We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #120 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Our stay at paradise point was perfect. The staff was excellent and they where always available to answer questions. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The view from the room was spectacular. I would never stay anywere else.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    691
    414
    264
    255
See reviews for
1,063
626
46
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights, and were disappointed at the size and condition of our room. The carpet was nylon, and fraying around the edges. Decor was tired and grubby and the air con unit, although very efficient, was so NOISY that we were unable to sleep, and when the refrigerator kicked in, it sounded like a plane was in our room! Eventually we became accustomed to it, and slept better after the first 2 nights - the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was really powerful. The best facility on the resort, without a doubt, was the adult pool. Its well appointed with luxurious sun beds, and the bar is nice. We were disappointed that, having paid a lot of money to stay there, they were keen to grab more money for things like use of the gym, and PARKING!! Food and atmosphere at the Barefoot Bar was good. Surroundings imaginatively planned, gave a real Tropical feel. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, we would definitely return, but would try to ensure that our room was better.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

First the good things: The king size bed was very comfortable, the grounds could have been quite pretty, and the shower had great water pressure.

The bad things: "Service" was horrible, and I am not a person who is interested in overly-attentive service, but like it to be decent. It wasn't. The first day we ate at the casual restaurant. We waited about 15 minutes to order (finally went and got a waitress) and literally 30 minutes for a plate of nachos and 2 kids dinners of chicken fingers, and 2 glasses of wine.The restaurant was not crowded and we saw lots of wait-staff come and go from the kitchen. We did not try the other restaurant, so I don't know how that would have been. In general staff were not very nice or helpful.

We went there again the second night, basically because we had tired and some jet-lagged kids with us (rather than go find a better restaurant off the resort as others have correctly suggested). The waiter paid more attention to our tables, but that didn't seem to stop him from forgetting stuff and for the whole thing to just took way too long.

The room was ok, but just ok. There was a used band-aid stuck to the bed post (how did cleaners miss that??) Our alarm clock was left set by previous guests for 6 am. I wouldn't expect staff to check for that, but it could be a nice thing to think of. I guess we will next time. Our friend's room (with a little kitchenette and living-room area in addition to the bedroom) was downright dirty and run down. She is from NY so when she first described it I thought she meant it was like shabby-chic and maybe she just wasn't used to that Ca. style (which I like) but no, when I saw it I realized it was just shabby.

The grounds were pretty, with flowers, ducks, etc. The rooms overlooking the little cove were cute, and the kids enjoyed digging and playing by the quiet water. But again, not terribly clean. Our room had 2 little chairs overlooking a grassy area outside that was pretty, but the trash everywhere seemed to be overflowing, and the whole place just has this run down, rather than resort-like feeling.

The parts of it were nice had little to do with the resort which is ridiculously overpriced for what it is. It was nice because we were in San Diego, which is beautiful, and because we were seeing our friends and playing with our kids. Our little trip was not ruined by staying there, because it would take a lot to make San Diego unpleasant, but it did bug us all that we had paid for and expected (nice website) something that this place did not deliver.

The bottom line is this place should be either cheaper or nicer. If it was the cost of a normal hotel room (not a resort, which it isn't) that would be fine, it could be a decent family place that is a little worn out but fun. If it was much nicer and shinier and the service was decent and the rooms and grounds more uniformly kept then they could charge what they do and that would be ok. As it is, I would say find a nice hotel room and go enjoy the beaches, restaurants, and attractions of San Diego. I would not recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

I recently returned from what was going to be a 4 night stay, after 2 nights. I spent more time in the lobby dealing with room problems than on my vacation. It's too bad. Five years ago I had a nice experience, but the hotel has become very run-down. My room was changed 4 times, each with problems. Each room had a musty odor, worn and dirty carpets, and cob-webs. The first one had only one bed even though I requested 2 (not going to work with 3 kids.) The next room had no windows and felt like a dungeon. One room had a water leak, which looks like it had been a problem for quite a while. Our last room had a bathroom light fixture explode, sending shattered pieces of light bulb everywhere, and had missing window coverings on the front door (which is a see-thru glass door that faces the street.) The grounds are nice, but right now some of the lagoons look more like swamps. The main pool is nice, with the other 4 being nothing to speak of. The prices are high, especially for the present condition, and everything is an extra expense -- self-parking, gym, bikes, mini-golf, etc. This hotel is in desperate need of some major TLC!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

We had a wonderful time in San Diego and would highly recommend this as a family vacation destination. We stayed at the Paradise Point Resort upon the recommendation from a friend, although were somewhat cautious about staying there after reading other peoples' reviews. The Resort grounds are absolutely gorgeous!!! There was lush greenery, flowers and ponds throughout...not to mention the convienience of having a beach within walking distance. Our kids, ages 4 & 7 were enchanted by the water, the beach and the daily visits from ducks, who came to our patio daily for a friendly visit (this was a real winning point for the kids).

We found our room accomodations to be "adequate", with a "beach house" feel. There was nothing fancy about the room we were assigned to: a small room with 2 double beds, a small table, a television hutch with drawers and a small dorm-sized refrigerator (which we found helpful to stock with drinks and lucheon meats), as the Resort's restaurants were over priced and the food was only "adequate". There was a sizable walk-in closet a nice sized vanity area, with the bath & toilet in a separate room. The cleanliness of the room was questionable...although we had no difficulities with any ants or other bugs. I didn't feel the accommodations were worthy of the heafty price we paid per night. Also note that this agency has the nerve to charge for parking on top of what you're already paying!!! ($18 per night). The pool areas are nice, but not very clean.

If you plan to spend lots of time in and around the actual Resort, this is a beautiful place to stay, but if, like us, you plan on visiting all the attractions in San Diego, you may consider someplace more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

The price that the Noble Resorts charge for a stay at this (resort?) is outrageous. Although the executive suite that we (2 adults & 2 children) stayed in was large and spacious the surrounding resort, employees and atmosphere did not warrant the inflated summer rate that we were charged. When you stay at a Resort you expect higher quality with knowledgeable employees and premier service. None of this was true all through the resort from the front desk, checking in to the Barefoot Bar & Grill. A blatant example would be after waiting 40 minutes for a simple meal to arrive to your table a manager gives you the excuse that the computer is at fault. Other tables were served and families left before our dinner arrived! We would not visit this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

Stayed July 17-20 with my wife and 2 kids (age 10 & 13).

Room: We selected a garden view that had 2 queen beds. Room was small and had more of a street view than garden. Inside the room was a table with 1 chair, a lounge chair, a TV and small refrig. There was a closet with iron and board next to a vanity area. The bathroom was small in size. There was an area in the back (outside) that had 2 lounge chairs. Depending on the size of your family, you might feel squeezed in as we did. The whole complex is one level, so no one above you!
Recommendations: If you want a "garden view, ask for one away from the street that actually looks over a pond or garden.

Parking: You park right next to your room. However, it costs $15 per day!

Grounds: Lots of flowers, trees, birds, ducks, ponds, fish and trash. For such a big, beautiful area, it's a shame that the grounds
are not kept up better. There were areas of trash in the ponds and even a dead duck. The duck was still there when we left! Some of the ponds smelled due to lack of moving water.

Pools: There's 5 pools in this complex. The "main" pool area is a sandy, beach like area surrounded by lots of lounge chairs. There's also a food/drink area for kids and adults. The problem here is that the pool is only 3 1/2 ft deep. This is great for small kids to maybe 7. If you want to actually swim, this area won't work. There's also a jucuzzi.

The other "heated pools" include:
>An adults area only. Nice pool and jucuzzi, but not for kids
>The "waterfall" pool was great for my kids. Heated and 8ft deep.

Activities: 18 hole, min golf ($9 per person), bike rentals ($10-$20per hr). There's a marina that has sailboats, motor boats, pedal boats ($20-$80 per hr). The beach area has several "fire" pits. One suggestion would be to bring your own wood and have a beach party. The complex charges you $50 for a small stack of wood, some marshmellows and stuff to make smores.

Food: Room Service (didn't use so I don't have a recommendation).The complex has 2 places to eat: 1 casual, 1 semi-upscale. We ate 2 times at Barefoot (casual). We sat outside next to a pond area that included sharks, sting-rays...Food was average. There's a kids menu. Adult plates averaged $12-15. They also serve breakfast.

Didn't eat at the "upscale" place. Didn't eat at the "main" pool area.

There's also a "Market/Gift shop". Prices are way overpriced. We actually paid less at PetCo park than the complex "market"

Location: From a location point of view, you're within minutes of everything.
10 mins to Belmont Park, 15 mins to Balboa Park/Zoo, 5 mins to Sea World, 15 mins to Seaport Village, 15 mins to Old Towne. The complex offers no transportation to local attractions. There were several taxi's I saw however.

Overall it was just average. Not enough to make me stay again at current $$.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Business Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.