We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, worried at first :) but then WOW great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“wow, worried at first :) but then WOW great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dont judge a book by its cover, or in this case the hotel by its outside or area.
When i entered the lobby, the frst thought was , WOW, nicest Hampton inn lobby and breakfast area Ive ever encountered.
The front desk staff at check in were some of the friendliest and courteous Ive met.
Great experience, will stay here and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Request the rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    301
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
353
188
48
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Hampton Inn San Diego Airport/ Seaworld. The servcie is always outstanding ,the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The Staff is absolutely wonderful they make feel at home away from home. Guest Service Agent, Maxine Rivera was very helpful when I first checked in, She helped me fix a problem I had with my reservation. It is this kind of service that keeps me coming back. For me this is the ideal location since it is less than a mile from my job. Thank you for the great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed 7 nights at the hotel. I booked the room on the Hilton website. At check out I was overcharged by $100. The staff person who I attempted to ask to fix the error was rude. She was not wearing a name tag but said she was the manager, and that her name was Megan.The housekeeping staff are really friendly and I had a nice room. It's not really a quiet place, 3-4 rooms down from me I heard someone vomiting most of the night. The location is mixed ... right off the freeway, next door to "the largest strip club in the US", close to old town but not really a safe walk.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor R, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the billing issues you experienced as well as the level of service you received while resolving the issue. This is not typical at our hotel and I will be sure to address both issues with the appropriate teams. Thank you again and I hope you will consider our hotel in the future. ~ Victor Ravago, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 & 5 year old daughters. Our 2 queen room was big enough for us to spread out and have room for the kids to move around. Breakfast was always stocked and they had coffee all day. Front desk & all customer service was very helpful and pleasant. Pool was nice and warm even though it was a cool day. We liked that the room had a big balcony with two chairs that overlooked the pool area. Overall it was pretty quiet and we couldn't hear much noise from other rooms, but we were also there in the end of Oct, not the height of summer. It has several restaurants and stores very close by. A couple of the negatives we had were that the sink is really tall and hard for our daughters to reach, so we had to help them wash their hands every time, but I think this is standard for most Hamptons. Also, the sink area is not in with the tub and toilet, so it has no door and the wall between the beds and the sink is not a full wall, it had about a foot gap at the top, which makes the noises (sink, trying to dry hair, etc) louder to the bed area, but it wasn't really a problem for us and our needs. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Real enjoyed my stay at Hampton Inn San Diego Airport/ Seaworld. Their servcie was outstanding, and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The manager, Ms. Luisa Alvarado was very helpful when I first checked in, and asisted me by fixing a problem I had with my reservation. Thank you for the wonderful service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms and helpful, friendly staff. Centrally located near SeaWorld and Old Town and minutes from Downtown. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. Maxin goes out of her way to make everyone feel like a special guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dont let the neighborhood deter you; everything about the hotel is first class. The staff is among the best of any hotel we have stayed in, at any price point. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, and even have a small kitchen area. The baths are extra large as well. We walked to Old Towne with no problem, though you do have to cross a large street. The van to the airport was fine, though would have preferred a more flexible schedule than hourly.

Room Tip: The hotel is large with wings, so be specific if you need to have easy access. We found the rooms ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.