We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful Hotel - they even have concerts - right on the Marina - quiet and the pool was large and had a 9ft deep end. Great restaurant inside hotel and more that you can walk to. We even checked out bikes for free.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from pool if you want quiet as it is open late and kids are having a good time. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    341
    116
    74
    44
See reviews for
268
370
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 6 lovely nights here and were very pleased. The room was comfy and beautifully decorated. It was nice having a small patio to enjoy the evening drink. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Room service was great for late night drinks and chocolate covered strawberries.

We didn't know about the concert hall when we booked. It was a nice surprise, but also the only downer. Specifically trying to park during the concert times. It was frustrating having to struggle to find a parking spot close to the room after paying $10/night for the privilege. They should reserve enough spots for guests and direct concert guests to another lot. One night we had to park down near the restaurant. Granted, it is not that far a walk...restaurant, concert hall, and hotel are all on the same block....but our room was on the opposite end of the row... next to lobby... and there were lots of people around for the concert. So we stopped in at the backstage and had a couple of drinks until the crowd cleared. This was a lovely spot. We enjoyed listening to the band... 52nd Street. Admission is free for guests.

The pool is large with lots of seating, plenty of towels, with drinks and food service available.

We plan on returning. Hopefully getting a room overlooking the water or the concert hall and plan on enjoying the music and the relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on July 26th and 27th, 2012 and the hotel has beautiful grounds, wonderful pool, nice rooms, and very friendly, helpful staff. Downsides: parking lots are small, with small spaces, and there is a $10/night charge for parking. Many restaurants in the area within walking distance, which is good because on concert nights the hotel restaurant is busy and has a limited menu. Did not go to Sheryl Crow concert which was held the nights we stayed there, but could hear the concert from the pool which was nice. Hotel is in great location, right on walking paths which have beautiful views of the bay. Some rooms face the marina, but our room faced the pool area, which also is a pretty view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

While we were greatly pleased with the location of this hotel, our room (C126) was old. The bed (king size) was hard as a brick and squeaked as we got into it. Also, the doors on the rooms are so heavy (and set to slam closed automatically) that it was very noisy just from that since there are 4-6 rooms facing each other in the buildings and, of course, everyone keeps different hours. If you plan on sleeping in (past 7:00 a.m.), you should probably get a room somewhere else.

Room Tip: If I were to do it again, I would ask if there were any renovated rooms available. Our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days every year for the past 6 years. Great location but rooms are outdated. We get the suite which has a small kitchen. Pool and grounds are kept up and the concerts at night always bring in a crowd which makes things interesting. Grounds have a putting green and croquet equipment. Pool gets crowded in the afternoon.

Room Tip: rooms facing the marina are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHMI, Guest Relations Manager at Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Diego and for your continued patronage of Humphreys over the years! We truly appreciate it as well as your feedback.
We are in the process of a full renovation, however the larger one bedroom suites and a handful of junior suites have not been renovated yet. These suites are scheduled to be renovated starting this fall.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you back on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After spending three lovely nights at the Pacific Terrace hotel in Pacific Beach, this hotel was a little bit of a let down.

It seems a little outdated and our room gave us a parking view... not the best. The room was spacious but the carpet and furniture was not in perfect condition.

The hotel was quite busy with a red carpet event the night we were there which made it noisy. Also, the hotel seems to be a popular spot for families with many small children. Also, no help from the staff to get our luggage to the third floor.

It was not too expensive so the value was decent.

Where we were truly surprised was the restaurant. Humphreys restaurant was great. This place is a hidden gem. And I'm pretty well travelled in terms of restaurants from local eateries to three-star Michelin. It might have been because we had no expectations for that place but our meal was excellent and not expensive. We picked plates that centered around sea fare and everything was good. On top of that, the dining room is beautiful with views of the marina. Seriously, check this place out.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

paid way too much for a 'junior suite' that turned out to be a slightly larger than average hotel room. did have a beautiful view though.

no bottled water, no minibar, drinking glasses not replaced when the room cleaned. the second day, the room was still not cleaned by 3:30 pm. parking $10/day extra. at night security guards tell you where not to go because there's a concert going on.

the worst part was that the bed was right by the door so you hear every dish from room service in the morning and every door opening and shutting down the hall all night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.