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were greeted immediately and check inn fast. We were informed of the breakfast times as well as good places to get a nice meal. One thing not informed to us when the reservation was made thru hotels.com was the 6 dollar parking charge. We were told that we could park in street. Not a guarantee that its 100% safe but nothing has happened before so we took our chances. The room was booked same day and we got a discount. The room is large and bed comfortable. The room was clean. The TV didn't work at first but the sent up a maintwnce man and he pleasantly fixed the connection. My only problem with room is the lighting or lack of it. And they don't have enough outlets in the room either.breakfast is coffee fresh muffins and child cereal . I would def come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Dear Guest

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to see you when you visit San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived to the hotel and I had booked the room for next day by accident on hotwire. The guy at the desk just gave me the room anyway, and was AWESOME about it. The room was older but fine, and huge- a big living room/kitchenette sorta thing, and spacious bedroom with comfortable big bed. Close to Old Town and the airport which was where we were going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pleasant accommodation in a great location for visiting the Old Town of San Diego. All the staff were extremely helpful to the extent of keeping the spare seat from our hire car for 3 weeks whilst we toured Baja! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and breakfast included to boot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, General Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us and were very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our staff and were happy happy that they were able to help. We hope you choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a good hotel in need of some serious TLC. The staff were really helpful, but a bit let down by the fabric of the place. The public areas a bit worn and grubby in places. The room itself was good, plenty of room and the bed was comfortable and clean, but the window didn't quite shut properly. As it was November the nights were getting a little cold, not too bad but more irritating was the noise of the nearby highway which was a bit intrusive.
Really convenient for Old Town, and the Trolley/train/bus interchange - San Diego public transport is really good and easy to use. Good selection of places to eat near the hotel. Also had a very easy to use, reasonably priced laundry facility, with a key available from the nice man at reception which meant you could leave stuff knowing it was secure. Cheap and cheerful about sums it up. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerninn, General Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us first of all we value your business because we understand that their are so many choices. We have upgrade our bedding cover and window and are in the process of during more work during this winter. We are happy that you were happy with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very good price, clean and big room. Peoples who's working there are super nice and helping. Close to the old town and of the airport. We recommend that hotel. We definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John'ss, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at the Western Inn about 6 times in the last 2 years and will do so on future trips to San Diego. The hotel is in a great location, 10-15 minutes from the airport, right on I-5 going North, close to bars and restaurants of Old Town and 5 minutes walk from the trolley station to take you down town. The rooms are large, comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Best thing of all is the service from the hotel staff. Not being part of a chain means that you get personal customer service from the hotel manager Sanjay and his staff, who will all do anything they can to help and make your stay an enjoyable one. Add all those things together, and the hotel is great value for money as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Address: 3889 Arista Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;