We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #53 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Seymour, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't really think of better words to title my review than the ones Trip Advisor suggested.
Convenient - if you're going to Sea World, Mission Beach, downtown or even the zoo, it's easy on and easy off 8 or 5. Denny's right next door with friendly service and good food. Close to some shoppping and other eating options.
Clean - even though there was construction going on, there was very little inconvenience as a result. They did a nice job of making a good breakfast room out of some conference rooms, so there was always plenty of room.
Friendly - staff was very responsive, friendly and helpful any time we called or requested something. Breakfast room staff was very helpful. Knowledgeable of the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    282
    121
    42
    20
See reviews for
337
173
43
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Clean and close to "Old Town" and the Green Line to downtown. The walk to Old Town takes about 20-25 minutes. The breakfast was good with "real" scrambled eggs and sausage (not the instant patties) The room was clean but the Air Conditioning was very noisy and cycled on/off continously.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were on a family vacation visiting the theme parks in the area. The location was perfect for us. It's just off the highway. While the hotel and the rooms were very clean I found the decor (dark green and brown) rather outdated if not depressing. The first room we were given was right across from the vending/ice machine. We asked for a change which the lady at the front desk gladly and very promptly did. The second room had a terrible mold smell which burnt my throat. The bath tub was broken and they covered it with a non-slip sticky mat. We asked to be moved again. This time they upgraded us to a room with a microwave and a mini fridge and threw in a complimentary movie. After watching the movie we received a bill. When we disputed it we were told that they were going to drop it from the bill later. It would have been nice not to receive it in the first place. Would have saved us the phone call. It was rather disconcerting to have to move twice in the first hour of arriving, carrying our luggage from room to room when all we wanted to do was relax and go out to eat. Speaking of food, there are plenty of places to eat in the vicinity of the hotel. There is complimentary breakfast which was full of high carb, low quality industrial food. I have rather high standards so it's hard to please me with food. I suppose for many people there was a good selection (scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bagels, make your own waffle, fresh-cut fruit, orange juice, oatmeal). Complimentary tea and coffee available all day long was a nice and welcomed touch. There is a rather small pool which the kids loved playing in and it was warm which I liked. There is also a jacuzzi/spa which was the same temperature as the pool which I preferred it to be hotter. Overall the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly but too many issues with the rooms and the ugly decor does not make me think that it was good value for the money. We will definitely visit the area but will not stay at this hotel again. There is a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you are not 100% satisfied you do not pay. We are not even 50% satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor R, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for it. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. ~ Victor Ravago, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we took our daughter to seaworld for grad present. rooms were EXCELENT. clean, comfortable. the staff including the manager was very nice. it felt good to walk down the hall in pjs and have a delicious comp breakfast that was fresh and hot. 5 min away from seaworld, gaslamp old town sd. will definitely stay again

Room Tip: pool and Jacuzzi are on right side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed there for 8 days. It was a wonderful stay and hospitable. All staff members were friendful and nice expecially Ashlee. She went above and beyond to make sure my room was ready (i arrived early -10:30 am), gave me suggestions about dinning options and great attractions. Her recommendations were super. The rest of the staff were superb as well. Nice size room. Stayed in Kind size with micowave and fridge - two great amenities (I will recommend that). Hot break fast was great as well with several choices and different menu each day.

Location is convinient to Old Town San Diego Transit Center - walk wasn't back. All in all, great place and I had a wonderful 8 days stay. Enjoyed the fresh hot cokies in the evening. Wonderful ftaff made it feel like home- Great Team Cynthia. Ashlee many thaks, you are the best.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quiter and more private. For hot breakfast on wentends go a little earlier. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for five days and it was quite an experience. First of all be prepared that the hotel is going through a major remodel and update so when finished this will be a nice hotel in a crappy location. Our fun started at check in when we found out that the jacuzzi would be out of service all week. I checked the hotel website numerous times before booking the room and there was never a mention of it being down even though they knew it would be. When we got to our room (dbl queen). We quickly realized that the room was really small, much smaller than the last Hampton Inn we stayed at a month earlier. With a family of four we were cramped to say the least. On day two we got back to the hotel to find out that the pool was now also shut down for the day. On day three my wife started an electrical fire when their hair dryer caught on fire and that was it, she demanded that we find another place to stay. I spoke to the staff and to their credit they took care of us moving us to a larger room without charging us extra. The only negatives to this room were the carpets were dirty and that our view was of empty beer cans and a broken screen on a ledge outside of our room. We will not stay at this location again, honestly if we would have known the scale of the remodel and that the pool and jacuzzi would be closed during our stay we wouldn't have booked this hotel. On a positive note, the hotel is located in a very central location, near many attractions, all major freeways and a trolley station. There was plenty of parking, the staff was awesome and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small. Pool view rooms are overrated because the pool is tiny. The only po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff went above and beyond to make me feel right at home! The hotel was clean and the rooms were updated and nice. The balcony was a nice touch which looked out to the pool. Breakfast is always good at Hampton Inn Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.