We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a good time but small glitches marred it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #120 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“overall a good time but small glitches marred it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a room on the bay which had a lovely view and we loved relaxing on our deck chairs watching the sunset/rise. We ate several times at the Barefoot Bar and Grill which was very nice and the view was great. The kids rented jet skis and paddle boards and had fun. What was not so good was on our second night a family with 2 very young children booked into the adjoining room. We were woken in the night several times and early in the morning with crying and we could hear everything they said. I know as a mother that its impossible to keep children quiet but they must beef up the soundproofing on the connecting doors to avoid this. The fire pits are put on the beach by the council and are not the property of the hotel so even though we had one outside our room and went to the market to buy logs at great expense we couldn't use them as other residents got there first. We were charged I think $30 a day for car parking which we didn't know about until we checked out. We asked if we could not be charged the resort fee of $25 a day as we didn't want to play tennis, crazy golf or use the wifi and were told we couldn't not pay this charge which I didn't realise before we arrived. Our room was very clean and not really dated. We could have done with more chairs though as there was 4 of us. I was also surprised that there was a fridge and sink but no crockery or cutlery only disposable cups for the coffee machine. I do not understand the US obsession with disposable stuff, have they not heard of the environmental problems the planet has? I do not think we would return for $700 plus a night its just not worth it. We also found one of the check in staff very unfriendly, other staff were fine.

Room Tip: bay and beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    632
    372
    244
    239
See reviews for
988
575
40
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel was rated a 5 star, it is by no stretch of the imagination a 5 star. I talked 10 of my friends into going there, based on the beautiful pictures online, for a friends big birthday. We are all seasoned travelers and no what a 5 star resort is like. The grounds are pretty, but not well maintained, we stayed here 25 years ago and assumed from the pictures they had done a major remodel, we were mistaken, they did a very minor redo of the rooms, many things were still over 30 years old, including the air conditioning and bathrooms, windows, etc. They did some newer furnishing, but even that was done on the cheapest scale. Most of the rooms were very dark and dingy, the prices were exorbitant , well above what you would expect to pay for rooms of this caliber. I think there are many better places to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: only get a beach room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went to San Diego for a Sea World weekend. Paradise Pointe is located right next to Sea World. They have a "water taxi" that takes you from the resort to a back entrance at Sea World. We spent one of our days lounging around the resort, swimming, sailing and rented a jet ski. Our room looked like it was recently remodeled.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Our family along with others had to wait in the lobby for an in ordinate period to get our rooms. The property is outdated and the hotel employees, particular the front desk people, are unfriendly and indifferent. Complete and absolute waste of money. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Jeromewashington, we greatly appreciate your review but regret hearing your disappointment. We sincerely apologize for the check-in experience you described, and can assure you it is not an accurate reflection of our friendly and courteous staff who typically receive rave reviews as seen here on TripAdvisor and other hotel review sites. We have passed on your comments to the front desk manager to review, and hope that you return for a chance to experience the superior customer service we are known for.

Best,
David Hall
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were just there for a week. The resort is in a mission bay area. Close to many beach activities. Sea World is five minutes away. Down town and many activities there are only 15 minutes away. La Jolla, Dan Mar beaches are just 15 min north.
With the resort the pools, hot tubs are great and the best is gas fire pits in the night to relax in the evening.
Resort has rentals for Boats, kayak, Stand Up Board surfing. The attached beach is good for stroll, jog or just enjoy the beach and the beauty of the city, sea.

This hotel is not for adults who are looking for a night life. It is a cute/quite family environment.

Room Tip: Rent a car if you want to do more than the resort. Everything is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
PremplaSingh, your review is greatly appreciated. We’re delighted to hear the details of your recent visit, especially about how you enjoyed the hot tubs and gas fire pits located at some of our five pools. As your review states, Paradise Point is minutes away from many of San Diego’s main attractions. We hope to see you back soon for anther memorable vacation is Southern California.

Best,
David Hall
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were initially excited to stay at Paradise Point for a relaxing three days while in San Diego.

The resort grounds are fairly well kept and scenic. The rooms on the other hand are terrible!

After checking in at the front desk, we proceeded to our room. After driving around the resort a few times (the resort is hard to navigate around for the first time visitor), we finally found our room. Once there, we discovered someone parked in our room assigned parking space. We parked outside the front door and unloaded our bags. Next, we tried to open the front door. After sliding our room key in the lock, we got a green light but, the door would not open. We had to bang the door open with our hip as it was sticking. Can't believe this could be a problem left unfixed with the maid entering the room daily.

Once in the room, we were met with a musty smell. Parts of the room were very old, worn, and dated and in no way worth $400+ per night (including parking and resort fee). The bathroom doors are probably original to the property (1950's or 60's) as with the bath tub and tiles. The room was also filthy. After a shower, we put a hand towel on the floor and shuffled to the bed. When we looked at the towel, it was filthy from all the dirt on the floor. Obviously, mopping the floor on a daily (or weekly?) basis is not part of the maid's responsibilities.

The leaver/lock to the patio door was broken and the door and door frame were rusting.

We noticed that we had no deck chairs on our patio, so we called the front desk. They said that would have a couple delivered to us. Three calls and a day later, they arrived.

The wireless internet was slow and we had very poor reception when sitting outside on the patio right outside the patio door.

On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were clean. Also, we were left eight bath towels daily, more that we could use.

We were very, very disappointed with this resort. Aside from renting a paddle board for an hour, we didn't spend another dime there. If we hadn't prepaid for the room upfront, we would have left after our first night and stayed at one of the far better hotels/resorts in the area probably at a far cheaper price.

At best, this resort is a two star resort being sold at 4 star prices. In my opinion, if you choose to stay here, do NOT pay more than $150 per night for their best room including parking and resort fees, it is just not worth anything more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at Paradise Point for 4 nights in July with our 5 year old and 2 year old. When we arrived we were quite disappointed at the standard of the resort as we were led to believe by the website and price that it would be quite smart.

The first room we were shown was by the highway and was noisy, run down and smelt damp. When I complained the Manager kindly upgraded us to the Presidential Suite (with a small extra to pay) for the first two nights and then we were moved to our garden view suite for the rest of the stay.
The Presidential suite was fantastic, huge patio overlooking bay with sun loungers and table. Huge living and dining room, kitchen and lounge. If we could have stayed there the whole time it would have been perfect! The Garden view room was fine, spacious and basic bathroom.

Ideally you want to book a bay view room as these rooms have their own patio and have more light.

There are lots of pools around the property which the children loved along with crazy golf, bike hire etc

The restaurant is in a great spot looking out onto the bay and it is lovely for breakfast and dinner. The staff were really friendly and helpful with children.
However many of the families self-catered as there is a basic kitchen in the room.

We enjoyed our stay at Paradise point but it is expensive for the standard of the rooms you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#48 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.