We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property & grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Helena
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property & grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & suites have beautiful grounds a great pub, dancing, live music and a fabulous happy hour with drink and food specials. We had a great time on the property and a great view of the marina. We had the good fortune of having our room upgraded to a suite! Lots of fun and the San Diego Trolley Tour will pick you up from the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    330
    111
    73
    42
See reviews for
258
356
35
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cool
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This stay was during my recent trip to San Diego in January 2014. This review is for Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites in San Diego, California.

Property: Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites
Location: San Diego, California
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Dieog, CA 92106
Phone: (619) 224-3411
Website: www.halfmooninn.com
Room Type/Class: Standard (Room 211)
Date: January 16 - January 18, 2014
Booking Source: Hotwire
Overall Rating: 4/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites is on Shelter Island, and is well known in music concert circles as a stellar "all in one" style venue with an outdoor amphitheater, hotel, and restaurant.

This was actually my second stay, but I did not review the stay I had in conjunction with a concert in 2012 as it was the one time I accidentally deleted my images taken of the property.

It is in a really unique location on the water, and has a bit of a tropical sort of flavor.

There is ample temporary parking in front of the lobby to make check-in easier - once they provide you with your room keys and other material, you can use your key to access parking closer to your room. They charge $10 per night for overnight parking, as well as a "passport fee" of $9.95.

I think this is more of an "off season" for them, so I was provided with one of the second story rooms with a direct view of the concert stage, which was cool to get an idea of what these rooms must be like for concert nights.

The room was comfortable, with a large king-sized bed, full desk, and deck off the slider with two chairs.

The room also included an empty refrigerator, microwave, and wall safe in the closet.

Wi-Fi was included, and I did not encounter any connection or speed issues (as I have with other properties in the past).

Overall, the room did feel a a bit "tired", and in need of some updating/renovation, but it was clean and fully functional.

I was in two to cover concert events off site both nights I stayed, so did not have an opportunity to take advantage of the restaurant, pool, or other amenities.

The hotel definitely served my needs, and I would stay there again given similar circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So cal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great hotel. The last 2 times we stayed here Sheila at the front desk has been very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and there are great views of the marina. The rooms are clean and perfect for a family trip or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our stay here was amazing! We had a view of the water. Beautiful pool and jacuzzi , kind of felt like we were in Hawaii. The koi fish in the pond was nice to see. The halfmoon cafe was really nice. I had the crab cake sandwich with avocado. It was delicious

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband was in San Diego on business and I joined him on the trip. We had a lovely suite with a separate bedroom, a huge living space and a nice terrace overlooking the bay. It is very close to the airport but not too noisy. Some traffic noise but not a problem with terrace doors closed. They were very helpful with local sights. It is walking distance to multiple restaurants and a nice little business area. They shuttled us to and from the airport, gave us coupons for local attractions. We didn't use the pool much because it was cold but did sit out there. They have a pretty little koi pond and some charming parrots out by the pool and saw several Great Blue Herons just hanging about. The happy hour food was quite reasonably priced, nothing special. I wouldn't recommend their restaurant too much except for convenience, expensive and not special. Much better to walk down the street to some of the restaurants there.

Room Tip: View is better on the outside, noise better on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I found a great deal for this hotel on Living Social which is like groupon. It looked wonderful from the pictures and it gave the best price for that location. It was so close to the bay, everything around it was so beautiful, and coffee shops within .6 Miles of the location. Restaurants were close as well...my only recommendation is that you should rent a car rather than using a taxi (depending on how far you want to go.)

There was an employee named Bryan at this hotel, he delivered such amazing customer service to us, I'll be visiting this hotel again in the future. The pool & hot tub at night are just amazing, the landscaping makes you feel like you're in a tropical paradise.

One of our lights went out and after we told housekeeping in the morning they had someone come to the room within 10 min to replace the bulb. That's awesome service there, they were all courtious and friendly.

I usually don't give an excellent rating unless it truely was one, so rare for me to do so. I love this hotel though! You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, choose the tropical view rooms...on the first floor (you get a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just got back from a family vacation to San Diego and we stayed a couple of our nights at Humphreys. It is on Shelter Island which is about 5 min. from the airport (but you don't hear any of the noise) and is very close to restaurants and the beautiful marina. Our room was in section A (this is fine as long as there are no shows going on that night as our balcony faced the outdoor stage where they often have performances) and it was clean and well maintained. The bathroom looked recently redone with granite counters and there were plenty of clean towels for the whole family. The shower temperature was a bit temperamental but otherwise, fine. The beds were comfy and there is a safe and a small fridge in the room. They have a lovely little pond with fish and turtles in it as well as 2 beautiful large parrots sitting around in the open area (my kids loved it). The heated pool is huge and warm (83F) with lots of comfy seats around it and there was also a hot tub. Even in the cool evenings, you can swim in it! We never tried their restaurant but apparently it's decent. You are right on the marina so you can see the open water and lots of boats (lovely sight!). They do charge you $10 a night for parking and $9.85 a day for resort fee but the grounds are well maintained and they do offer free bike rental (2 hours) if you want it. I needed some directions and tourist info and the front desk was very helpful and friendly. They also have a computer station with a printer which I used for free to print out our boarding passes for our flight home. All in all I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a early sleeper or there with little kids during their concert season, do not choose sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.