We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Comfy beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After spending a fun night parting in the backstage lounge I came back to my room and was instantly gobbled up by fluffy pillows and an awesomely comfy bed. It was hard to get out the next morning. It is yet another reason to go to Humphrey's. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    349
    119
    75
    45
See reviews for
272
383
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. We go down to San Diego several times a year. We usually stay on Shelter Island at the Best Western and have wonderful time and we will go back there. Since we were going to a concert we thought to enjoy the Humphreys Half Moon Inn. We were helped by an AMAZING lady Gen at front desk, After that it was down hill. If you have mobility issues you are given the WORST room on the property. Right next to the concert venue. I would not have an issue of the concert venue but, be prepared to stay awake until the early morning hours from the noise of the concert crew dismantling and loading gear into trucks. Also, your view is nothing like the pictures. You get a view of the parking lot. There was a concert that had first come seating. We had concert goers leaning on our car, lots of people hanging out right in front of the patio. When I complained about the noise, the manager argued that she did not hear noise. Umm, I was there and I was the one trying to sleep. In fact every issue from the manager was met with a ho-hum attitude. The staff was more concerned about our stay, room service (over one hour and delivered cold). We waited hours to check in. The pool bar (the only bar) was closed "for the season" We were there Oct 30 and 31 Almost $400. for two nights with taxes and "spa fees" is outrageous.

Room Tip: Room 116 is TERRIBLE. Your view is the parking lot. Literally, your patio is about 18 inches from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here while attending conference at the San Diego convention center. Our room was on the first floor facing the pool. The lobby, pool, hot tub, restaurant, bar and gardens were very clean and well kept. The tropical style feels like an escape somewhere special. Beautiful sunsets and views of bay. Works stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I wanted to like Humphreys so much more than I did. The property is gorgeous and its location near our wedding reception venue (Bali Hai) couldn't be beat.

Pros:
The view. We stayed in a Grand Marina View suite and our view was awesome. We sat out on our patio and enjoyed a drink with the cool breeze and it was amazing.

The kitchen with full sized fridge, giant dining table (great for wedding hair and make-up set-up!), couches (not very comfortable, but provided ample sitting), an abundance of closet space.

Cons:
The noise, OH MY GAWD THE NOISE. Considering we paid a good amount of money to stay there 4 nights, I would think that would buy us a little bit of peace and quiet. However, there was an adjoining bedroom and you could hear E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G. Literally, everything. I could sit on the couch 10-15 feet away from the adjoining door and transcribe conversations occurring in that room. Even better was the argument we awoke to going on in another room the night of our wedding (lovely way to kickstart the marriage!) with the man shouting the F-bomb every few seconds.

The room also needed some TLC; the towel rack above the toilet and the shower curtain rod were both hanging halfway off. The light above the shower was ringed with rust. And the beams in the ceiling of the living room looked like they were once painted white, pressure-washed off to have the natural "rustic" look, but like somebody half-assed it in the hard-to-reach areas because there were many MANY obvious areas where white paint remained. The room was also poorly lit; the living room/dining area were fine as they faced the marina but everywhere else was really dim.

Last but not least, the smell. It smelled like skunk. It went away whenever we left the sliding glass doors open (which because of the weather we did anytime we were in the room). However, if we left for any extended period of time, the smell inevitably returned. I originally thought the neighbors in the adjoining room were smoking some really bad weed and reported that to the front desk but because it persisted I think a skunk may have violated that room at some point.

I will disclaim that I didn't bother reporting much of this to the hotel; I could tell there really wasn't any point - there was another wedding the night before ours, as well as the final concert of the season, and the hotel was packed. I did complain about a constantly-barking dog though, and they took care of it as quickly as they could.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here last weekend in October and were given a suite overlooking the marina. Really nice location in shelter island with easy access to San Diego and local bars and restaurants . Free parking and wifi. Easy booking in and out process. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay here again if going to san diego

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are attending a concert. The concert venue is cozy and intimate and you can walk across the hotel grounds to get to and from the concert. Very very convenient.

The grounds are wonderful with lots of plants and trees. It has a real tropical feel. The hotel has been around along time, but the rooms were modern and very clean. It has a big pool in a nice setting.

We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The is a great place to stay in San Diego. We like to walk the shore of Shelter Island which is just across the street. The second floor rooms have better views and are more quiet. If you want to avoid crowds, be sure to check the concert schedule because the prices and noise levels certainly go up on concert dates!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the San Diego bay or the marina on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.