We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #113 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night before flying out the next day. Check in was fine, good service, clean room with a lap desk, which was a nice touch. The parking is limited but we found a spot right by the lobby. This place is not fancy but it's clean, pleasant, well staffed with nice people and affordable for the area. You can walk to the trolley and Old Townb but it's a longer walk for older folks or young kids. Three to four longish blocks, about 20-25 minutes. Once at the trolley you can get lots of places.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DTM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Forrestfield, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a good holiday, Stayed at the Hampton Inn in San Diego, was an excellemt stay with no problems. Room was clean and tidy, with complimentary breakfast. Easy access to the airport, with free shuttle. Friendly and helpful staff, would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had first booked a hotel from Hotwire and got the good nite inn...... Disgusting place!! I ran over to the Hampton inn and they had availability for us. We had checked in and out next door within 20 minutes. read my review of the g nite inn for details

The staff went above taking care of us. Clean clean clean rooms! Coffee and water available all day/night. Free hot breakfast with fresh fruit and more was wonderful. The staff kept the area stocked and clean. Warm cookies in the afternoon. The free wifi worked great. Front desk staff helped with directions. Cute courtyard with heated pool and spa again everything kept clean. The beds are so comfortable and the housekeeping staff are wonderful.

I hope Hilton reads this review and gives kudos to the entire staff. They saved our vacation from roach motel disaster. Thank you so much Hampton inn staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1955mickeyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn in- mid-June for three nights for a family reunion. Our hotel contact, Felix, helped out a lot with our planning. Hotel is undergoing renovations, but the staff was friendly and made our stay comfortable. We were not bothered by the work going on. The staff allowed us to use the breakfast room for a couple of nightly get-togethers which was appreciated. The kids enjoyed the warm pool and wanted to play in it longer than our activiities allowed. Guess we should have allowed more swimming time! The breakfast was typical of other Hampton Inns and at times very busy with all the guests. Still the selection was good. We found the hotel easy to access and well-located to the attractions of San Diego. Our room was clean and large enought for my family of six. Would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBNipomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at this Hampton inn the weekend of the Justin Bieber concert! Best stay ever, we didn't have to drive home after it. Awesome hot breakfast in the morning. The front desk staff was super nice, and the front desk manager Luisa Alvarado, always went out of her way to help us with all of our requests. I recommend this hotel to everyone local, if you ever want to attend a concert at the Valley View Casino center and not drive back home.

Room Tip: Pool side with a patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

At the time of booking,the hotel indicated that the lobby was being renovated. That was a HUGE understatement. The entire hotel was in disarray. It felt more like a "storm shelter" than a hotel. I understand that hotel renovations are necessary but a project this large should not take place while the hotel is open for business. The staff was very courteous and the room comfortable but the $116 per night, while a bargain in the area, was ridiculously expensive for quality of accommodations offered. The price seemed "to good to be true" when I booked it and it really was....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a vey nice hotel, even with construction going on, everything very clean and great staff. Amenities included were free parking, free wifi, free drinks (coffe, tea, sodas or water) and delicious hot breakfast. Beds very very comfortable, got free upgrade for being a member of hhonors. Doesn't have a restaurant but there's plenty of them at a walking distance. Really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarmenyEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#84 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
Old Town Inn
#22 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Starwood so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing