We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #120 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It really is Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The resort was fantastic! My husband, daughter (4yr) and myself stayed in a Lanai room with our patio leading to the ocean. I love the Ego friendly rooms, staff was hands down best around, and I highly recommend, if you have time, to check out their spa. You must remember the resort was built in the 1950's and even thought there is some minor wear & tear they really have a beautiful property and rooms! They cater to every request and then some. Smores, waverunners, and much much more! We will be back and will stay longer as 3 days was not enough ;)

Room Tip: We stayed on the West side & if you use your Amex, they will upgrade when you arrive if they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    654
    388
    250
    243
See reviews for
1,008
598
40
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Loved the central location to the sights we wanted to take in! Rooms are modern but bathrooms obviously weren't updated. Needs some TLC. However, the grounds, activites and facilities might be what brings us back.

Friendly and helpful staff attempted to make the stay as pleasurable as possible given the rusty tub situation. Upgraded room was appreciated.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Like crossing over a bridge to Paradise this resort is induplicable. Excellent price for room, food, etc. The atmosphere simply cannot be beat! I will stay here any time that I am in San Diego. Only one problem. I arrived late, 10:15 p.m., and wanted a bottle of wine for the room. Room service was closed, no lobby bar or even mini mart in the resort. My only option was to hire a taxi to drive me to a nearby grocery store….Odd and not good business.

Room Tip: Bring a bottle of wine, beer or whatever if you'd like a drink after 10:00 p.m. because the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
JeanetteS, thank you for writing a review of your stay during March. As you noted, our unique island resort in the heart of San Diego is unlike any other resort in the city. We apologize that we were not able to deliver upon your request for a bottle of wine. While in-room dining closes at 10 PM, the Barefoot Bar is open until midnight nightly, serving wine, beer and cocktails. We regret this was not communicated to you during your stay, and hope you have the chance to try the legendary waterfront restaurant during your next visit.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have heard a lot about this resort, with that said we were looking forward to our vacation. When you drive in the grounds were absolutely beautiful, lush green foliage multiple pools. We were booked into room right by the road, we called and were moved right away so far so good. Rooms were nice and looks to have been remodeled they should have done the bathrooms though, they were a little ran down. Things sort of dissipated from there, pool bar was not open when the hours were posted, wanted to get some food and have a drink while kids swam. The barefoot bar and grill wait staff we saw when we ordered and when we paid. Not good when you have three kids. Overall could have been better for the nightly rate.$$$$

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Indeed, that is the greeting on the staff's lips when you arrive & for us, it was paradise, indeed! We had a lovely 1 bdrm bungalow, right on Paradise Cove - very well appointed room, with the most wonderful bathroom configuration, EVER! It was a jack & jill type arrangement - two full sink areas, separated by the commode & shower room. Fabulous! The resort is very spread out & my main reason not to give it a 5 was signage was tough to navigate & the roads intertwine quite a bit, so I spent a few minutes lost, trying to find my room. Also missing - lounge chairs on the beach - beautiful settting, but no where to sit & enjoy it unless you had your own chairs, which, of course, we did not have.
Our bungalow had a tiny kitchenette, with coffee maker (replenished daily) & fridge.
Location was very easy to get to, close to the city, but far enough away to feel luxurious
All in all, a delightful place to stay

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay on the cove-waterfront setting was outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

After getting a good rate on a booking site, we were expecting this resort to have at least 3 star appeal. From check-in a bad taste was left in my mouth from the front desk clerk telling me there would be a daily $36 parking fee plus a $25 resort fee that hadn't been charged yet, which covered the use of pools and small games.

The first night our sheets were dirty from the previous guests and after calling to complain, it took 45 minutes for someone to finally show up and change them.

More than once, someone was in my precious $36 parking spot. After dropping off my family and driving to the front desk, security was supposed to be called to find the owner of the car but they never showed as well, making it my duty to find the perpetrator at 10 pm.

I will not be staying here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for bringing the shortcomings of your stay to our attention. We apologize for the issues you encountered with your room and parking space, and regret that our staff was not able to resolve them in a quick and efficient manner. This is not characteristic of our hotel, and we hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in San Diego so we may demonstrate this to you.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

After being unable to access our bayview room due to tree trimming, we were given a garden view room that was in dire need of renovation. Management offered us free parking in exchange. How nice. The bathroom sink was cracked, stained and poorly repaired; the beds needed to be replaced; the ceiling above the bed was cracked and buckling from moisture; the bathroom had moisture damage to the walls and ceiling and the entire bungalow smelled musty. The offering of refillable cheap soap and shampoo en masse is disgusting and disguised as being sustainable. Under years of painting to hide flaws, there is most likely mold. The intake vent/slats on the air conditioner appeared to have mold on them as well. The patio was covered in duck feces, dirt and plant debris and we had to clean the outside chairs off due to bird feces before we could sit in them. We also noted the ducks were in the pool! We will NEVER, NEVER stay there again! The place needs to be gutted and rebuilt.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.