We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here last weekend in October and were given a suite overlooking the marina. Really nice location in shelter island with easy access to San Diego and local bars and restaurants . Free parking and wifi. Easy booking in and out process. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay here again if going to san diego

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    384
    140
    81
    50
See reviews for
300
437
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are attending a concert. The concert venue is cozy and intimate and you can walk across the hotel grounds to get to and from the concert. Very very convenient.

The grounds are wonderful with lots of plants and trees. It has a real tropical feel. The hotel has been around along time, but the rooms were modern and very clean. It has a big pool in a nice setting.

We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The is a great place to stay in San Diego. We like to walk the shore of Shelter Island which is just across the street. The second floor rooms have better views and are more quiet. If you want to avoid crowds, be sure to check the concert schedule because the prices and noise levels certainly go up on concert dates!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the San Diego bay or the marina on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived for a romantic anniversary weekend getaway to find we were given a double room, rather than the requested king room. The handle on the patio door was hanging off a single screw, locks on the adjoining room door were totally broken, timbers on the balcony were rotten and unsafe, and the toilet paper roller was barely attached to the wall, surrounded by holes from previous mounting attempts.

Went to the desk to complain and were immediately moved to another (king) room. This one was facing the parking lot, which served as the finish line for a 5K! Talk about crowds of noisy people. Not an ideally romantic space. The desk attendant did provide a room service credit for dessert - but only after we forced the issue.

This is a beautiful hotel, with lovely grounds, and a tradition among San Diegans for being a premiere destination. However, it is utterly run down and rather embarrassing at this point. Would not book another stay here.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel, or be very specific about your needs for up-keep, privacy, and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was supposed to be a rest in a busy visit touring California.
First the positives - rooms were nice and big and clean, area & hotel grounds lovely, pool was nice.
Negatives - we asked for a quiet room which we were not given - we were on road and were woken by 7.30am every day with traffic and room doors banging - this was supposed to be our rest of the break! Fee of $10 a day for parking of car as well as $10 a day resort fee. For the resort fee you got free internet and booklet of money off vouchers for restaurant & bar (obviously to get you to use their facilities) - which we used twice - once for breakfast which was a pleasant experience and once for an evening meal which was a disappointment. On the evening we felt as we weren't spending lots (having main meal and soft drinks) we weren't given good service by the man servicing us at all. On check out we weren't asked if we had enjoyed stay - just given the room bill and took our money! Customer service lacking.
There was other restaurants, take always etc in area - you could walk to them but a car is really needed in this area to get around.
Don't think we'd stay here again which is a shame as could be fantastic if they just paid more attention to the little details.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed at this property as a "stay-cation", and while our hotel portion of the stay was positive, our experience at the restaurant was not. We happened to be there on a concert night, and the availability of a table was not immediate, however we were happy to wait in the bar until such a time that a table became available. This seemed to take forever... When we inquired about how long this was taking we were informed by the guy in charge, Blaise I believe, we were abruptly dismissed as though we were second class citizens, and informed that we needed to continue waiting in the bar. His demeanor was quite rude, something I would not expect from someone who is apparently a manager! I will not return to this location for my next stay-cation. Very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Dell P.,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am happy to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed the hotel, I am truly sorry to read about your experience in the restaurant. Please let me reassure you this is not the level of service I expect for our guests, from employees and certainly not from a manager. We could have done a much better job in how the situation was handled.
If there is anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me. We hope to see both of you again in the future and hope for the opportunity to turn your experience around.
Sincerely,
Dawn Sanders
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Overall very good, great location, easy to get around to different attractions in a matter of a few minutes, with the exception of the Sarfari Park, that was bout a 30 minute drive, but not bad. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful. Restaurant nice, quick, and food good, a bit pricy but your at a resort. Want cheap go down the road to Mc D. Only complain would be, the bedI don't know if the mattress was just wore out or it had a some type of plastic liner on it, was really noisy, Mattress was comfy for me but kinda hard overall, Would We stay there again? Absolutely!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#62 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#84 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.