We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, great customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #47 of 268 hotels in San Diego
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Close to everything, great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 & 5 year old daughters. Our 2 queen room was big enough for us to spread out and have room for the kids to move around. Breakfast was always stocked and they had coffee all day. Front desk & all customer service was very helpful and pleasant. Pool was nice and warm even though it was a cool day. We liked that the room had a big balcony with two chairs that overlooked the pool area. Overall it was pretty quiet and we couldn't hear much noise from other rooms, but we were also there in the end of Oct, not the height of summer. It has several restaurants and stores very close by. A couple of the negatives we had were that the sink is really tall and hard for our daughters to reach, so we had to help them wash their hands every time, but I think this is standard for most Hamptons. Also, the sink area is not in with the tub and toilet, so it has no door and the wall between the beds and the sink is not a full wall, it had about a foot gap at the top, which makes the noises (sink, trying to dry hair, etc) louder to the bed area, but it wasn't really a problem for us and our needs. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    257
    109
    35
    18
See reviews for
305
151
40
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Real enjoyed my stay at Hampton Inn San Diego Airport/ Seaworld. Their servcie was outstanding, and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The manager, Ms. Luisa Alvarado was very helpful when I first checked in, and asisted me by fixing a problem I had with my reservation. Thank you for the wonderful service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms and helpful, friendly staff. Centrally located near SeaWorld and Old Town and minutes from Downtown. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. Maxin goes out of her way to make everyone feel like a special guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dont let the neighborhood deter you; everything about the hotel is first class. The staff is among the best of any hotel we have stayed in, at any price point. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, and even have a small kitchen area. The baths are extra large as well. We walked to Old Towne with no problem, though you do have to cross a large street. The van to the airport was fine, though would have preferred a more flexible schedule than hourly.

Room Tip: The hotel is large with wings, so be specific if you need to have easy access. We found the rooms ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors Member and I feel this hotel was not up to the standards set by other Hampton Inns. The hotel itself is in a sketchy neighborhood. I understand the cannot control the fact that there is construction, a sketchy alley behind the hotel, and a strip club within walking distance- not the hotel's fault. However, the broken tiles in the elevator, the ripped curtains in our room, and the shower head that was not working well are all things that can be fixed internally.

We had a room with 2 queen beds- one of them squeaked terribly! There was a past guest's floss left on the floor of our bathroom. Our sink did not drain well.

Pros: Cost- this hotel was cheaper then other hotels we'd looked at. I'm typically brand loyal to the Hilton brand and its affiliates- so Hampton is a name I usually consider. Location- besides the sketchy neighborhood this hotel actually is in- about a mile walk will get you to Old Town Transit Center- which is a much better neighborhood and you can catch a bus or a trolley to many different places in San Diego. Breakfast- like all Hampton Inns this one had the hot breakfast available in the lobby each morning. We are early risers and got up around 6:15 each morning and enjoyed breakfast. As we left on the last day around 9 the breakfast area was super crowded so consider that if you are on a schedule.

The thing that disappointed me the most about this hotel was the lack of customer service we received. We needed extra towels- and the maid was obviously upset that she would need extra supplies. Also- when checking out- we were not asked how the stay was. I would have explained some of the issues but the woman who checked us out said "Ok thank you- you're all set" and immediately began helping another party. Disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable! Nice location- close to freeway for travellers with cars, and 5 min walk to the Historical Old Town and main transit station. So it takes to you 30 min from the doors of hotel to get to the Sea World, Downtown and other attractions.
Delicious breakfast in the morning from 6 to 10. Free 24 hours coffee and tea in the lobby and fresh baked cookies in the evening.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
Nice swimming pool with pleasant warm water and cosy hot tub!!!
Highly recommend this hotel for everyone!

Room Tip: Gardenview rooms are more pricy but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Very nice Hampton hotel for the price in the area! Clean well maintained. Outstanding service. Definitely worth the money, close to seaworld.
You'll get an upgrade to a bigger room if you are an hhonors member.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.