We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Hilton's BEST if not the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of Hilton's BEST if not the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Looking for a hotel with a great location and an awesome staff who welcome everyone who pass through their doors? Look no further...

This is a true gem in San Diego. Easy access from all freeways and conviently located less than 4 miles from the Pacific Ocean, under 10 minuets to Sea World and walking distance to sporting events .

The staff here is very knowledgeable and can direct you to many activities for the traveling business person or families. Or local resturants for dining of all fares.

I had business locally in San Diego and surrounding areas. Today I was to check out and stay closer to my appointment in Mexicali, Mexico. However, I decided to stay another night at this location and drive the 200 plus miles today to return to this perticular hotel. Because of the great experience I have had.

I have had the opportunity to interact with a number of the staff and in each and every case they have been very professional and were quick to help. I travel some 200 plus days per year and this Hampton leads the way by comparison. The hotel all around is modern, bright and clean and the rooms are perfect as well. They pay attention to detail and are like a family away from home. I am sure they will make you feel welcome as well. Ohh, by the way the complimentary breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh each morning. I recommend this location highly and will stay again when conducting business in the San Diego area.

dfsb /:-))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    301
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
353
188
48
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here while visiting Sea World and Zoo. Great place. Convenient location for traveling to Sea World and the Zoo. Accommodations were excellent. Great breakfast - many choices. Lots of families came for the scrumptious breakfast while we ate there. Since it has a large eating area including outside tables by the pool, there was room for many guests. Room was great! Excellent customer service!! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It is hard to review this property since its location is the pits! You definitely need a car to get to any of the area tourist sites. We chose this location (because I love the Hampton Inn on the Embarcodero) because it was close to both the Sports Arena where we had tickets for a concert and Sea World where my husband had never been. Unfortunately, we didn't know that the extended weekend we visited was also a "kids free" weekend at Sea World - the place was packed with tons of little kids running all over the place at breakfast. The entire dining area and all the front lobby with families trying to find space to eat as well a the small space outdoor space near the pool.

The free breakfasts were really good - lots of variety each day and ample amounts available unless perhaps you got there five minutes before the scheduled end. The staff was remarkable at keeping the place clean with all those kids running amok (parents should really pay more attention!). I give the staff lots of credit for the tolerance they showed with kids jumping off knee walls and the main staircase into the lobby!

Our king-sized bedroom with sitting area was really quite nice. Our balcony was to an inside courtyard, but at least it was not an outside view of the industrial area this property is located in - and that is the bad part of this review. The hotel is only a block away from one of the biggest porn shops in California and "girls, girls, girls." Hardly a neighborhood where I would want to walk with children - in fact, when we returned the "back way" from the Sports Arena, we realized we could have walked to the venue (and saved the $20 parking fee) IF we were in a group and had billyclubs because of the unsavory characters that frequented the roadways.

I think for families visiting Sea World and wanting a well-priced hotel with very good staff and an excellent free breakfast, this is a good deal. But as a couple with no kids, we will probably not stay again...there are just too many good places to stay in San Diego and I'd rather be back downtown where public transportation is closer. The location right off the confluence of I-8 and I-5 is convenient, but difficult to cross traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing either the inside courtyard which has a gazebo and I assume is quieter than ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to San Diego on a very busy weekend. We unfortunately went through a third party to book our room and needed to check out a day early. I was getting the run around about checking out early from the third party and it was very upsetting. Mark, the Hampton Inn Night Auditor, slipped a note under our door the next morning stating he had taken care of everything.

Thank you Mark!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I arrived in San Diego via Amtrak, while on the train from Los Angles I call the hotel and asked which San Diego Amtrak station was closest. The hotel said Old Town and when I asked if they could pick me up at that Station to my surprise they said SURE. Got to the train station called the hotel and they were right there to pick me up. The front desk person on arrival were very friendly. The room was very comfortable and complimentary breakfast the next day was great. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation they had both the standard sort of list but when asked further they recommended an excellent restaurant. The restaurant they recommended was one that we certainly would have never gone to other than the recommendation. The day of check out I asked about a late check out because of having a later flight reservation and without blinking an eye they said SURE how about 2:00 PM which fit nicely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was sleep in this hotel two night in september (21 & 22.09).
The breakfast are a nightmare, 20/30 min waiting for a free table.
The front desk it's all except a front desk:
at the 09.00 a.m. in full check-out, 15 people waiting but the front desk are busy to sell slowly many ticket for Sea World instead make a check-out for the customer.
I ask for leave the key (room prepaid with hotels.com, confirmation number 110482784098), and the miss respond me "all ok".
After 2 day i find in my Amex a Fraud debit from this Hotel !!!
Hilton has fallen very low with this Hotel.
Avoid full this [--] hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor R, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please reach out to us directly so that we may further resolve the billing errors you encountered. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you. ~ Victor H. Ravago, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 7 years ago and liked it and after looking at hotwire options we chose to stay here again because of location and the good breakfast. This place is close to most everything you would want to do. It's a quick walk to the harbor area and the depot. You're a quick drive from just about everything else, including La Jolla. The staff is very accommadating, rooms are nice, breakfast is very good. Parking is not too expensive and you get your own car so its not a big deal any time you want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area

Address: 3888 Greenwood Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport hotel is conveniently located near Old Town and Sports Arena Blvd. We are within walking distance of Old Town and San Diego Trolley Station. We are minutes from the airport, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches and downtown. We are also near to Point Loma Nazarene University, USD, SDSU, UCSD. Enjoy our Free breakfast each morning and free wired and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego Airport / Seaworld Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego-Sea World/Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.