We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Point Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #119 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Amazing service! Beautiful, tropical ambiance with a flair for healthy lifestyle or to simply relax and enjoy life! Perfect spot for relaxing or getting involve in water sports, taking a scenic walk, sitting by the numerous fire pits, playing miniature golf, riding bikes (available on-site) or hanging out on the beach. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are amazing. Other rooms with a garden view are nice as well, just make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
T_R_U407, thank you for the stellar review of Paradise Point! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the resort’s many amenities, and we’re pleased you enjoyed them all. There’s always something new to explore or do at our San Diego resort, so we hope you’ll visit again in the near future.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    655
    388
    251
    243
See reviews for
1,008
599
40
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came to Paradis Point with our family for one week. We are a family of 6 with 4 children under age 9. There are a lot of good things about this resort and a lot of things that need improvement. The resort grounds are beautiful, very lush tropical plants everywhere, ponds with ducks, herons and turtles which makes it very "kid friendly". There are 5 pools on the resort 1 main pool that is very large with a small hot tub, one pool that is adult only and 3 others scattered around the resort (the resort is huge). All the rooms are bungalows which helps keep the resort feeling calm, private and relaxed, no elevators no loud noises from other rooms etc. We had a room in the 200 section it was a Junior suite, there was plenty of space for the 6 of us (they provided a crib and a roll away).
The rooms are old and need to be fully remodelled. The bathroom tiles have not been replaced but painted over and the paint is coming off. The bath tub is very small and the bathroom area smelled very musty due to poor venting. The cleaning service was also poor, they never came at a consistent time during the day and there were a lot of cob webs, fingerprints and dust in the room. We liked that we had a grassy area out our back door and we were very close to a pond and a small pool, however the pool near our room was not heated but the hot tub was. The beaches around the resort are ok not as nice as most beaches in California.
We found the service at this hotel very poor especially for how much it costs per night you expect excellent service. If you call for anything expect it to take at least a half an hour or in our case they forgot our request for some wine glasses and a cork screw (not provided in the room) and after waiting for 1/2 hr I called back and then still had to wait another 20min to only receive regular glasses. One day in the pouring rain my key card did not work for some reason, I did not want to walk all the way back to the front desk in the rain with the kids so I called from the room beside us, it took them 25 minutes to come with a new key...we were drenched! We received no apology but a look from the guy expecting a tip!!! I was not impressed.
Everything on the resort is also very expensive, we liked the caveman pizza but the barefoot bistro food is not worth the price. You can also rent bikes way cheaper right in Mission beach which is a much nicer beach to go to anyway. If you want to have a fire in one of the fire pits on the resort you need to buy the wood and anything else you may need.

The beauty of the resort did make up for the poor service, old rooms and cold pool however I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for your comprehensive review of Paradise Point. Both your compliments and critical comments are greatly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the resort’s 5 pools, lush grounds, and spacious accommodations, but regret that we fell short when it came to delivering a satisfactory level of customer service. We apologize that you did not receive the friendly and prompt service we are known for, and would like you to know that what you experienced is not an accurate reflection of Paradise Point. We hope that the memorable and positive elements of your stay will encourage you to be our guest again, giving us a chance to deliver the first-class service we have been recognized for in the past.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014


I've been to San Diego on business countless times over the years. Stayed in Marriotts, Hiltons, even at the Hotel del Coronado, where they filmed the movie, "Some Like it Hot."

The Paradise Resort is my new favorite place in San Diego. Only I 15 minutes from the airport, on an island with its own marina makes you feel you are in your own little world.

This place is about 50 years old. The rooms are private bungalows with a great charm. Check this place out. You'll be glad you did.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel was well recommended by a few different co-workers and it did not disappoint. Make no mistake, it is not elegant, inexpensive, or fancy, but it is beautiful, laid back, and fun. We stayed in rooms without a water view but the landscaping was gorgeous and there is a bit of privacy, as the rooms are spread out over the property. We were within easy walking distance of three pools and the beaches were close. If you are on a bit of a budget, bring some food with you, there are small fridges in the rooms. There is a wide variety of restaurants within 10 or 15 minutes. Take the time to drive to the beaches at La Jolla, absolutely stunning. We do hope to return one day, as it was a fun, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Take some time to look at the map of the property and decide what is important for you. Do you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Pen1313, thank you for the five-star review on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to know that our San Diego resort lived up to your expectations, based on recommendations by previous guests. We appreciate you listing the details of your recent visit, including our laid-back atmosphere and tropical grounds. As you mentioned, there are plenty of activities on and off the island, and some of San Diego’s best beaches are just a few minutes away. We hope you get a chance to visit Paradise Point Resort & Spa for another fun and relaxing vacation soon.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this resort in January. We had a beach front suite which was very nice. We were able to have a fire on the beach at night which was fun. The problem with Paradise Point is, they charge you for EVERYTHING. On top of the nightly rate, you are charged a "resort fee" which you must pay to use the pool and use WiFi. A fee to use the pool?!?!? You must also pay $20/day to park a car. The drinks and food are also VERY expensive. Martinis at the bar were $14. Breakfast for two ran at least $40. A bundle of wood was $15 and stuff for s'mores was $15 as well. There are several grocery and liquor stores close by so be sure to hit those up first. Finally, the resort isn't close to anything so you must rent a car or get a taxi to go anywhere. Nice place but way overpriced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
MissyW77, thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our resort. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our bayfront accommodations, bonfire pits, five swimming pools and restaurants. It seems the only less-than-positive aspect of your stay was the price per value for our parking and Passport to Paradise charges. Our Passport to Paradise adds increased value to any stay, combining our most popular amenities for one convenient price. We have found that many guests prefer this bundled approach as opposed to a la carte pricing, which can lead to the feeling of “nickel and diming.” Per our reserved doorstep parking, it provides great convenience and safety to our guests when compared to remote lot or valet parking. We hope that aside from these extra charges, you were able to enjoy your island vacation and will reconsider staying with us again in the future. When booking your next stay, we suggest looking into our various packages that provide complimentary Passport to Paradise and/or parking.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Well before I even arrived at the resort I paid the reservations fee upfront.. that includes a 25$ a day resort fee on top of reservation fee ..then if u drive and want to park on site that is a additional 25$ a day to park on top of a resort fee and reservations ..and then I was informed that I was going to get charged a 400-600$ a deposit up front ..of course I get that money back if I don't tear nothing up ...but I was nearly broke before I arrived ...

OK then I arrived and the staff was very very nice and helpful ..I couldn't be happier about the staff ..

The resort was beautiful and was everything that I expected of a resort.

The facilities was a bit dated and someone needed to clean the cobb webs from the corners of the walls and ceilings in nearly every room, lobby ,etc.

Would I go again?? Yes

I would have a hard time affording it again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice place, a bit expensive. I enjoyed it. The airplane noise was a bit hard to get used to if you live in the country. The bed was hard. The room was nice and clean. Pretty grounds. The fitness center was great! A lot of great birds and waterfowl! They might want to put some feeders out. Barefoot Grill was slow and the food was decent but for the price could have been better. The staff at the resort was great and very friendly. The Spa experience was okay and I had to wait for 30 minutes over my appointment time. I think I will skip the Spa next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.