We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one but would not recommend more than one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #55 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good one but would not recommend more than one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was good and clean. They had a free breakfast and the breakfast was very good. It is located very close to the old town market to take the trolley tours if wanted. The only thing that would bother me is the area. The area is very shady and not good during the night time.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    316
    137
    45
    24
See reviews for
372
199
51
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here one night before leaving the San Diego area. The front desk staff was very nice and check in was a breeze. They are doing some construction on the back side of the building, which closed one of the entrances. We had to park way in back and there is limited parking. The room was clean and comfortable. We overlooked the pool area, which we did not use but it looked very nice. The large breakfast offerings made this an extra great value. Hot foods such as sausage, eggs and self-made waffles were available. There were a lot of families in the breakfast area, so it was quite busy. The staff did a great job of keeping things filled. I would definitely stay here again. Near Old Town area and Sea World. There is a Denny's restuarant right across the street and shopping and other offerings within driving distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn over spring break. Our room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful and polite. Breakfast in the morning was great with choices of both hot and cold items, but itgets very busy so make sure to take your patience with you. The hotel is within close driving distance of lots of restaurants and shopping and isn't far from Sea World, the Zoo or the beach. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel is in a poor location and is hard to find. Room was nice, but the hotel is not up to Hampton Inn standards in our opinion, plus a man was passed out on the floor on our hallway, which was very scary! Avoid this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hampton when we came to San Diego to visit another family member. We arrived a little early and were greeted by Eddie at the front desk. He was able to get us settled in our room and made great suggestions for the family to do. We did not have time for the usual Sea World/Zoo activities, but Eddie recommended several half-day activities. We had a great time walking, shopping and eating in Old Town. We also enjoyed the boardwalk theme at Belmont Park. These were perfect half day filler activities that cost little. The room was clean, the lobby was nice, the free breakfast was great for the family. Even though it was chilly, 60 deg, the pool was warm and the Jacuzzi was hot! Thanks Hampton!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, and the staff was quick to help us to our nice, clean, comfortable room. We asked for (and received) some recommendations on food options, and were given bottles of water to take to our room. The breakfast in the morning had a great selection of both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW LENOX
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I visited the hotel over the holidays. It was very well kept, clean and overall AAA. I want to say that Luisa Alvardo was awesome. Great customer service and very friendly.I will be staying here again when I have buisness in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.