We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded Tiki-style motel/hotel, nice grounds, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Upgraded Tiki-style motel/hotel, nice grounds, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

60's tiki-style motel/hotel with updated and attractive rooms. Grounds were lush and the pool area was very nice; one wing of hotel faced the marina. Our room faced the parking lot which wasn't so great, but I got a last-minute internet deal at $99 so couldn't complain; although they do stick you with a $10 parking fee, and there aren't any other overnight options. No "resort fee", tho. Walls a bit thin, but not bad if you don’t have party-hearty neighbors. The restaurant was very stylish and attractive with a reasonably priced menu (same as the neighboring restaurants). Lively happy hour at Backdoor Stage with 1/2 off drinks and appetizers. Only stayed one night, so didn't use the pool or eat in the restaurant. No concert that night at the outdoor concert venue, so I have no idea how that would have affected the stay.

Great location on Shelter Island, which faces the S.D. inlet channel on one side and a large marina on the other. Other hotels and restaurants nearby. Not walking distance to harbor or Gaslamp areas - they are about a 5 mile drive along the Harbor Drive. But centrally located and short drive to these and most other areas, like Harbor/Gaslamp, Seaport Village, Mission Bay, Mission/Pacific/Ocean beached, zoo, etc.

Hard to beat at that price considering location, summer in San Diego; would like to go back again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Interior and marina facing rooms are more ambient, but priced accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    367
    126
    77
    47
See reviews for
284
411
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went for a dinner and a concert. Both were fantastic. The hotel was a different story.
The first room that we were given was very dark and smelled musty. We were moved to another room which was better. Over the years we have stayed at this property on many occasions. It seems to be getting run down. It is not somewhere that we are planning on going back to any time soon. We stayed at an adjoining hotel last year which was much nicer. If you are going to Shelter Island stay at the Island Palms or Kona Kai.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
1,018 helpful votes 1,018 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My room was wonderful and had been updated. I have stayed here since 1981 and really love this place. Some rooms have not yet been updated and they do show their age but if you get one that has been updated you will really enjoy it. You cannot beat the setting on Shelter Island with the Marina behind the hotel, the concert series on the property in the summer and the wonderful walk down the waters edge to see the Navy base across the way and the might US Navy fleet coming and going.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, straight after our flight into LA. Thankfully the beds were comfy, pillows lovely. Everything was clean and smart. The location is good with lovely views of the downtown skyline. Be prepared to pay pricey parking rates though if you go into town for dinner. For breakfast there's a nice diner nice diner up the road with a good selection -cheaper than the hotel's breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just my son and I travelling, when we checked in we were asked where we would like our room to be or would we like to upgrade. I was a bit confused so the receptionist gave me some keys, gave us a map and we got to explore the property. All 3 rooms were fabulous but we ended up upgrading to a full suite on the marina ( I love boats) with a full kitchen.

Very impressed that they let us pick out our own room. Pool was wonderful, bands in the neighboring/attached bar were really good. Got a free bike rental and explored the island. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Lobby staff were very helpful. This is not a Ritz but a great, down to earth, family friendly, tropical oasis.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have been on vacation in San Diego about 8 times now, I have always stayed at Humphrey's Half Moon in Shelter Island. I really like the area it feels safe and relaxed and my family and I have become attached to Humphrey's.
One of the highlights of our vacation is having breakfast in the mornings in their beautiful restaurant. There is a beautiful view looking out at the boats in the marina, the freshly cooked breakfast is top quality and the staff are very professional and friendly.
This year there were no concerts taking place during our visit, but if I'm honest I would say I enjoyed it more without the concerts; less noise and less problems parking at nights.
There is a very good outdoor pool, however it gets very busy.
I really like the restaurants in the Shelter Island area, you can walk to some of them close by if you wish such as Miguel's and Fiddler's Green. I also enjoy the pizzas at Pizza Nova on Harbour Drive (about 1.5 miles away).
Shelter Island is a good location, close to the airport, convenient for the zoo and Seaworld. This year we went for a drive around La Jolla and also played minature golf at Del Mar.
Many thanks to Sheila for helping with my booking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed at Humphrey's August 13th for the America Concert. We love this hotel, have stayed here before. The grounds are beautiful, perfectly maintained. The rooms are too!! All staff members are attentive and friendly. We booked a concert package, including dinner and a junior suite. The dinner in this package deal is priced at $65.00 per person. When you add cocktails and a bottle of wine on top of that...it's pricey! The dinner includes soup or salad, main course and dessert from a special concert menu. Good food, but not so special for the price. Could have , at least, tossed in a glass of wine?? If you price similar items on their regular dinner menu, the price would be in the $40.00 range.
The concert venue is the best...1400 seats outdoors on the bay... WoW!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.