We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff go all out to please guests.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #51 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Staff go all out to please guests.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I got great pre visit advice from the manager via the telephone in planning a birthday event for a family member. Also, check in staff met every request be it sending shuttle for airport pickup, extra towels, whatever we needed they came through. We're staying here pre cruise 3 adults to one room. We got an upgrade due to hilton gold status. 2 very large king beds, mini fridge, bar sink, microwave, extra tables and chairs, sofa, complimentary in room wifi, snacks, drinks and cookies. Flat screen t.v. Neighborhood is not great but hotel is recessed off of main drag. Freeway noise and 2 helicopter flyovers so plan accordingly if city noise bothers you. Elevators. Free breakfast. Shampoo, conditioner & lotion. Comp coffee packets. Iron. Taxis here regularly. Carpet is starting to look a little worn. Other than that nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    306
    133
    45
    21
See reviews for
365
190
50
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Upon arrival to hotel, my family was greeted by 2 great Front Desk staff. They took care of all our needs and were veryknowledgeable about their jobs. I WILL stay there again in the future, as the hotel itself is beautiful!! Very, very clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: "The beds are very comfortable"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and clean,and the staff is very courteous. They serve a great breakfast! It is not a fancy resort, but then they don't charge outrageous resort fees either! It is very conveniently located to various San Diego features, and is very quiet, considering how closely it is located to the intersection of the 5 and the 8 freeways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to Sea World and Old Town. We all loved it! After a
day at Sea World and dinner in Old Town, our rooms were so comfortable and clean with all the
necessities. We had adjoining rooms that our grand kids liked going back and forth in. Ms.
Alvarado and her staff were very welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and gave us
a chance to relax before having to check out. The pool area and inside lounge/breakfast rooms are VERY nice. Do not let the industrial look of the neighborhood steer you away. We felt perfectly safe the whole time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whenever we are in San Diego we always stay at the Hampton San Diego Hotel. We have never been disappointed. Our rooms are always clean and the staff is amazing! The hotel is centrally located and even though the area is not in walking distance to anything, its fine since we are there to visit beautiful San Diego and not stay in our hotel. WE have never had a issue with the area being "shady" and have never worried about parking our luxury car there as well. We recently stayed out in Coronado at a 5 star and cut our stay short to come back to the Hampton since the rooms were just as nice and the Hampton does not nickel and dime you for everything; parking, gym, coffee, towels, internet, breakfast. Not to mention when I walked in the door they offered me water or a soft drink. Did not get that service at the 5 star. In fact, every Hampton we have stayed in through out the country has had the same quality service and hospitality. We are loyal customers and HHonors members!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The service is excellent - they are re-doing the exterior and the interior is okay, but looking a little worn. Typical airport motel - vending machines empty or not working. Ice machine broken. No snack shop but the front desk clerk did give me some trail mix. The beds did not have the little sticky note about clean comforters. The area is not so good. It's the first time at a Hampton Inn where I felt creeped-out as I walked from my car to the motel. It's very close to the airport, and the entire hotel is fenced in - which in theory sounds good, but the front gate is always open. Overall, its good for a quick overnight. If you're taking your kids to SeaWorld be prepared to explain to them the neon "NUDES" sign flashing across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Hts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great staff, very good room that met all our expectations. Breakfast is tops !!! Would defintely consider staying at this hotel again. The only negative is the immediated neighborhood is industrial and nudie bars are directly across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.