We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Hampton!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #63 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint George
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love Hampton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for a 2 night stay. The room was clean and spacious and had a great view overlooking the pool area. The second morning the room was quite noisy from other guests who are inconsiderate that other guests are still sleeping at 7am. I wish people would learn hotel politeness. The breakfast was decent. Was dissapointed they served the same hot item both days but enjoyed a fresh homemade waffle. Staff was friendly and all in all a great place to rest your head.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and if possible on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    327
    146
    50
    32
See reviews for
390
209
53
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a two night business stay. The hotel was very comfortable. Breakfast was especially good (I stay at a lot of Hamptons). Room was comfortable and very quiet. What impressed me the most is the friendliness of the staff. The front desk staff greeted me with smiles and were very helpful and kind. The entire stay the staff were smiling and friendly. Those smiles lifted very heavy shoulders and was so welcomed and needed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I travel for work. Sometimes a few days sometimes I am in a hotel for a week. WhenI travel to San Diego I always stay at the Hampton Inn-San Diego Airport/ Sea World. They are right off the freeway and close to many resturaunts. The area is ideal if you are going to many of the San Diego hot spots or are going to the airport. The hotel is nice and the rooms are great! The pool is awesome. I enjoy having breakfast. They have bags to go if you run ot of time! The staff is always warm and friendly. And the priceis right!

Room Tip: I like the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this hotel is located in a great area near old town and is in a very quiet are. the staff is awesome and the rooms are clean and well sized. the only down part was if you tired to sleep in they were doing remodeling to the out side of the building so it was impossible to sleep in.

Room Tip: all were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The suite is clean.
Towels are clean and soft.
Nice parking.
Garden view is very nice.
Very friendly staff.
Comfortable beds with nice clean white linens.
Although, we only stayed one night but it is so nice that we will definitely stay if we come back to San Diego again.
Very quiet, far enough from the freeway. A little tricky to find it.

Room Tip: studio suites with a refrigerator, bar sink and microwave oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On arrival, we received a very warm welome. We were offered a choice of room types and locations. Our room was a very nice, quiet, large 2 bed room. We were pleased to find free internet, a refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and TV with HBO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staff here, in this dated hotel, was very friendly. The hotel does appear to be undergoing some renovations, but the room we had, while large enough for a family of 4, was showing its age. Our stay was a quick, over-nighter so we did not have a chance to experience the hotel's other ammenities. The staff kindly allowed us to leave our rental car in the lot, which was then picked up by the manager of the local Enterprise Car Rental (very, very good service).

Room Tip: Ask for one away from highway side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.