We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had a wonderful room with a view of the marina. Room was comfortable and slept like a baby.! Didn't want to leave the room so ordered room service. Great food and service! Front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. The night was relaxing, quiet, and I will definitely use this hotel again!!!! Felt like I was in Hawaii but was in San Diego!

Room Tip: A room with the marina view was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    349
    119
    75
    45
See reviews for
272
383
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My son and I arrived during the quiet season - didnt get much sleep the first night. I could hear the people in the adjoining room (we shared a common wall). They werent hoopin it up, just could hear them talk, sing, sneeze, etc. The next morning when I called the front desk they were super accommodating and moved us to a nicer room overlooking the putting range - we were close to the 2 water fountains - it was truly lovely. I really cant complain, they took very good care of us. The housekeeping was phenomenal. Very thorough and gracious.
I would recommend this facility in a heartbeat - they could stand a little bit less dated decor, but nonetheless well worth the value.

Room Tip: Ask what the vacancy is so that you can be strategically placed for a good night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a fantastic marina view from my room…great room service and superb staff! The room was comfortable, well appointed and relaxing! Spent three days enjoying San Diego sunshine in a tropical paradise! I can't wait to return in January. Humphrey's is my new "go to" hotel for R & R.
Try it ~ you won't be sorry!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a marina view ~ it's well worth it! Patio, little out door tables…!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got back from a weekend surprise party at Humphrey's that I planned for 30 people (at least 10 rooms were reserved) and had to review!

Reservations:
Quick, easy, super friendly (even when I had to modify my reservation)

Front Desk:
Everyone was friendly AND fun! The bell boy had TONS of stuff to unload from our car and distribute to multiple rooms... he did not get anything wrong or mixed up... and smiled the whole time we girls were trying to explain what we wanted.
The front desk even fulfilled my request to call me when the birthday boy got his room key, so we could gather up and hide for his surprise when he entered the room!

Rooms:
I had a ginormous suite with a dining area and full kitchen. We had 20 people in there pre-partying before the bday boy showed up... surprised the heck out of him. We had a beautiful view of the marina... lovely to wake up to blue skies, boats and the water!

We did not have any of the noise issues others have noted, BUT then again... if you choose to stay on a concert night... how can you possibly expect it to be quiet?

Backstage Lounge:
The waitstaff were friendly, accomodating and very patient with some of the more "drunker" people in my group. (One time, I received an incorrect drink... the bartender fixed it for me no questions asked and super fast!) The band was awesome... we danced the night away.

Room Service:
I did not have room service but others in my party did and enjoyed their meal.
The room service waiter, even got punk'd by some of my not so sober jokesters and upon realization that he was punk'd ... laughed at the whole thing.

This is not the first time I have stayed at "The Hump" as we locals call it ... certainly not the last.

ps... walk across the street to the big parking lot and look at the view of the San Diego skyline... whether by day or by night... it was pretty spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view and enjoy the view of all the boats in their slips. If you want to be far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After spending a fun night parting in the backstage lounge I came back to my room and was instantly gobbled up by fluffy pillows and an awesomely comfy bed. It was hard to get out the next morning. It is yet another reason to go to Humphrey's. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. We go down to San Diego several times a year. We usually stay on Shelter Island at the Best Western and have wonderful time and we will go back there. Since we were going to a concert we thought to enjoy the Humphreys Half Moon Inn. We were helped by an AMAZING lady Gen at front desk, After that it was down hill. If you have mobility issues you are given the WORST room on the property. Right next to the concert venue. I would not have an issue of the concert venue but, be prepared to stay awake until the early morning hours from the noise of the concert crew dismantling and loading gear into trucks. Also, your view is nothing like the pictures. You get a view of the parking lot. There was a concert that had first come seating. We had concert goers leaning on our car, lots of people hanging out right in front of the patio. When I complained about the noise, the manager argued that she did not hear noise. Umm, I was there and I was the one trying to sleep. In fact every issue from the manager was met with a ho-hum attitude. The staff was more concerned about our stay, room service (over one hour and delivered cold). We waited hours to check in. The pool bar (the only bar) was closed "for the season" We were there Oct 30 and 31 Almost $400. for two nights with taxes and "spa fees" is outrageous.

Room Tip: Room 116 is TERRIBLE. Your view is the parking lot. Literally, your patio is about 18 inches from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here while attending conference at the San Diego convention center. Our room was on the first floor facing the pool. The lobby, pool, hot tub, restaurant, bar and gardens were very clean and well kept. The tropical style feels like an escape somewhere special. Beautiful sunsets and views of bay. Works stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.