We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even during renovation this Hampton Inn is an good choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Laval, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Even during renovation this Hampton Inn is an good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were there for 2 days last week and I was really impressed with the welcome we received. The person at the front desk, her name was I believe Ashlie, was very nice and even though we arrived earlier than the check in time she managed to let us in our room to deposit our bags. Every other employee we met was very friendly and forthcoming. The next day another employee even called for us the car rental company. Even if the hotel is under renovation we were never bothered with that fact during our stay. Our room was very clean and quiet. We also appreciated the warm cookies and fresh water in the lobby. Those nice little touches that make you see that management and employees have a strong focus towards client’s well-being. Once the renovations are finished this hotel will be a perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    301
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
353
188
48
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staff is so very friendly + accommodating to business needs, family vacation + more. I enjoyed the warm free breakfasts, the close proximity to major highways, historic Old Town, Sea World, the airport and more makes this the ideal choice of hotel stays for business or pleasure! I honestly feel like family when I stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by the hotel, despite lobby being under construction. Expected noisy area based on location and what appeared to be a very full hotel, but room was very quiet. Limited parking, at least during construction activities. We'll certainly look to this Hampton Inn when we next visit San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My son and I stayed at the hotel one night and since our flight back east was late at night we had the entire day to enjoy the San Diego area. We decided to take a kayak tour of the LaJolla caves and thoroughly enjoyed it. What we didn't fully anticipate was capsizing in our kayak and having no place to shower at the end of that adventure. We returned to the Hampton to see if they would allow us a small place to shower and get cleaned up for our overnight flight. The front desk quickly understood our predicament and gave us the key to a room where we were able to get cleaned up and ready for our flight home. It was a long night made tolerable because of the exceptional hospitality of the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our rooms was clean and the staff was very helpful. The location of this hotel is very close to Sea World and Mission Bay. We would stay here again when we go back to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Staff is very friendly. Upgrades are offered without any additional cost. Quiet and peaceful. Clean rooms and bathrooms. They are in the process of remodeling the lobby and its going to look beautiful. The exterior had a face lift and it looks great. We truly enjoy our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall, pleasant experience. Call ahead to ensure all amenities are in working condition (i.e. pool and Jacuzzi). Location might not be the best for families as their are some undesirable businesses that surround the hotel. Parking is free, which is difficult to find at hotels in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.